We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice luxurious hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hankyu International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hankyu International to your Saves list
Hotel Hankyu International
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0013, Japan (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on two occasions.First time the room was great.Very spacious with nice city views The bathroom was so big and all marble.The second time had a suite, again overlooking the city with great night views and again great marble bathroom.The staff very friendly and speak English.Close to city centre and train stations

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    112
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
104
38
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here two nights and had the bath view room.

This hotel is not suitable for children. It's public spaces are magnificent and luxe but if you've kids give it a miss.

We loved the beautiful Japanese breakfast, with lovely views of Osaka. I'd paid extra for the breakfast for just me and children's breakfast was complimentary. Staff were kind and able to meet all requests.

The hotel's location a bit far for tired legs even when using chayamachi deguchi from Hankyu Station. But if we were any more than a km just took taxis, cheap as in Ja. I'd walk everywhere, but a saviour to keep a 5yo child fresh!

No children's dedicated movie or TV channel, I'd actually brought ddaughter's DVDs from home, but no DVD player unless you hire it. It's only blu ray. They kindly waived the fee when I explained that my daughter needing a bit of TV time couldn't watch any provided particularly the free porno channel for entertainment.

Baby sitting available and will arrange for you, but extremely expensive. The concierge kindly found a cheaper alternative, but near the Ritz-Carlton, far from this hotel.
The room, with bath view was terrific and well below the advertised price. So pays to call.

There's English speaking staff both in reservation and in foyer, though I speak OK Japanese, they were excellent. Not Osaka style friendly though, maybe trying to be posh!

The in room amenities and furnishings were all wonderful.
Love automatic blinds and curtains and the spacious design.

I'd probably prefer this hotel as a stay without children but I'll not stay again.
Just didn't find them friendly enough, and one of Osaka's charms is the friendliness of the locals.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here one night and as a non Japanese, this hotel is a nightmare. Indications are only in Japanese, most of the staff only speaks Japanese. The rooms are very nice and stylish and the hotel leaves you with a positive first impression, though for the following reasons, I will not be back :

`the hotel is very noisy when you have a room at the side of the train tracks. I stayed on the 33th floor and even at this height, the noise of the trains is on, 24hours a day. If you are not used to it, don't even consider it. Maybe the other side of the hotel is much better.

`the hotel should have a gym (checked at reservation). Though, the gym is closed for the moment. Nobody tells you this, it is not indicated. You stand completely dressed in front of the door to do your morning work out (gym usually opens at 7h30 am which is usually anyway to late for me), to find out that there is no gym.

`internet is good and fast, though it can take a while before you are connected. You need to activate and navigate yourself through the television screens (good luck in Japanese) in order to obtain an access code. The best is to call the reception and ask a staff member to get it done. With some luck, this person will understand your english and know what you mean.

`there is no international power plug in the room and the adaptors are rare. The very helpful staff managed to get one for me and bring it to the room. Thank you.

Overall, the staff is doing their best, though most of the time, you are lost in translation. No international plugs, no gym and too much of a struggle for a non Japanese like me, does not make it a hotel option for my future visits in Osaka.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the side of the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived early and wasn't able to check in as room was not ready. Collected my wireless router that was couriered directly to the hotel by a local provider. Concierge helped to do a full charge while I went shopping.

Stayed in their superior double room that was located on a high floor with a fantastic view of Osaka city. Room and toilet was very spacious and comfortable. Amenities provided were of good quality so I didn't need to use my own. We can choose either the western or local breakfast set. As the local one was so good, I had it for 2 consecutive days.

Location was not centrally located; about 10min walk to Umeda station. New Hankyu is more centrally located with the airport limousine pickup close by. Luckily, taxis are relatively cheaper comparing to Tokyo. So I took a taxi to the pick up point at New Hankyu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel that is well located (10min walk to Osaka station) with plenty of great dining just at the doorstep. Excellent service with attentive staff.

Although not the cheapest hotel but certainly worth the price

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel, good size rooms.
Well equipped ( whiskey selection in mini bar).
Lots of restaurants and shops close by.
Near to Osaka station and other lines.
Very good quality at a reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel is in a great location with tons of restaurants and stores nearby. You almost don't need to go anywhere else as there's so much to do in the neighborhood. It's very beautiful and service is old school European, i.e. impeccable.
Room was very large and well appointed. Views were amazing. A staff came upstairs to explain how the controls and wifi worked and he couldn't have been nicer. Wifi signal was strong and never failed.
Great value in Osaka!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0013, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#8 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hankyu International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;