We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Intercontinental Hotel Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Intercontinental Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Intercontinental Hotel Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-60 Ofuka-Cho Kita-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice spacious modern room. Great view of the city. Very comfortable bed. Interesting Japanese snacks with the turn down service. Good location - very convenient. Even though the airport limousine bus service doesn't stop at the hotel, the hotel arranged a free shuttle to the nearest bus stop. Would stay again!

Downside might be that the room service food portions are rather tiny. Wifi was a little patchy. It was (funnily) best in the (huge) closet! Also while service was good, it felt like it lacked warmth.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Warm greeting from InterContinental Hotel Osaka!
Thank you very much for the review regards to your experience with us in Osaka.
It is an honor to hear that your stay was great.
We appreciate your compliments to the hotel.
At the same time we value your comments regarding our services. We will definitely take actions to improve our service to welcome you again here with warm “Omotenashi” mind in ourselves.
We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Best regards,
Quality Manager, InterContinental Hotel Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    71
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
91
87
31
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Travelled from Airport via JR Kansai Airport Rapid Train. Exit at Osaka Station. Go through Central Gate to leave station. Turn left heading for Grand Front Mall. Walk through South building then to North Building of Mall. Follow escalator down to ground level for side entrance to hotel inside Mall. Take elevator to 20th Floor for reception. Excellent English speakers greeting customers on exit. I found staff to be efficient and helpful. Hotel has been opened six months. Quality of construction and design is excellent in all areas. Bathroom has rainforest shower plus medium size bath tub. Windows with views. Automated curtains. Excellent bathroom products. Office desk is comfortable in minimalist way. Bed is slightly soft of firm. Pillows are as usual not firm enough. Excellent towels plus thick bathrobes and japanese style robes as lighter option. Temperature control was very good with quick response. Great in cold weather. Conceige Daniel was brilliant. Overall standard space in bathroom was roomy. Bedroom was medium space. Office desk was medium size. Passage ways medium size. Highly recommended. Best staff in Japanese hotels I have experienced. Obviously brand new excellent condition. Design has a very good modern style. Location excellent for food and travelling. If you are going to Osaka then stay at least one night here for a five star experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Warm greeting from InterContinental Hotel Osaka!
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience in Osaka.
It is a pleasure to read that your stay was great.
We would like to thank you for your compliments to the hotel and its staff members.
We will share your compliments with the team as we always look for improvements to serve you better on your next visit.
We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Best regards,
Quality Manager, InterContinental Hotel Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

5 minute walk from Osaka Station central gate exit and interconnected to the Grand Front Shopping complex.

New hotel new facility with super friendly staff from porte coche to the club lounge. All the way I was accompanied with a hotel staff. (I arrived in a regular taxi)

The hotel fully granted me my ambassador membership benefits unlike some other intercontinental.

The room was amazing with a stunning view of the red Ferris wheel near Umeda.

Highly recommend it to family and business travelers as they have residence suites with microwave, washing machine, electrical stove and a full sized fridge.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from the InterContinental Osaka,
We sincerely would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your very nice appreciation comments your left on Tripadvisor
Be insured that your compliments will be passed on the entire team
We sincerely hope that will get the chance to welcome you again in our hotel,
Please receive our very best regards,
The guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayied in this hotel for 3 nights and I spend a great time. Rooms are great, facilities (gym, sauna and Japanese hot tub) and the staf is really great (very helpful, kind and fun). It is in a big mall/business center near Osaka station that can be reached on foot within ten minutes. Great location to visit the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from a colorful Osaka, autumn being sunny and beautiful this year
We sincerely would like to thank you for you very nice comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and location,and will make sure to share your comments with our entire team.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you again here at the InterContinental Osaka,
Please receive our very best regards,

The guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Intercontinental in early October. The experience couldn't have been better. It is a five-star hotel that delivers six-star (if such a thing exists) service and accomodation. Special thanks to one of the managers, Jerome, that even let me borrow a book about the Tour de France from the lobby, when I mentioned to him that I am into biking.
Great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
From a cold but sunny Osaka, we sincerely would like to thank you for your great comments posted on tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our attention to details and we will make sure to share your aprreciation with our entire team.
This great city have a lot to offer, we hope to welcome you again in our new hotel, to share with you some unique part of the city or the region,
Please receive our very best regards,
the Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is our first visit to Osaka and after some internet research we decided to settle for the Intercontinental Hotel because of its location and overall good reviews.As this is the peak season for Osaka, we first booked a deluxe room for the first two nights and had to book the residence which cost considerably more for the next two.Our flight arrived early in the morning and we were told that we could leave our luggages until the check in time at 3 pm. However, my husband and I were really exhausted as we had no rest duting our flight and the idea of waiting like a refugee for our room was terrible.The hotel recommended that we could upgrade our room to residence typewhich is available in one hour at only 4,000 yens per day. This is the most reasonable and considerate offer which we readily accepted and we both checked in to the residence room which has a kitchen, a dining area and small living area.We both found the service excellent through out our stay. The staff is polite, courteous and prompt at every level. Our requests for ice or adaptor for our phones and etc are met with smiles and speed.
We found the locartion of the hotel fantastic especially as it is now cold and windy. It was so convenient that we could just walk anywhere as each building is interconnected by covered walkway on the second level to department stores and to the train station from which one can travel in every direction.we decided that if we were to return to Osaka we will stay again at this hotel.As we were eager to try authentic Japanese food, we didn't choose the club offer and didn't visit the restaurants as there were so many interesting ones in the shopping complex and nearby.We requested for a late check out as again our flight is quite late in the night and paid a late check out fee.It was a lovely stay at this new, modern, spick and span hotel where staff goes out of their way to please you.Hope this doesn't change as the novelty wears off like in many other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is really a pleasure for the hotel team to read such valuables and kind comments that you left on Tripadvisor.
We are all very please to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilites and amenities, and in particular the service provided by our team member.
Our aim is to deliver authentic experience and memorable stay, we hope you felt connected with Osaka.
We sincerely hope we will get the chance to welcome you again in our new hotel
Please receive our very best regards,
The guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is immaculate throughout and my wife and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are all extremely eager to serve. All the controls are easy to operate within the room, I find that quite important in a modern hotel as some can go over the top.

My only complaint is the location: the hotel is located right at the back of the new Grand Front complex and the signage to the hotel can be clearer.

Also there are 3 train stations, 3 subways stations, 4 department stores and countless number of shopping malls within the Umeda and the layout is not very visitor friendly. My wife got lost returning from one of the department stores back to the hotel. For locals who visit the area day in day out, it is OK but something should be done to allow visitors to navigate the maze more easily.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and also for your kind and nice comments left on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that our team members contributed to your well-being and to your enjoyment. We will make sure to share your comments with the team.
We are also looking forward to your next stay with us
Please receive our best regards,
The guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Intercontinental Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercontinental Hotel Osaka

Address: 3-60 Ofuka-Cho Kita-Ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0011, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Intercontinental Hotel Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Intercontinental Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.