We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at Bay Area - Give you serenity but remote!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Osaka to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Osaka
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-13-11 Nanko-Kita, Suminoe-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 559-0034, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase Up To 10%Off
Ranked #54 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel at Bay Area - Give you serenity but remote!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights just last week having a short holiday with my husband. I picked this hotel because its familiar chain. Unfortunately I found the location quite remote especially if I was not going to Universal Studio, but more going to Namba area for shopping and dining. The hotel must be a good business hotel. It has fantastic facilities such as the gym, the pools, the spa etc. It's a large hotel with space and tranquility at the bay view, contrast with the hotels you get at the down town which give you the convenience for shopping! However, Hyatt has been very thoughtful to operate a shuttle bus service to and fro Osaka City and Cosmosquare. It gives you the easy access to the town and the opportunity to go around Osaka City station which has the newest shopping malls and access to Kyoto and Kobe. Hence, not a bad choice though, depending on where you want to go!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    216
    104
    20
    12
See reviews for
121
113
58
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is "Regency" grade, and category 2 hotel defined by Hyatt, but I definitely agree that this hotel can be marked as higher tier.

Location: In Bay area, a bit far away from Osaka city center, you can take subway then change with new tram and take off at Nakafutō Station, it takes about 45mins to go from Umeda. But hotel provides shuttle going to Umeda Station (also known as JR Osaka Station), it takes 25-35mins, and the schedule is evey 00/30 minute until 10PM. But since this hotel is in bay area, a nice sea view can be seen.

Services: Excellent as usual, I've been to most of Hyatt hotels in Japan, and they never disappointed me, it's really satisfying.

Spa/Gym: As I am already a Platinum member I am eligible to use Spa/Gym free of charge, cleanliness + staff support service doing very well there. I enjoyed the spa and sauna very well before I check out.

P.S. The room has a window that can be fully opened, emergency evacuation pathway outside (a bit dangerous if you really going outside), so I can open window to take photo :P

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The property

A major hotel property located on the harbour side of Osaka. Large and impressive public areas, well laid out, immaculately clean, stylish, a real theatre of a hotel. The roof garden runs a delightful buffet about a hundred feet up - real grass, play area for children, lots of food choice, all you can eat and drink.


The room

About 120 sq feet, in other respects a pretty standard western hotel room, smart, clean, well furnished, newish decor. Windows opened.

The bathroom

A good size bath, with shower over.


The bed

Very comfortable, nice cottons, good lighting.


Ambient noise and light

The curtains did a good job of sutting out the light. Some background city roar but not intrusive. No aircon noise to speak of.

Other comments

All round a very good place to stay in Osaka. Yes, it is a 25 minute shuttle bus ride from the main station, but the shuttle runs twice an hour and is delightfully efficient.

Is this helpful? If I have helped you choose, or reject, this hotel, please let me know by ticking the "helpful" box!

Room Tip: The shuttle is quite hard to find at Osaka JR station (not the shinkansen station but one stop on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I has been at this hotel server times. Everytime I found that the sevices is always outstanding. I got recogintion from Ms Aiko Watanabe - Concierge. She is very friendly and helpful and made my stay another memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a base to visit Kyoto and Hiroshima because we couldn't get a hotel room in Kyoto. It's located in the port area of Osaka, and only convenient to a nearby convention centre and Universal Studios Japan. There are regular and frequent free shuttles to Osaka Station and a nearby subway, which make it fairly easy to get to wherever you're going.

The hotel itself is good. Perfectly good rooms, very clean, and the usual great service you get in Japan. The WiFi, however, is too slow.

The Japanese restaurant (Irodori) was a great surprise.We had the Teppanyaki menu one night, and enjoyed it so much that we went back for the Kaisecki menu the next night. The food and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night, very nice hotel. Staff very helpful, breakfast very good. My room was extremely comfortable. I hope that next time I visit this part of the world I will stay here longer. It's a very modern hotel and everything that you would expect from Hyatt. As I can't find anything negative to say I am finding it difficult to write a review that consists of 200 characters as per the requirement of trip advisor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm in two minds with this hotel. The rooms are ok. The amenities are good, facilities are fine and room size was ok. The fitting felt a little dated though.

The service was good and the communal areas of the hotel were nice, such as the Sky Lounge (expensive though).

The breakfast had a lot of choice but the cooked food was cold.

I didn't like the location though. It feels like one of those motorway hotels in the middle of nowhere. They offer a free shuttle to Osaka station (they should offer other locations as Osaka is big and the station isn't THAT central). I felt isolated in this hotel, being 30mins highway driving from anything. It's right on the end of the nearest subway line and I didn't want this on a holiday. It was right by the docks, so even if you get a good view, it will be of industrial wasteland.

I think it's ok for business, but not for tourists.

Room Tip: Nice views of a bad area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Osaka

Address: 1-13-11 Nanko-Kita, Suminoe-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 559-0034, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#19 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#24 Family Hotel in Osaka
#44 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.