We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, very tired property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Osaka

Save Saved
You added Hilton Osaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0001, Japan (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #21 of 246 hotels in Osaka
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, very tired property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff and as noted in other reports the location is super central. Too bad then that the rooms are so dated (although clean) and must be from a 1970's fit out. Charging, and it was not so cheap either, also for in-room wi fi is completely out of line with international standards and should be stopped.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback .
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff.
Your comments relating to the rooms and Internet use are valuable and allowing us to further improve our services and guest experiences.
Thanks anew and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    334
    116
    44
    8
See reviews for
171
196
103
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Interior decor: Modern and delicately stylish. Excellent.
Exterior appearance: Flagship hotel at Osaka/Umeda train station area. Tower.
Location: Very convenient for Osaka/Umeda.
Outside view from the room I stayed at: West side of Osaka, across Yodo River. Excellent.
Room size: 30 square meters. Adequate.
Restaurant: Complemenary breakfast for Hilton HHonors Gold Members - very impressed with breakfast selection - Takoyaki! Both Japanese and western menus are fully available.
Bed: Soft. King size. Slept well for 7 1/2 hours.
Service: Professional staffs.

Very clean and well maintained lobby. Great noise insulation from the room.

Price value: Acceptable, even though a bit expensive

Room Tip: High floor the better. Executive level the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich (General Manager) Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Hilton Osaka Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent experience at Hilton Osaka and the services of our restaurant breakfast.
Our Sky lounge Windows on the World offers a price competitive lunch buffet, Happy hour at sunset -50% from 5:30 PM till 19:00 PM and extended multi course menu choices, all looking out over west Osaka, Kobe and beyond.
We thank you anew for your patronage and look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Osaka.

With best regards,
Herman Ehrlich - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Close to the train station so easy to get to from the train. Room was a good size. Very clean and quiet. Staff very, very helpful. The morning we were leaving it was raining heavily at 5.45am. They gave us umbrellas to use to walk to the station to catch the train to the airport. They said just leave them at the airport. Easy to walk to the Umeda Sky Garden. We caught a train to the Osaka Castle. Well worth the visit. Hotel close to eating areas and convience stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich (General Manager) Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Hilton Osaka Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff, and I have passed on your positive remark to them, which will act as a well deserved motivator to achieve more superior performance.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.

Sincerely yours,
Herman Ehrlich
General Manager
Hilton Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Situated in the middle of Osaka and just in front of the Osaka Central Station this Hilton gets top marks in a lot of tiers. The service is outstanding. Everyone from the front desk to the house-keeping were very friendly and always willing to help. Even the Manager was always available for any enquiry.

The rooms are very clean and very spacious. The decoration is a typical Tatami style with modern and japanese elements that creates a nice environment to enjoy. The beds are really comfortable and you can barely hear any noisy.

The train station across the street is very convenient either to travel around or to buy something. It's a great hotel. The only thing to point out is about the A/C quality that creates a lot of dryness in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich (General Manager) Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Hilton Osaka Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location opposite the refurbished and extended JR Osaka Station, with a myriad of new department stores and other retail offerings, in addition to the largest underground shopping mall of Japan.
I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.

Sincerely yours,
Herman Ehrlich
General Manager
Hilton Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for 9 days in Hilton Osaka while travelling in Osaka and surrounding areas. Located less than 5 minutes from the south central gate exit from Osaka station. Hotel staffs are very friendly and always tried to help as much as they can especially when it comes to finding good food around the area. Parents enjoyed the breakfast very much - spending at least an hr only on breakfast everyday!!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get a better view of the city. Anything below 20 will be block by high rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay.
Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff.
This will no doubt motivate them to provide an even more superior service.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent almost a week in the hotel and generally enjoyed our stay. The check in staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were accidentally given the wrong room when we went upstairs, and we came back down to get the correct room. Everyone was busy at the time, but a manager named Ari was simply amazing. He was smiling the entire time and was extremely helpful. He took care of the mix up and we were on our way.

Our room was a standard size. The bed was comfortable, there were ample bottles of water, and the restroom with the Japanese bidet was all nice. The TV is interesting to get English dubbed channels, and the instructions are by the TV.

We had access to the Executive Lounge, which is by far extremely small for the a hotel of this size. During the evening cocktails, which start at 6PM, there was already a waiting list to get in when we got there at 5:45PM. The staff said they would call our room when a table was available. Out of the three nights we tried to relax in the lounge, they forgot to call us back twice. If there aren't enough seats in the lounge, give us drink chits at a different bar like they do in other Hilton hotels that do not have an Executive Lounge, or let us take a drink back to our room while waiting. The entire process is ridiculous.

Aside from the Executive Lounge, we would stay here again now that we have low expectations for the service in the lounge. Service throughout the hotel is great and the location to Osaka station is great. And we also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which is a great mix of Western and Japanese food. It's nice to have tater tots and miso soup in the same meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide your constructive feedback, particularly in reference to room quality and breakfast experience.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff you named.
This will no doubt motivate them to provide an even more superior service.
Please accept my apology for having failed to deliver the level of executive lounge service which you had expected from the Hilton Osaka.
We have taken the necessary actions to avoid future repetition.
We value your feedback, which will assist us improving the need of our guests.
Thank you anew, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you, when your travels bring you to Osaka, to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family was in Osaka for 5 days in December 2012, and we enjoyed staying in this hotel very much.
First of all, its location is just perfect! We took the airport shuttle bus from the Kansai airport (50 minutes), and it drop us off across the street from the hotel.
The hotel is itself less than a 5 minute walk to the stations (JR/subway/train), surrounded by many department stores and all kinds of shops.
The staff was very warm and friendly, and extremely helpful with directions and tips to go around the city...
The breakfast was amazing: great selection of western and Japanese cuisine.
There's no free internet in the room. However, there're several computers for guests to use free-at-charge at the business center in the lobby.
We booked a room for 3 people, and the room was a bit cramped with the additional bed. It was not possible to walk around without putting the suitcase in the closet... However, the room was clean, tastefully decorated, and the view of Osaka city and the mountains beyond is simply breathtaking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Osaka at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide your constructive feedback.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed the panoramic city views, breakfast experience and our convenient location opposite the refurbished and extended JR Osaka Station, with a myriad of new department stores and other retail offerings, in addition to the largest underground shopping mall of Japan.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Osaka

Address: 1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0001, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Business Hotel in Osaka
#12 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#18 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Osaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the business and entertainment area, the Hilton Osaka hotel is linked to one of Osaka's largest shopping malls. Admire the views from Windows on the World restaurant or the Executive Lounge. Unwind in the gym, pool or relaxation salon. The hotel is 3 miles from Universal Studios Japan and 1 hour from Kansai airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Hilton International Osaka
Osaka Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.