We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beef I've ever eaten.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho

Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho
1-1-19 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6211-2917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16,569 Restaurants in Osaka
Price range: $46 - $54
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant offers Matsusaka-beef, one of the three major Wagyu in Japan.You can experience the finest quality Matsusaka-beef at a reasonable price.
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best beef I've ever eaten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Ordered two of the platters the mid and top range, the beef sushi, some veg dishes and plenty of beer. The restaurant in small and you have your own private booth and a gas grill so you cook the meat to your taste (just warm on the outside for us). The service was super friendly and I was gutted we went on our last night as I could have done with seconds on this restaurant which is saying something. Think we spent about 15000 yen between two so not what id call expensive considering the quality and volume. Its a must do if visiting. BTW dont use the google map just the trip advisor one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
岡本邦美, マネージャー at Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear. Rebecca B
Thank you for the compliment & wrote down warm review on trip adviser.
We are very happy to you enjoyed at Matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM.
We need to make pleasant memories for all guest.

Have fun your trip in Osaka & Japan ;)

Kind regard

Kuniyoshi Okamoto
Sales manager
Matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    46
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We dined at the Hanare branch last night as a group of 8. The quality of the beef was unsurpassed. Order the sirloin if you like a balance of lean and fat. Order the ohtoro if you like heart stopping marbling. Unforgettable and deserves another visit. Look for Kuni - San and he will guide you in this gastronomic delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
岡本邦美, マネージャー at Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear. Pclee
Thank you so much for coming Yakiniku M and posting warm comments on trip adviser.
I was really glad to meeting you guys. I will keep good service and keep quality well.
Thank you very much.

kindly regards

Kuniyoshi Okamoto
Sales Manager
Matsusaka-gyu Yakiniku M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Matsuzaka at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Actually this restaurant was fully booked, so we had to go to their other outlet which is a few hundred meters away and serves the same menu. We opted for the less fatty part of the beef, as we find the more fatty part too greasy. Our preferred parts were the Ranichi, Ichibo, Hiuchi and Here. Also a must is the Matsuzaka sushi. There are English menus, and the staff can speak some English.

Overall a very good dining experience worth revisiting. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
岡本邦美, マネージャー at Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear. Shattuck86
We appreciate your feed back about matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM.
We really glad you had a good dining experience .
We hope to see you on your next trip to Osaka.


Best regard

Kuniyoshi Okamoto
Sales manager
Matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super tender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We got the scarcity parts BBQ platter for 4 persons which isn't alot of meat. If you are ordering extra meat, get the tenderloin for best value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
岡本邦美, マネージャー at Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear. CurryAndCaviar

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your comments and are glad you had a good dining experience @Matsusaka-gyu yakinikuM. We hope to see you on your next trip to Osaka.

Best regards,

Kuniyoshi Okamoto
Sales manager

Matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had the hare and tenderloin (hare was better and cheaper), rice, grilled vegetables, house salad, beef sushi, middle pork, two drinks... Was wonderful... Great atmosphere, fun, great servers, romantic, highly recommend...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
岡本邦美, マネージャー at Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear. Ben B
Thank you very much for good comment on trip adviser.
We really happy to you enjoyed @YakinikuM.
Also thank you for posting your great photo.
Its lovely lovely smile isn`t it?
We will try to do best for all customer & keep quality well.

Okamoto Kuniyoshi
Sales Manager

Matsusaka-gyu YakinikuM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuzakagyu Yakiniku M, Hozenji Yokocho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.