We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Namba Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Namba Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Namba Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074 , Osaka Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First of all, no wifi! just cable. I'd give it a 5 with wifi.

Keywords: Central location in Namba, very near Namba Station, nice rooms, surprisingly quiet, efficient service. We didn't try the concierge or eat at the hotel restaurant. Very good value for money.
It was strange arriving there, as it is located on streets that have a roof (called underground mall on the tourist brochures which I think is a misnomer, it's just a street with a roof). There's quite a number of pachinko parlours close by, the most I've seen in my travel around Japan. I woudn't call the neighbourhood seedy, but it is noisy and doesn't give a fantastic first impression. This might depend on your age :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're very pleased to learn that our location and service were able to meet your expectations. Regarding WiFi, please allow us to let you know that we normally offer renting portable WiFi upon your request and we regret that we could not offer the service while you're staying.

We sincerely hope we may have another chance of welcoming you back to Namba Oriental Hotel in the future. Once again, thank you for leaving your valuable review.

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    206
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
87
115
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

About 3-minute of walk from the Namba Nankai station.
Although the twin room is not large, the room is quite comfortable and quiet.
The staff can speak English well. Travelers can go shopping near the hotel.
A lot of food stands and restaurants are around the hotel, so it's very convenient to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

It is always our pleasure to learn that you were able to take advantage of our location and seem to have a memorable trip in Osaka.

Thank you once again for your review and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroolbark, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff were particularly amazing at this hotel. They really go out of their way to ensure that you are well looked after. For example when I arrived in Osaka I was really sick with bronchitis. The staff found me two doctors who spoke English and really looked after me.

The room was big enough and in a fantastic location.

Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Osaka and sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

Your kind review on our staff is truly appreciated and sure encourages us to keep improving our service performance. We do hope your bronchitis were treated well at the hospital and you had stayed and created wonderful memories in Osaka.

Once again, thank you very much for your time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was booked by our travel agent due to price and location and on those fronts it delivered. It is located in the heart of Nanba which is a very exciting, vibrant area of the city at any hour with lots of places to eat, drink and play. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, they made attempts to fix our aircon which was not working, although sadly they did not manage to fix it before we left.
It is a Half hour cab from Shin-Osaka station (3000Yen), if taking a taxi make sure you tell them to drop you off outside the arcade, as there is no way for a Cab to get out the front of the hotel but it doesn't stop them from trying (ending badly). If taking a Cab the best place to get dropped off at is Bic Camera Nanba which is 30metre from the hotel, it also has a cab rank so drivers dont mind getting you close.
The foyer and lifts were very smokey and the smell constantly sent my partner into a coughing fit due to her asthma, however once inside the non-smoking floors it was all fine, no smoke at all.
The rooms hotel and rooms were nice, rather large however the decor was dated throughout the hotel and it really needs a face lift.
Additionally there is no Wi-Fi here, only Ethernet cables which sucks for those traveling with just tablets.
All in all a good hotel, not great, but good for the price range.

Room Tip: Get dropped off at Bic Camera when taking a cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

We are more than grateful to learn that you were able to take advantage of our location and seemed to have a wonderful trip in Osaka. Also we genuinely appreciate your detailed description of the way to arrive here by a cab. It certainly will be very helpful for our future guests.

Regarding to the cigarette smell mentioned on you review, we are currently working on to get rid of the smell out of lifts and lobby. We sincerely hope that we can have another chance to prove the improvement when you visit us next time.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comment and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in near future.

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very reasonably priced hotel within 5 min. walking distance from Namba Nankai station and Subway. Surrounded with street-style shopping and abundance of food with some operating thru' the night. Check out the Big Camera store nearby!!

The Standard Double room is spacious by Jap standard. Queen sized bed, central airconditioning with local temp control, mini fridge, writing table, 2-seater sofa with coffee table, kettle....complete amenities. Toilet was clean, bath tub, and all bath needs. Our room faced east into the morn sun, but black-out curtain did the works. Despite facing the crowded street, our room on the 5th floor was quite insulated from the noise with the window closed.

The room has wired-internet connection. If you need wifi, you could get a wifi router from the front desk, FOC.

Points to note for non-smokers:
We stayed in a "non-smoking" room. The room was equipped with a portable air-cleaner. Despite these, we could still faintly smell cigarettes in the room throughout our stays.
The two lifts serving the hotel had a permanent strong cigarette smell, perhaps leaking from a public smokers' shed just next to the hotel!!

Directions from Kansai International Airport : Take the Nankai Limited Express, about 40 min journey time ending at Namba station. You could take other sem-express or local trains costing less, but longer journey time due to more stops. Then take the north exit to ground level. On exiting the station, look right for Starbucks across the road. Take the sheltered alley next to it. About 100m down at the cross-junction of Jumbo Pachinko, turn left, should be able to see the Hotel on the right side 50m down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're grateful to learn that our service meet your expectation and more than thankful for that you provided the detailed description about room, amenity and service and the legible direction to our hotel from KIX on your review. It will surely be very helpful for our future guests.

Regarding the smoking smell in the lifts, please allow us to inform that we're currently corresponding to solve the issue.

Thank you very much once again and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with further better service.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Except for the occasional splurge, I usually choose midrange hotels with convenient location and decent rooms. The reviews and pictures from tripadvisor made me choose to stay at Namba Oriental, and I must say I didn't regret it at all!

Location: Fairly decent as it is very near to the Nankai Namba station, with the nearest exit being opposite Takashimaya mall. The hotel website provides very detailed directions to the hotel so you won't go lost. (Link from hotel website: http://www.nambaorientalhotel.co.jp/access/access_rw06_en01.html). Entrance to the hotel is under a covered walkway with lots of food stores, shops and pachinko parlours. There is also an awesome takoyaki stall (from the hotel, just turn left and then right).

Room: Like all the others commented, rooms are fairly large for Japanese standards. There is an outdoor area with a fountain and cherry trees. We were there in April so the outdoor area was so beautiful as the cherry blossoms were in full bloom!

Just a note, the staff can speak basic English so its not a problem if you're asking for directions.

My only complaint was the lift stank of cigarette smoke, especially the lobby area. If that is fine with you, then you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and the valuable review.

Your detailed review on our location and room is greatly appreciated and we literally can't thank you enough for that you refer the URL for our access information page. It will certainly be very helpful for our future guests.

In regard to smoking odor in the lift and lobby, we are currently working on to solve the problem and hopefully you can see the improvement when you visit us next time.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is reasonably priced and located in arguably the most 'happening' area of Osaka. If you only have a night or two to spend in Osaka then I would highly recommend staying here as you are right in the middle of the dotonbori/shinsaibashi area. The area is a mecca for shopping and eating. Plus the public transport is so efficient that it is easy getting anywhere in osaka from nanba station or the subway stations.
The hotel room was very quiet and comfortable, decent size as well. Will stay here again next time I'm in osaka!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of our location as well as our service and had a wonderful trip in Osaka.

Thank you once again for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Vista Grande Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Midosuji Hotel
Midosuji Hotel
#36 of 269 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Floral Inn Namba
Floral Inn Namba
#107 of 269 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namba Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namba Oriental Hotel

Address: 2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Osaka
#26 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#28 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Namba Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known as an 'oasis of the city', Namba Oriental Hotel offers you a quiet and relaxed time after you step into the building from the exciting city of Namba. Feel the most comfort from our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Namba Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namba Oriental Osaka
Hotel Namba Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namba Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.