We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant bu a bit worn at the edges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hankyu International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hankyu International to your Saves list
Hotel Hankyu International
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 366 Reviews
DE
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Elegant bu a bit worn at the edges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hankyu International is a lovely, elegant property with large, luxe rooms and lots of luxury to make one feel very welcome and pampered. Still, the age is starting to show ...my room had a carpet that had pulled apart at the seams; the two velvet covered chairs were stained and threadbare; and many of the furnishings in the lobby showed the same age, wear, and genteel deterioration. The bathrooms are magnificent and exceedingly comfortable with great amenities.

It is well situated in Osaka, but is a very European-style hotel, seemingly a bit out of place in Japan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    124
    36
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
113
38
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very luxe property and was a great hotel. I was a bit disappointed because it really is much more like a luxurious European hotel rather than an elegant Japanese hotel (I prefer the latter). The rooms are very large and the bathroom is enormous. The view from my room on the 33rd floor was breathtaking. The location of the hotel is good - a bit of a walk fro Osaka Station, but one of the airport buses from Kansai runs directly to the front door of the hotel. Buses to Itami airport and most buses back to Kansai leave from other nearby locations (at the Hankyu New Hotel, about an 8 minute walk). Lots of shops and restaurants nearby and a Starbucks on the first floor. One minor issue - I reserved a room with a queen bed and was given a room with 2 twin beds. I was too tired to complain and it always annoys me when hotels do this....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my gf spent our new years eve at this hotel, and it had been nothing but perfect experience.

Good: top service from all staff, very helpful and attentive. The room we had has a great view over the harbor. It is very spacious and well maintained. Didn't tried any restaurants in the hotel, so can't comment on that.

Bad: the location is a bit far from the train station despite there are many shops and restaurants surrounding. It took us 10 min to walk to train station n airport bus station.

Ugly: if I have to be picky... there was a bug on the floor in my room the last day. Not a big deal to me after the very pleasant stay. I'd still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is a kind of luxury in Japanese mix with Western Style. It is so balance. Hotel is great as located on a great location, next to many Restaurants, Lofts shopping Mall, Shopping area where many young generation people are there. Modern and lively environment. Staff are very helpful and extend outstanding services even some could not communicate English well.
Overall it is superb!!!!

Room Tip: If you like to be treated with very good care, attentive, and a touch of Japanese people then this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

dont be fooled by the old fashioned lobby and decor- the rooms in the hotel are great. Giant beds, wonderful bathroom (with seperate bath and shower, a rarity in Japan). Close to downtown restaurants but still very quiet.
Very helpful staff, with great English.
No breakfast, as it was too expensive but there's a Starbucks in the buliding so I went there instead.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice view from 33rd floor. All the rooms locate upper than 24th floor.
Clean room and bathroom. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in March. The hotel was really wonderful, the staff very accommodating and professional. We were on level 33 with an amazing view of Osaka city (Uneda). The hotel room was absolutely huge by japanese standards, double doors led into the bathroom which was also huge, seriously, a separate shower, bath, a large vanity basin and a toilet, very special. the tv was a large lcd screen with. a marantz docking station for you mp3 player, we were able to plug our laptop into the tv and watch the movies we brought from home as we knew that the only english speaking tv station would be CNN. There was two lounge chairs and two normal dining chairs with a small table where you could sit and either work or eat some of the amazing sushi they sell at the Hanshin department store. We travel extensively and this would have to be about one of the best hotels we have stayed at, it was very quiet even though it was right next to a fire station (yes, you could hear the sirens but they didnt worry us or keep us awake). We had a large window with a great view and blockout curtains so you could sleep in if you wanted to. We wondered if we were the only visitors staying here because you never heard another single person (or even saw that many people in the lifts or the lobby).
The beds and one of the pillows is hard but we read others reviews and came prepared with our own travel pillows and had no problems, we had booked a superior twin and the price was amazing, very cheap for what we got. The room was very clean and the maids came daily and left the place spotless. They have a couple of cups, a big jug that could serve about 6 people with tea or coffee.
The department stores close by (Daimaru & Hanshin) have the most amazing food halls in their basements, they go for miles and you can purchase lovely cakes, biscuits, coffee, tea and sushi/sashimi to bring back to your hotel room, all very fresh and beautifully presented. There are lots of japanese restaurants close by and one in particular is called Ki-Chi-Ri which was on level 4 of a building - you couldnt see inside, you just caught a lift up and it was just lovely. Make sure you look for all the malls that are underground, they go for miles and miles, you could spend entire days not seeing the sun but exploring the many laneways. Also if you go the Umeda Sky building, go down to the basement and you will find the most quaint "street" with lots of little japanese restaurants, it looked just like an old japanese street only underground.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hankyu International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.