We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with bad management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Osaka to your Saves list
Hilton Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #18 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 966 Reviews
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel with bad management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there two nights.
Hotel is a modern sky-scrambler with gorgeous view from the top floors. Rooms are well maintained and look like new.
Location is just in front of Osaka Station very convenient to go every where by subway or train. Kyoto is just 30 minutes by train that leaves almost every 10 minutes until midnight.
Now about drawbacks.

Looks like Hilton saves a lot on training of personnel there, probably all budget goes to Conrad and Waldorf nowadays.
Reception: when we arrived there were three people by the counter two speaking on the phone and one doing something important in the computer not paying any attention to us standing just in front, in a minute he finished his computer and excusing himself disappeared. Fortunately one of the phone speakers hanged up and checked us in.

Concierge: I asked about Osaka attractions and restaurants. He was speaking as if he was trying to run away while I was the only one around him. For the restaurant he was looking through the book as if he was seeing it the first time in his life. I do not think there is a real concierge there, there are the bell-boys who moves suitcases and give travel advice the same time.

Room service: terrible, they forgot to clean the bathroom, the towels were in the bedroom, the garbage was in the baskets, the teacups were dirty. The only thing they did was making up the bed, all the rest was in the same state as we left it in the morning. We complained and they cleaned everything ok but the cups.

Bar on the top: the view is really superb! We took champagne 30 us dollars per glass, expensive but not too bad for such a view. I also asked if they have any nuts or olives the waiter said "of course" and brought mixed nuts and five cheap olives just green boneless without seasoning on the ice. To our surprise they charged 22 dollars for the nuts and 10 dollars for the olives. I did not expect that with such champagne prices they would charge for the snacks, in fact we drink champagne everywhere and a lot including Hilton hotels (I am a diamond member) but such a robbery happened the first time to me. I tried to reason the waiter but he was only saying "this is our price" while he could not demonstrate me the pricelist for the olives, when I insisted to speak to the manager from the hotel he removed the snacks from the bill.

Executive launch: is miserable, scarce food and small

Breakfast in the main restaurant: very good buffet and service -- no complains at all.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, but do not expect old good Hilton service there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. Feedback from our guests enables us to continuously improve our operation and guest service.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointment and the inconveniences brought about during your stay. Rest assured that we have addressed your comment on the service deficiency with the in-charge person of the Front Office, Restaurants and Housekeeping to improve our quality of products and services. And we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate, that your comments were not made in vain.

Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Osaka on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Herman Ehrlich - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    389
    131
    51
    9
See reviews for
208
222
118
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location near the airport limo bus drop-off, osaka station, subway station and shopping areas. Room was spacious and clean, check-in was fast, the only complaint is the slow internet connection in the lobby that made us have to get the internet connection in the room which was quite pricey. Other than that, great experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Yes, it is in Japan, one of the most expensive employment cost countries in the world, unfortunately, despite its huge amount of accommodation fee, we can't expect Hilton standard services here at Hilton Osaka.

1. We can't expect any upgrade even as a HHonors Gold member. They would tell us that only diamond members can take the privilege to get upgrade.
2. No complimentary shoe polishing service and no cloths pressing service, which normally exist as standard services at Hilton hotels worldwide.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. Feedback from our guests enables us to continuously improve our operation and guest service.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointment. And we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate, that your comments were not made in vain.

Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Osaka on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Herman Ehrlich - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - central, well connected, on top of a subway station and opposite Osaka Station, with excellent shopping opportunities. And at around 20,000 Yen per night for a standard room, it's a reasonable deal in its class.
The hotel has a somewhat elusive entrance, a fairly boring lobby, and the rooms are just starting to get a bit tired, although their space, for Japan, is OK. I think the sister hotel in Tokyo-Shinjuku is better though.
The breakfast is good - standard Hilton Asia fare.
All in all, Hilton Osaka is just fine, but it does lack the "wow" factor.
You probably won't be disappointed, but you won't be overly inspired neither.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a much better appreciation of this city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback .
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay as well as the many facilities accessible in close proximity from our hotel.
Your comments relating to the rooms are valuable and taken up for future reference.
We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you, when your travels bring you anew to Hilton Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed again at Hilton Osaka for our recent 9 day Japan trip. As per normal, during checkin I gave them my credit card and they made an imprint of it.The room and stay was excellent. No problems. It was the deposit they held in the credit card that was worrying - after we have checked out of the hotel on 14 April, with all the bills cleared, they still held a large sum of money in my credit card and only released it at 21 April. I've emailed them asking them to release it without avail and I had to wait for my card company to lapse the hold. I believe they should have told me how much they would be holding in my card and for how long during check-in. Not cool.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower story room (e.g. 12F). I was there during the April 13 2013 earthquake. The quake wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your laudatory comments on our hotel and its services.
We regret the inconvenience in reference to your credit card during our check in process.
We have taken the necessary actions to avoid future repetition.
We value your feedback, which will assist us improving the need of our guests.
Thank you anew, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you, when your travels bring you to Osaka, to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First time in Osaka and the Hilton is the best place to stay. If you can book an exec level room do it, as we stayed in 3321 on recommendation from the assistant reservations Manager Tadado. It has a great view and close to the lounge.
The hotel is very near to the Osaka station, so Hiroshima, Kobe and Kyoto etc are easily visited in a day, a great base to tour around southern Japan.The hotel is first class because the staff are so friendly and patient, nothing is a problem, some staff like Ari even anticipate what you need even before you ask for it. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, we had a fantastic time and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Exec level is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your laudatory comments on our hotel and its services.
Your comments concerning our staff Tadato, are also gratifying, and I have passed on your positive remark to her, which will act as a well deserved motivator to achieve more superior performance.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a bit of a nightmare checking in (they had messed up our booking, first time this happened!), we had a really good stay. The staff spent the rest of our stay (3 days), making up for our bad check-in, and boy did they deliver! The front desk client manager, Ari, was simply outstanding in his professional assistance to us during our stay. What a fantastic help and person he is!
The location could not be better in terms of being next to the train station (we came on the 15 minute train ride form Kyoto), we simply crossed the road to the Hilton. Super!
The rooms are great, with all Hilton-type mod cons and great tolietries. We got access to the Executive Lounge (not as good as the Hilton, Tokyo but fine nonetheless). Ask for an upgrade and they will oblige if they have availability.
We had a wonderful dinner at the Windows on the World restaurant on the 35th floor, again,excellent service, the service was outstanding!
The hotel served as an excellent gateway into the city and we explored Osaka fully!
The buffet breakfast is really good with a great selection of food, catering to all tastes, diets etc. They also have great highchairs if needed.
A great place to stay to explore Osaka.

Room Tip: Ask for Ari, he is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We apologize for any discrepancies during check in and are glad to hear that our colleague Ari was able to accommodate your needs. We value your constructive comments allowing us to further improve our services and guest experiences.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent experience at Hilton Osaka and the services of our Executive Floor and lounge as well as our Sky Lounge "Windows on the World".
Our Sky lounge Windows on the World offers a price competitive lunch buffet, Happy hour at sunset -50% from 5:30 PM till 19:00 PM and extended multi course menu choices, all looking out over west Osaka, Kobe and beyond.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Osaka

Address: 1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#11 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
#19 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the business and entertainment area, the Hilton Osaka hotel is linked to one of Osaka's largest shopping malls. Admire the views from Windows on the World restaurant or the Executive Lounge. Unwind in the gym, pool or relaxation salon. The hotel is 3 miles from Universal Studios Japan and 1 hour from Kansai airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Hilton International Osaka
Osaka Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.