We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good to try” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiran, Dotombori

Ichiran, Dotombori
7-18 Soemoncho, Chuo-ku | 1F, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6212-1805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8,711 Restaurants in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 118 Reviews
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good to try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We don'd need to queue long to try this noodle bar. We heard about Ichiran from the Hong Kong news that people queuing over night for a bowl of noodle. So when we visited Osaka, we planned to have a try.

the noodle texture is good (chewy ) and the soup base is really rich. we ordered our noodle from a vending machine, you choose what you want from the noodle cooking time to added extra side, ie boiled egg and seaweed.

ave about 1000 yen per bowl of noodle.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best tasting ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The place was abit hard to find, not on the Main Street of Dotonbori but along the riverside. The ordering process was quiet interesting, you get a written order form then you are required to purchase the ticket for your personalised ramen. I really liked the ramen and the way you can personalised it to your preference. definitely recommend this to anyone. At 700 yen a bowl, what more can you ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Having previously only tasted ramen in Japanese restaurants in England, this place was a revelation. Everything about the dish, from the texture of the noodles to the richness of the broth and the satisfying hit of the spices, was just about perfect. As some other reviewers have noted, the small wooden booths aren't exactly conducive to a social meal time. However I'm happy to overlook that minor quibble for a fantastic bowl of noodles at a bargain price.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Ramen, Quick Service- one for couples or solo diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited Ichiran tonight, our first night in Osaka. There was a long queue building outside but it moved quickly. Whilst you wait you fill out a form with your preferences for your ramen (spiciness, noodle type etc) and are then called to sit down in individual booths when your ramen is served. It's a fun experience for couples and single diners but not very social for big groups as you can't talk that easily whilst eating. Tasty noodles served quickly- you ring the bell if you want extra ingredients for your soup. Attentive staff. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Personalized ramen - great if your combination works!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We went to Ichiran on our first evening in Osaka. We had dinner almost at midnight. There was still a line at Ichiran, as we were already there, we decided to wait in line. Soup richness, ramen firmness, amount of green onion and the famous Ichiran red sauce are possible personalization choices.

I opted for the rich flavor with the rest of the choices as regular. It turned out quite delicious. My son went for double red sauce and liked it a lot. My wife went for the middle and a tinge of red sauce. She liked the richer brith that my son and I chose.

The choices are available in multiple languages. This made it easy for tourist to enjoy their ramen. I enjoyed the ramen and had a second serving of the ramen which my son and I shared.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiran, Dotombori also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Ichiran, Dotombori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiran, Dotombori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.