We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a touch of Japanese design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Intercontinental Hotel Osaka

Save Saved
You added Intercontinental Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Intercontinental Hotel Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-60 Ofuka-Cho Kita-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a touch of Japanese design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my favourite hotel of my eight days Japan trip. Rooms were of a good size and beautifully designed. Loved the bathtub and bath salts that were provided. Hotel is linked to a shopping centre with many food options. Good proximity to the train station and easy access to most sights. Service was nice and friendly as well.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Extacy25089-san,

It is a real pleasure to read that the InterContinental Osaka was your favorite hotel during your entire trip in Japan.
Of course the great location and nice amenities made apparently the difference, but thank you especially on the warm notes on the “Nice and friendly” service from our team.
Please make sure to come back to your favorite hotel, we will be welcoming you for another
" in the know experience"

Please receive our very best regards,

Jerome Palacoeur
Director of guest experience,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    55
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
68
73
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
china
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed on the 28th Floor (Club Intercontinental), and the view and the service were of the highest standard. To get here, we arrived at the JR Osaka station (from Kyoto); the walk to the hotel was approximately 10-15mins depending on your sense of direction. It is a quite straightforward route, well signposted - once you get the gist of where to look and what to look out for, i.e., Grand Front Osaka (building), then simply follow the signs. The route is through two malls, over two covered ariel walkways, and once you get to the second mall, keep going straight until you get to an escalator to take you down a level, then keep walking until you come to a large open (indoor) area, head off in the 11 o'clock direction across the way, and you will come to the ground floor entrance of the hotel, which is clearly marked. It might sound tricky, but it really is quite straightforward.

Once you have entered the hotel, the next step is to take a lift up to the 20/F main Lobby; the lifts are fabulously fast, quiet, easy on the nerves and efficient. Once in the main lobby, you will be ushered to the main check-in desk for registration, etc.

As we were booked in to the Club Intercontinental, we were whisked away up to the 28/F to register there; this was a speedy and painless exercise. Thence to our room...

Our room was large, spacious, elegant and tidy. The view was spectacular! The beds were comfy. The bathroom was overly large in comparison to the dimensions of the rest of the room, however, when in Rome... there was a large bath tub - which was big enough for foreign dimensions, a rain shower and hose - both of which were absolutely superb; and a plentiful supply of good quality amenities. The toilet, however, was a bit on the wee side, and it was dimly lit, even more so than the rest of the room; and the supply of toilet paper was 2 rolls of wafer-thin paper that disappeared faster than that! But, if more is needed, the house will supply!

As for the staff: well, almost to a wo/man - they were absolutely superb; and for the most part, were extremely efficient, professional and disciplined, and well-suited to their roles. There was one individual in particular though who stood head and shoulders above the rest; he was all of the aforementioned, as well as being able to think 'out of the box' when circumstances and/or situations called for it, and he was not phased in the slightest - unlike a few of his colleagues who stuck rigidly to the party line; he was gracious under pressure and extremely well-mannered in performing his duties - without being subservient or condescending or gruff. In fact, this was mentioned by all members of my party at various times during our stay; his wonderful attitude and presence had not gone unnoticed. I did speak to him privately before I left, to thank him and to let him know how much he had helped to make our stay all the more pleasant; I also told him that he epitomized the very best of what Club Intercontinental was all about. To spare his blushes, I will not name him here, however, I have sent a message in private to the hotel commending this particular individual.

Club Intercontinental also includes a few extra goodies like afternoon tea and evening cocktails - both of which are very good. However, it was noticed that during the afternoon tea service, a buffet type arrangement of all the usual fare was present and correct...but, what would have been more welcome was for either a 'noodle station' or 'rice and <fried and/or raw egg> station' to be made available, as not every person is attracted to egg or cucumber or salmon or cheese 'finger sandwiches', or squishy cakes galore, etc....sometimes, a bowl of rice (with egg) or a bowl of simple noodles is what is needed; and when one considers the amount of uneaten food and other perishable left-overs, the mind boggles...and more so, as there appeared to be a duty chef standing-by behind the kitchen doors delivering new plates of the same during the service period. And, fwiw: this is where 'thinking out-of-the-box' came into its own...

Would I recommend and/or stay at Club Intercontinental and/or the Intercontinental Osaka again?

Absolutely!

Room Tip: Can't comment on any other room types, however, on the 28/F - our room enjoyed spectacular views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear starlightChina,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka on your recent trip.
We would like also to thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to share your experience in detail.
We appreciate your compliments to us, especially to the Club InterContinental and its staff.
We will share this beautiful comment with the team.

Even you gave us a great feedback, there are some part of our services that could improve.
We are taking this opportunity to make it the best to welcome you back for the next time.

We look forward to serving you again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

