We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service and ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Bistro Rue D'or

French Bistro Rue D'or
3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku | ST. REGIS OSAKA, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6258-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 154 Bakeries in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Bakeries
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Four of us stopped in for dinner . The dinner menu was very comprehensive, offering varieties of asian and French foods. We each had an appetizer or soup, wine or beer, a main course and dessert and coffee. I felt the prices were good considering how expensive it is to eat in Japan! Service was prompt and friendly. One disappointment was the onion soup...coming from a French restaurant, it just didn't get our vote. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with excellent food selections, this is a great place to go.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryomin, 広報担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear larkenRidgefield_CT,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are very grateful that you chose our restaurant Rue D'or for a dinner. Also, thank you for your comments regarding the soup.
Your comments is highly appreciated. We will share with our team members and make sure to bring it up when we discuss our new menu.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The atmosphere is classy but not over the top. I think I expected this hotel restaurant to be decent, but was really surprised by how wonderfully prepared and tasty the offerings were.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryomin, 広報担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Benjamin D,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last visit at French Bistro Rue D'or.

We are pleased that you had an good time with us.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Charming and good, been there for dinner and breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The french bistro decor is simply perfect and inviting: a less appreciative note for the chairs that I did not find confortable.

For dinner, we took the "flower " menu. The plates were beautifully dressed, the seasoning had to be adjusted here and there, the soup was burning hot. For the main plates, my chicken was perfect but my husband's steak was cool. Even with these important mistakes from an upper class restaurant, we very much liked our experience. Add salt, wait for your soup to cool down and ask your waiter that your main dish be hot....once that was done, it tasted great.

Wine list is rather expensive given the limited choice in the reasonable price category. We settle for a bottle at 7000 yens, one of the least expensive white wine.

Price for both our dinner: 12800 yens including taxes excluding wine.

As we were client of the St-Regis Hotel, we went back for breakfast and it was great. Choice of western or japenese type buffet plus eggs the way you want them served at your table, plenty of fruits, yogourt, cold cuts, breads etc and sweets to please everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryomin, Food & Beverage at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear pourvous,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are extremely sorry for the unfortunate experience that you and your husband encountered at Rue D’or.
As soon as we received the comment, I called up a meeting with kitchen staff and shared your comment.
We can only improve and learn by responding to constructive critique such as yours.
So, please be assured that we take all feedbacks very seriously to ensure and prevent our mistake in the future.


We do hope that this last experience will not deter from visiting us again, thus providing us with an opportunity to demonstrate what The St. Regis Osaka is known for.
Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss any concerns that you may have in the future.
We look forward to continuing our relationship with you and hope that we can serve you once again.


Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Director of Food & Beverage
Shigeki Nakagawa
shigeki.nakagawa@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaune, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bistrot style, precise, you have to book in advance... tasty food. I would rather go to this one than the Italian upstairs.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Christophe t,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last visit at French Bistro Rue D'or.

We are pleased that you had an good time with us.
Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great decor, great atmosphere, good food, and service
Will return on next visit . We will try breakfast there

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tan E,

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. Thank you very much for your comment.
Please come back again to try other dishes. We are all lloking foward to welcomig you again.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Bistro Rue D'or also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to French Bistro Rue D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Bistro Rue D'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.