We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but crowded and expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan

Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan
1-1-10 Kaigan-dori, Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0022, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6576-5501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 216 Attractions in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,737 Reviews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See the wide range of habitats that make up the Pacific Rim on a tour of this fascinating aquarium, which takes you from one environment to another and lets you feel as though you’re underwater.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good but crowded and expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The aquarium is well laid out and very interesting especially the part at the end when you get to touch the fish and notice the different textures. Take note of the feeding times of the different animals (there is a timetable as soon as you enter, just before you arrive at the shop), this is worth seeing. It was crowded when I went, and I definitely think this is more suitable for family days out especially ones with children. The fish and other animals seemed very happy and well cared for. The entrance fee was very expensive compared with spa world and other attractions. Also, there are two gift shops - the one at the entrance seemed more expensive and less choice whereas the one at the exit is better value and has much more choice. Excellent for a family day out!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    725
    228
    39
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best aquarium I have been to. The place is very well structured and offers a beautiful view of thw wharf area as well.

Great collection and species not found in any other aquariums I have visited.

Ambience is just perfect and relaxing after days of touring japan.

The tanks are very well maintained and clean. I saw scuba divers scrubing the inside of the tanks and turning over the gravel.

Most of these animals would not survive in their natural habitat and its evident they are fed well and looked after by their caring keepers.

Not at all expensive for a 2 hour tour around.

Jr pass gets you to bentencho, then 230 yen to get to Osakako stn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a sad sad place...
I would never recommend this to anyone ....

Dolphins, Seals and Penguins in TINY tanks....

And the Whale Shark.... SO Sad.

Truly Awful

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A taste of the marine world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter and I were planning to make our last day in Osaka to visit its famed Universal Studios. However, since we wont be enjoying it to the fullest because we should be back to the hotel by 4 pm in time for our 8 pm flight back to Manila, we decided to pass the chance and choose the Osaka Aquarium instead. We really didnt regret it at all.

Known as one of the world's best and largest aquariums, it houses a huge collection of marine and antarctic life. I really enjoyed the cute penguins and dancing dolphins. We already have these enormous whale sharks in Sorsogon but Osaka Aquarium has the "younger" ones so it was a sight to enjoy as well. We rented audio guides (Y500 each) so we will have some background info on the animal displays. We had plenty of videos taken since these sea creatures were more beautiful as they glided in the waters.

Its also beside the famed Tempozan Ferris Wheel, which was once the tallest Ferris Wheel in the world. We ate lunch in the harbor village mall adjacent to it and enjoyed the ramen treats and souvenirs.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had been to Singapore SEA Aquarium and so when we were planning a trip to Osaka Aquarium, we were afraid it might be a repetitive trip. To my surprise, the trip was so worthwhile and we enjoyed the Osaka Aquarium more than SEA Aquarium of Singapore.

You can get really up-close to mammals like seals and penguins. The main tank were much bigger and impressive than the SEA Aquarium. There are lots of benches around the main tank, so you can marvel at the fantasy of underwater. The route starts off at the top level and spiral the way down.

We absolutely love this place, even as adults!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.