We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of remm Shin Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added remm Shin Osaka to your Saves list
remm Shin Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0003, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Pros:

Inside of Shin Osaka station = 2-3 mins and you're on the shinkansen
Very Affordable
Quiet
Generally clean/modern room (rain shower/deep tub)
Free WIFI in-room


Cons:
Room dusty.

Staff tried to give us a smoking room saying "thats all we have" even tho we requested non-smoking, but found a non-smoking room when we mentioned we were traveling with a 1 year old.

Other:
Did not buy the meal package; you don't need it. Multiple eateries located seconds from the lobby. McDonalds 30 paces from the entrance (if you get desperate, u shouldn't be eating here, you're in Japan silly, unless you're there to try the novelty of a 'shrimp burger') Mini market located in station one floor down, also decent ramen and other eateries there.

IMO perfect staging point for hitting Osaka, Kyoto, and the surrounding areas. We came from Shibuya/Tokyo. Easy transition carrying our luggage, shopping merchandise, and what not from train to room.

Room Tip: Mention "NON SMOKING" when making the reservation if you are a non smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    154
    47
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
90
71
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solo City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was my first trip to Japan, and -of course- to Osaka.
Came from Kansai Airport, the best way to reach this hotel, which exactly on the top of shin-osaka station, was by train.
I decided to buy Japan Rail Pass. The best way to reach Shin-Osaka station from Kansai Airport is using Ltd. Express Haruka train. Free if you have the Japan Rail Pass.

Arrived at Shin-Osaka station, we just needed to walk 10 minutes through the Shinkansen Train Station and then turn right, just to find the ultra-modern entrance to the hotel.
For first timers like us, you need to know that train station in Japan are separated to Local Train Station, Shinkansen Train Station and Metro Station.

Now my opinion about this hotel:

LOCATION:
EXACTLY above the Shin-Osaka Shinkansen train station. Very2 comfortable if you travel using train (like most of the tourists and locals do). Shin-Osaka station itself is very lively, has lots of stores and restaurants.
A very good location if you also plan to visit Kyoto, Nara and Kobe. It's easy to reach those cities with direct Shinkansen connections.
BUT if you are planning to visit Dotonburi. (sure you do as a tourist!) Your Japan Rail Pass is not very helpful here. In this case, better to use the Metro lines. You can check hyperdia.com for that.
Score: 8.5/10

CONCIERGE
First impression: Very unique entrance, because nobody there. Came in then turn right for the elevators. Concierge is on the 12th floor. Not very big but has modern design, super clean. Score: 7/10

STAFFS
The younger staffs were friendly and willing to try to speak English, while older staffs spoke only Japanese. Mostly of them were very polite. If you come earlier than their check in time, you can store your luggage first.
Score: 9/10.

ROOM
I must say: WOW. Ultra modern, and even more ultra modern toilet (just try it yourself).
Great shower. Super Fast Wifi, and free! And a massage chair! --> what a surprise.
A rather small room, but was as an expected size for a room in Japan.
We loved the view from the room. And you can literally use the shower and enjoying the scenery at the same time.
Score: 9/10

PRICE
very competitive. We spent less than US $100 for each night.
Score: 10/10

Overall,
One of the best decisions I made for choosing a hotel.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we visit Osaka!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is new and it's located inside Shin Osaka Station. The location is great in term of transportation. Room style is so trendy! I love it! The only thing is the room size. It's very small-maximum for 1 1/2 people:) Breakfast is okay.
Nice amenities! A lot of outlets to charge your devices.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After our first stay early last year (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g298566-d3179803-r153050903-Remm_Shin_Osaka-Osaka_Osaka_Prefecture_Kinki.html#REVIEWS), it was a no brainer to come back again on a return visit to Japan due to the quality of the facilities and the location - its proximity to the Shinkansen and other train services. Once again, the Corner Twin worked brilliantly for us as did the location. I found myself looking forward to our stay here as we travelled through Japan.

I reiterate my directions from my earlier review since if arriving from the airport, the hotel is difficult to find. From the Shinkansen, it's easy. Just take the Central Gate exit and turn right!