First time traveling to Japan for a spontaneous 1 day trip and this is the first hotel in Asia where I cannot wait to come back-very soon again. From entering the property to throughout the 24 hour stay till checkout went smoothly and felt there was so much care and effort from the employees. What's even better, there is not a language barrier if you cannot speak Japanese. There are workers who know English, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese. The hotel is a beautiful property inside and out.
Spending a little more for the club lounge privileges is definitely a must and is mainly the reason for your money's worth. I'm not a big fan of hotel lounge eats, but the breakfast, light snack, and cocktail service were exceptional. Note the items listed change accordingly to the days, so they may not all be the same. The 50/50 mix of Western and Japanese for breakfast- a la carte order of eggs of your choice, croissants, danishes, pastries, yogurt, muesli, hot foods of sausages, french toasts, hash browns, bacon, salads, a dark miso soup, congee, Japanese sweet egg, nayto, tofu, and other traditional Japanese breakfast items.
For the light snack hours, a perfect blend of Western and Japanese cuisine to come together- sandwiches with a mix of wasabi, cheese, ham, lettuce, sweet Japanese mochi, chocolate truffles, macaroons.
The cocktail session is more of a Western style- shrimps, a type of white fish, beef, chicken, salads, different types of breads with various types of cheese, assortment of cold cut vegetables, fresh cut/sliced fruits. All meals and without meals there are beverages of ginger ale, sour water, cola, carbonated soda water (the drink with a marble), Asahi beer, selection of teas, coffees, fresh fruit juices. The room was splendid with the view on the 27th floor, extremely comfortable beds with sheets, and a spacious and wonderful restroom as well. No need to bring pjs for they laid out traditional Japanese kimono sleepwear! Moreover on the hotel, the Japanese bath house is a plus as well. Although foreigners may not be used to seeing naked women in the women section and men in the men section (separated), it is worth a try! The amenities for the bath house were one of the best Shiseido brand for the hair to the body to the facial needs. There was always someone wherever you go even if it is just going in the elevator or out of the elevator. There is always someone who is there to help, even if you didn't think of it before, they are there to make your stay as relaxed and memorable. The location is great for shopping of all kinds, but it is pricey. What's best is there are so many department malls connecting the hotel so it is extremely easy to go around. Umeda train station and New Hangyu stations are right by the hotel, which makes it even more convenient, plus a complimentary taxi to the New Hangyu station where the airport shuttle takes you back to KIX.
Simply the best of the IHG properties and looking forward to be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear park_katherine,

Greeting from InterContinental Osaka.
Thank you for choosing us for your preferred hotel in Osaka on your recent trip.
We would like to thank you also for taking time to write this review to share your experience.

We are glad to read that your stay was memorable and our services were up to your expectations.

We will continuously improve our service to welcome you back with even better experience.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife travelled to Osaka in July 2014 and fortunately we got a great offer at the Intercontinental Osaka.
Whilst we have travelled fairly extensively, I think the service and professionalism exhibited at the Intercontinental Osaka was just perfect.
It’s really interesting when one struggles to find an error with the service delivery at a hotel and is not successful. It was not possible for me to fault any aspect of our stay at the Intercontinental.
The small touches like the little healthy gourmet snacks delivered to the hotel room every afternoon or the impressive surround system of the TV or the breathtaking views of Osaka. They even printed out schedules of the various world cup matches and had that placed on my desk every day.
No one does hospitality like the Intercontinental Osaka and its quite something else to observe the dedication to the job that all of the staff exhibit. I left challenged to attempt to bring that same level of dedication to the work that I do. This is not the outcome I expected of a holiday but nonetheless an outcome that I truly enjoyed.
I will seriously recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Osaka.

Room Tip: Corner suite are awesome, get the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear lex4851,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan!
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka on your last trip.
We hope you enjoyed the time in Osaka.

It is a pleasure to read such a review and compliments.
We appreciate your recommendations to the others.

As you may know, we will be continuously improving our service to welcome you back with even better experience.

Please do let us know in advance if you plan a trip back to your second home in Osaka.

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's easily accessible. If you arrive at Kansai International Airport, just take the train to the Osaka Station. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the station. You will walk pass a few shopping centres. It's all covered so you don't need to walk in the rain or snow. The room is ultra spacious, considering you are in Japan. The bath tube is fabulous. There's a walk-in closet in the room. Nice Nepresso coffee machine. Can't find in-room dining except breakfast. The indoor pool is superb. The location of the hotel is excellent. You can get to major attractions or shopping places by training from the nearby Umeda station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Foo C,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan!
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Osaka recently.
We hope you enjoyed time in Osaka and had an excellent experience with us.

We would like to thank you also for sharing your experience at InterContinental on this review.
We will be continuously improving our service to welcome you back with even better services.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida

Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed there one night, room was spacious for Japanese standard, very nice amenities, very modern, I was told the hotel was only one year old. The pool is beautiful, near shopping and Umeda train station.

Room Tip: Very modern and very nice amenities, great pool! Friendly staff and very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Vasken F,

Greeting from InterContinental Osaka.
Thank you for staying with us recently.
We are glad to hear that your stay was memorable as you expected.

We appreciate that you took time to write this review to share your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As a IHG Gold Member I always stays in Intercontinental hotel when possible. We had a family holiday in Osaka in June 2014 and Intercontinental has a wonderful hotel located right at the Osaka Station. The hotel itself is new, just one year old. We stayed in the two bed residence, which has one master bedroom and one bedroom with two queen size bed. The room is very spacious. It has laundry machine, kitchen, microwave and dining area. It is the most impressive Intercontinental hotel I've stayed so far.
However there are two things that can be improved:
1) We stayed in two bedrooms residence. The room is meant for at least four persons, however we only got two free breakfast. We have to pay almost 4000 Yen per day for two kids for the breakfast. This is really disappointing. My suggestion, skip the breakfast, there are plenty of options for breakfast in nearby malls or eateries.
2) The breakfast selection is very limited. Compared to Intercontinental Bangkok or Jimbaran, Bali, this hotel is way below their peer.

Nevertheless staying in this hotel is an overall wonderful experience. The location is great, the service is great. I will certainly stay in this hotel in our next visit to Osaka.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms residence is highly recommended. Room 3106 offers a nice corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Tose_Mt,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan!
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka.
Thank you also for being our loyal guest. It was such a pleasure to welcome Gold Member in the hotel.

We appreciate your honest feedback. This will certainly lead us to further improvement in order to serve you better the next time.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Intercontinental Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercontinental Hotel Osaka

Address: 3-60 Ofuka-Cho Kita-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0011, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Intercontinental Hotel Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Intercontinental Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.