We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little outdated grand hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little outdated grand hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great way to reach the Nakanoshima station which leads directly to the hotel. The hotel maybe slightly faded but clean. Checking in and checking out was a breeze. The free hotel shuttle bus to Osaka station was excellent, every six minutes! Also, provides one-way free shuttle bus to Universal studio if you register at the reception one day before. The rooms are somewhat spacious by Japanese standard and the beds are comfortable. Was impressed with all the friendly concierge staff who provided us with the assistance we needed, especially, Ms Nakagawa. Overall, no regrets in staying at the grand old lady!

Room Tip: If price is not an issue, choose rooms on superior and deluxe floors which is a higher category than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    527
    171
    37
    14
See reviews for
237
208
173
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a Western style hotel, with a vast lobby and two accommodation wings, each serviced by its own check in counter (and elevator). There are a number of bars, and more than eight restaurants, all rather pricey (some very pricey), but there's a regular shuttle bus to JR Osaka, which is surrounded by many restaurant and entertainment options (including great Osaka okonomiyaki places). The hotel is akin to a slightly faded but still grand old lady, but there is nothing faded about the service. There was a problem with our booking - not the fault of the hotel - and the staff went out of their way to sort it out for us. Every interaction we had with staff was great, and on that basis alone I would recommend the hotel. If you're looking to be in the downtown action this is probably not the place for you, but if you're on business it's an excellent choice (and downtown is only a short ride away anyway!) .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I used to stay at LaForet hotel close to Osaka station and for a bit more yens I found out this hotel is much better, international and location is not too bad.
Rooms are large enough and decoration is nice. Breakfast is very good and there are a lot of shops in the hotel itself. There is a free shuttle to reach Osaka station at 10mn. Too bad that the pool is chargeable but internet is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent hotel with free shuttle bus to JR Osaka Station every six minutes!! Very friendly staff and very good service. We stayed for four days. We like the Seafood Pilaf Rice from the restaurant. Taste good!
.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros:
Excellent service
Spacious room
Beautiful bathroom
Close to one of the best hospitals in Osaka
Quiet
Good breakfast (a nice selection of Japanese/Western)
Affordable

Cons:
Windows remain shut
Accessibility is not great (but fine)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Well located and with a free shuttle bus to and from Osaka Station. The staff are very efficient and helpful, service is excellent. The rooms are somewhat small but comfortable. There are plenty of excellent restaurants in the hotel and two basement floors of shops and The tea lounge is an amazing place just to relax after a day seeing Osaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We only had a 2 night short stay here but the great service began before we even arrived. I had a parcel due to be delivered here as it was my first night in Japan, and the front desk staff were very helpful through email assuring me they would keep it secure for my arrival. My arrival was fairly late in the evening, not arriving at the hotel until just gone 10pm.

The concierge directed me to the next available front desk staff member after a matter of moments, and the check in process was very polite and swift, and after filling in a short form and collecting my room key and my parcel, I was directed to the elevators where we proceeded up to our room. On first impressions the room seemed quite small - but then we remembered we had booked a Semi-Double so I suppose we had received what we had paid for! The room was clean, however was fairly warm. It seemed through our 2 night stay that even with the air conditioning on full it didn't seem to cool down very much.

What I wasn't hugely impressed with was the room service. We had arrived quite late and unfortunately most local eateries were closed, so we decided to order a pizza to share to the room. Unfortunately the pizza was so small it could barely feed one person let alone two, and it cost the best part of 1700 Yen. The drinks were also expensive at 800 Yen for a small soft drink compared to a vending machine just outside the hotel which I later discovered charged only 120 Yen for a 500ml bottle of the same soft drink.

Other than this, it was a pleasant stay. The pre-arrival service was fantastic and both check in and check out was a breeze. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#13 Business Hotel in Osaka
#15 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#16 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 974
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and JAPANiCAN so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.