We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Studios Japan

Universal Studios Japan
2-1-33 Sakurajima, Konohana-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 554-0031, Japan
+81 6-6465-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 214 attractions in Osaka
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extremely popular theme park is equivalent to the Universal Studios in Hollywood and Orlando, and features shows, rides and restaurants based on famous movie themes, like Jaws, Back to the Future and Terminator.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited USJ with 2 kids n spouse in April 2013. My first visit to universal studios.

Very friendly staff, well organized, toilets are readily available at most locations. Kids n stroller friendly. We did not manage to cover all the attractions in half a day. To cover all the attractions would need a full day did adults, and perhaps 2 days for kids.

92 cm height clearance for kids taking most of the rides need to be fulfilled. Lucky my elder kid is about 95cm tall.

Overall, it is a good trip and I will come back again next time if there is an opportunity.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    649
    204
    55
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went there during the school holiday so it was packed with people/kids. It was helpful to purchase tickets ahead of time so you can enter the park as soon as it opens. We thought about buying fast pass but decided not to due to it's price. If you get there early go for the popular rides first. Overall a very pleasant experience. The Spider man was my favorite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place to have fun. Alot of adult rides. You can buy the evening passes just go a day in the week where it is less crowded so can can enjoy the rides.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“big fun and better to get fastpass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my xxth time to USJ. This time, even we went there during weekday, due to the school holidays, USJ was so crowded with kids and students and families.
We went there at around 10am, and took us 1 hour in the queue to get the tickets.

I know what we must get the fastpass tickets for the rides due to the crowds... However, by the time when I got the tickets, all fastpass 7 (7 rides - on fastpass - without queuing up) tickets already sold out, and we were only able to get the fastpass 4 tickets (4 rides - on fastpass - without queuing up).

Most of the lines - watiing time 170-200 minutes for the ride!!
Ended up - we queued up for Shrek 4D - 100minutes.

We did have lots of fun there but waiting time there making us so tired.

Will come back again for the new rides/attraction!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere -Huge Queues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose a week day to go to Universal Studios thinking it'll be bearable in terms of crowds. But we were wrong. We got there at 9am and there were heaps of people queuing up for entry tickets. We saw people sprinting after we got through the entrance gates and quickly realised its because they are rushing to get to the rides. And they had good cause to do so because shortly after we arrived almost instantly each ride has a sign up asking that you expect a wait of 45 mins (+). All rides of any sort were quickly queued up with excited participants. Wow. So good luck with the wait in line because we waited for more than an hour of each ride. Kind of boring really.

There are a number of restaurants inside of universal studios (and outside in the shopping mall between universal studios and the Universal City Train Station. Unlike other amusement parks, the food there have a variety of healthy and less healthy options which is great. The food is reasonably priced too. We, however, chose to taste the takoyakis outside in the Takoyaki museum (high recommended).

There are lots of souvenirs shops. that was very interesting and you would have to exercise huge self control (which I lacked) not to spend heaps at each store.

We purchased postcards to send back to little children and the service centre willing stamps them with a universal studio stamp and sends them for you. Great service.

On the whole, we recommend people visit Universal Studio if you have not been to a similar one elsewhere. But do expect to spend the whole day 9.00 to 9.00pm there.

PS, if you are only interested in walking around and not necessarily interested in the hair raising rides, you may want to consider the evening session which allows for entry after 3pm at a much discounted rate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Japan also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Universal Studios Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Studios Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Universal Studios Japan to your Saves list