We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down Park” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tennoji Park

Tennoji Park
Chausuyamacho, Tennoji-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6771-8401
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 217 Attractions in Osaka
3.5 of 5 stars 49 Reviews
Type: Parks, Zoos, Outdoors
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Run Down Park”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The park and zoo was really run down. We paid an entry fee but realized at the end of the visit that you could enter for free thru the various entrances around the park. The museum of art required an additional fee too. I wouldn't recommend to visit this place.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    21
    18
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful park but give it at least half a day, it is huge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I enjoyed as a park but if I'll have a chance to go there again, I would take and insect repellent with me as the mosquitoes are very persisted in the area

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Grotty Place, Many Homeless People at North End”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Run down grotty place next to the awful Tennoji Zoo. A lot of very poor looking homeless people sleeping around the park many of them congregating at the North end near the station. You have to walk through them to get to the zoo from the station. One poor soul had no trousers on.
Strange to see such a sight in a wealthy country.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
302 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
“Try to visit when there's no special event.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As we were changing rail lines at Tennoji station, and like parks, we decided to check out Tennoji Park. There's a JPY150 (JPY80 for children) admission charge. In contrast, the rather larger Osaka Castle Park (from where we had just come) is gratis to enjoy (though the castle itself is not gratis).

Tennoji Park is of a good size, has varied structures and landscaping, and contains some other facilities like the zoo and the Municipal Museum of Art (added admission fees for those places).

On the mid-September 2013 day of our visit promoters were setting up an Oktoberfest beer festival. I suppose it could be interesting, but prices were in the range of JPY1300+ for glasses of (mostly) German lagers. For context, later that evening we went to one of the local Minoh micro brewery outlets (most are called "Beer Belly"), and enjoyed micro brews for around JPY850 per pint.

The park looks like it would be rather more enjoyable as a park, if it were free of such a promotion. (And, almost certainly, there should be a more appropriate place for such an event than here..)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennoji Park also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Tennoji Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tennoji Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.