We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-1-55 Uehonmachi, Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0001 , Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates
Ranked #80 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
3.5 of 5 stars 684 Reviews
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Sheraton Miyako from Australia with Wotif as our first stopover beginning our 2 week trip to Japan. We arrived rather late in the evening after a very long day, as the Jetstar flight was delayed in Sydney by 3 hours. We missed the last limousine bus which would have taken us to the hotel door by about 15 minutes which necessitated catching the train into Osaka. Fortunately we had done all our planning for hotel locations to be near railway stations which proved a wise choice.

We were received graciously, (which seems to be the nature of all the Japanese we have met so far) in the rather large well appointed lobby and reception area. The room, as expected, (having read many reviews of hotels in Japan before leaving) was smallish but nevertheless suited our purpose extremely well. The very large single beds had mattresses that were a bit hard, with one pillow too soft and the other large and a bit too hard, (I didn't have Goldilocks luck to find one that was "just right"). These small inconveniences were trivial compared to the care and attention of the hotel staff, the location is excellent right at the subway entrance and that you can catch the airport bus to the door and free wifi to each room.

Small tip, you can save a fair bit by having breakfast in any one of a number of cafes in the subway complex compared to the price of the hotel breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    361
    155
    45
    15
See reviews for
151
152
130
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I changed hotels from a business hotel in the Namba area. The first hotel was a very small business hotel, so this was a big change. I read a lot of comments from people saying the Sheraton Miyako was out-dated and budget. I honestly didn't get that impression at all. I'm not a 5-star traveler, so maybe my perception is a little different than others, but I thought it was a very well-kept, professional hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located one or two stations away from the Namba station. I think depending on what subway line you use, the amount of stops is different. Anyway, it was very quick to get to the Namba area. The hotel is actually attached to the underground subway system which also has many shops, restaurants, and even a small supermarket. You could just stay in the hotel and visit the underground mall for all your needs and never step foot on a subway. Of course that's not fun, but you could.

The hotel is large. The ground floor is basically the entrance of the hotel if you drive or come by bus. If you catch the subway, you can enter from the underground mall area and it will take you directly to the 2nd floor where the lobby is located. You just have to follow the signs underground for The Sheraton Miyako.

Side note: You can also catch the airport limousine (bus) from the ground floor. It takes you directly to the airport with no stops. Very convenient and cheap.

The lobby is very large. They have a concierge desk, a reception desk with about 4 receptionists, waiting area with couches, bar/lounge, restaurant, and gift shop. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. They spoke good English and were always available to recommend dinning and sight-seeing places. The hotel itself must have had about 8 restaurants on its own. It was hard to figure out where the hotel ended and the attached malls began. I happened to have a few drinks at the bar/lounge, the restaurant on the lobby floor, and the okonomiyaki restaurant on the basement floor. All the food was good. A little pricey since it was in the hotel. I'm sure you could get the same quality food outside for cheaper prices. The convenience was nice however.

My room was very nice, clean, and large. It felt like a mansion after coming from a business hotel in Namba. My room had two large beds, desk, chair, sofa chair, large flat screen tv, wardrobe, in-room safe, A/C, and small refrigerator. The other amenities included are LAN internet, wifi internet (complimentary), mini bar (soda, beer, juices, water; paid), coffee and tea (complimentary), hot water boiler, and hair dryer.

The bathroom was nice. It had a bidet toilet with seat warmer. Their bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, toothbrush kit, razor kit, comb, brush, vanity kit, and shower cap. The only thing they didn't have that most hotels have is lotion. I don't usually use the hotel lotion, but after coming from Thailand and going to the cold weather in Osaka, my face and lips were so chapped and dry.

The hotel also has a pool, fitness center, in-room massage, and laundry service. I didn't use any of these services or facilities so I can't comment on their quality. My friend got an in-room massage though and he said it was really good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in a high-end hotel near the major districts, but far enough away for peace and quiet. This hotel is great for business, couples, families, friends, and solo. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back for another trip to Osaka. Happy travels everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at this hotel. I would highly recommend it for it's location, cleanliness and most of all the quietness. Even though this hotel is located on a busy six or more lane road, you never hear any traffic noise at night, only the occasional siren which is still quite faint. The location is fantastic with the subway and train stations underneath, a 12 story department store next door with an amazing two level food court, supermarket, coffee shop and of course the mandatory ATM. Our deluxe room was well appointed with full toiletries including hair brush and razor. The housekeeping was amazing with full linen changed daily. I think the quilts may have been polyester because we were so hot sleeping at night, even though it was early spring (doesn't make for a restful sleep). The only down side is there is no iron in the room (available for hire at a cost), buffett breakfast not worth the cost and you have to pay extra to use the pool area, I have never heard of this before. The limo bus comes straight to the door from Kansai Airport, although this trip can take close to an hour depending on the traffic. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Room was VERY Hot, during Winter! They even had to add a fan into my room! There is only a small outlet for outside air to come in, and AC is not available due to Winter. Asked for 2 days in a row to change room but was just told its not possible. Booked a Cityview room and was told there all room are city view upon arrival? Then what do we pay extra for?
Shopping mall is located below the hotel and so its the Kintesu Line, the only saving grace.
Fall sick on the 2nd day and went to the front office for help. Was told there they do not have Doctor available, and suggested I wait till morning to go to a nearby clinic. Which is fine, but not very 'Sheraton'. Room size is large for Japan Hotel.

Room Tip: Just book the club room, or try other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was here last year for six nights: this time I only stayed one night on business (Feb 2013).

As before, I was impressed. The hotel is extremely convenient, accessible by bus directly from both airports, and by subway.

The good
Clean and pleasant room
Extremely varied buffet breakfast
Polite and well-trained staff
Great location

The bad
This hotel is very popular with large tour groups -can make the lobby and breakfast a bit chaotic

Overall
This is a great hotel to stay at on business: comfortable, convenient, and reasonably-priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Tickets and hotels were booked quite late so Sheraton was the only available choice on the list, a safe choice I would say.
Not situated in the centre of Osaka, but it’s adjacent to the station and just a few minutes from Shisaibashi by train, location isn’t a problem for me.

We arrived early and tired, the hotel front desk staff were so nice that they checked us in before noon. We were so grateful, especially when we went up the room and saw the housekeeping staff were still cleaning the other rooms, that was really an extra.

Rooms were little small but OK, with hotel chain standards. Fast and stable WIFI, buffet breakfast with nice coffee, helpful concierge, good ventilation...etc. No complaints!

My family did mention my room (on non-smoking floor) was a little smelly but I always like cigarette smells so it’s no problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There're a number of ways you can go into the Osaka city from airport. If you're considering to stay at sheraton miyako Osaka, skip all the trains since it takes about the same amount of time ( about 1 hour to Namba station, 40 mins to Tennoji station), just jump in the airport shuttle leaving outside the terminal (bus stop number 6 or 7 i remember). The fair is 1500yen and the ride is about 50 mins. It saves you time and energy moving luggages up and down, and switching trains. (We thought train would be faster but ended up taking additional 40 mins to get there, not to mention there's a lot of walk between changing lines from one station to another).

The hotel itself is very comfy. The bathroom is a little bit old with some stains in the bathtub. Other than that, the room is quiet. The hotel is next to two department stores and several really good restaurants are within walking distance. There aren't too many choices for breakfast so don't pay money for it unless it's complimentary.

We walked 20 mins to Nipponbashi station and had the famous globefish (swell fish) cuisine. In case anyone is interested, the restaurant is called 黑門浜藤.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka

Address: 6-1-55 Uehonmachi, Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0001 , Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 579
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Osaka
Osaka Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.