But the Kansai Airport Limited Express Haruka drops you in the main JR station. From here (platform 11), take the "East" exit, turn right and follow the walkway for a hundred metres or so, taking a right into the large plaza just past the calligraphy store. You'll find the Shinkansen "Central" gate on your right and the Remm entry straight ahead of you.

Stopping in as we changed trains at Shin-Osaka a few days before our stay, the Remm staff didn't bat an eyelid at our request to leave a large suitcase with them for a few days rather than drag it out to Nagasaki with us. For the modest charge of JPY100/day, we found ourselves travelling a lot lighter and were very appreciative.

The room was, once again, fantastic! Small, but with comfortable beds and lots of gadgets.

Once again, the overwhelming negatives are the massage chair which just gets in the way in such a small room and the lack of a desk.

Our stay this time was much more economical at just over half what we paid last time. Wasn't quite sure why, but I certainly didn't argue such excellent value!

Final tip, when venturing out in search of a convenience store late the other night after the station was largely in shutdown mode, I discovered that if you take the westernmost of the bank of three elevators (on the left as you're facing them), it'll take you straight down to street level at Level 1 where there's a 24 hour Seven-Eleven just outside. Turn right through the bus station as you exit the lift foyer and follow the walkway, turn right again at the street sidewalk and the Seven-Eleven is right there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights during my business trip to Kyoto. Choose this hotel as it's about 25 mins local express train ride to Kyoto. Hotel just beside shin osaka subway station (midosuji line) exit 1 from the train platform. Walk inside the hankyu building and take the escalator up. The hotel entrance is just in front of a cafe. Room is small but nice and clean. Bathroom is amazingly clean. Bed is comfortable. Try to get a non smoking room as there is a slight smell inside the smoking room. The room design is just perfect for business or leisure trip. Great place to stay. Definitely worth come back to stay !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Superb location. Hotel rooms are compact but comfortable for two persons. We were quite impressed with the massage chair in our room, just perfect for relaxation after walking whole day in the city. Check in and check out processes are quick and efficient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
533 helpful votes 533 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having arrived at 9.10pm at the Kansai International Airport and merely missed the 9.25pm train to Shin-Osaka, we took the next train at 10.15pm (very infrequent and poor timings!). Arrived at the massive station, and we took some 10 minutes to find this hotel, my mistake - its located at the North exit of the Shin Osaka station but if you are exiting from the Shinkansen exit, then the hotel is accessible from the Shinkansen's Central exit (then turn to your right and take an elevator up to the Hotel's lobby). So make sure you save time by doing some advance homework.

We were allocated a Twin room on the highest 17th floor (room 1716) and though it was blissfully quiet, the Twin room was the smallest Twin we ever had in Japan. It's a well known fact that rooms in Japan are very small, but due mainly to its poor design, there is not much space to walk around. As most Japanese hotels has only a shower over its tub, here they have wasted alot of space for a shower as well as a tub area! As most people would spend only 10-15 minutes in a shower/bath, we felt that by sacrificing so much precious space for both a shower and a tub (either one will do, don't need both ...), its a very silly thing to do!

Our twin beds were pushed together, resulting it looking like a King sized bed, sort of defeats the purpose of asking for Twin beds ...With such tight space in the 21sqm room, they still place a massage chair and a small table in it. Luckily, there was still some space to open two small cabin bags (we often travel very lightly). But other than that, there is practically no room to walk around. The beds and pillows here are also a little hard. Thus, this is certainly NOT a room you would want to spend more time in ...

To be fair, though the room was tight, it was brand new, and comes with a safe, empty mini bar, free Wifi, 2 bottles of mineral water (nice touch) and a kettle with coffee and tea. If staying for 2 or more nights, I would certainly opt for a larger Corner Twin room, though seems its not bookable through English websites. Maybe could request for it upon check in?

As we only stayed a night and took an early morning train to Kanazawa, this small Twin room does serve its purpose esepcially if you are arriving late at night. The next morning, needless to say, it was super convenient to simply check out via an auto machine and take the elevator down, then turn left to enter the Shinkansen area. So for this greatest location of all and super super convenience, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner Twin room if you want a slightly more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to remm Shin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about remm Shin Osaka

Address: 1-1-1 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — remm Shin Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your remm Shin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage remm Shin Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.