We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location if hang around in osaka only and very limited airport limousine service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3-3 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good location if hang around in osaka only and very limited airport limousine service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

5 stars services, nice and helpful staff. My room was at higher floor as I requested, east side, facing Shinsaibashi and the view is stunning day or night.

Room size larger than average Japanese hotel. Bathroom a bit worned but clean, comfy long bed. The hotel provide recycled slippers, basic amenities but without cotton, cotton buds and no free bottle water probably because I stayed in standard room?

No wifi but only wired internet in the room, I usually have my travel router with me so it is not a problem. The hotel also provide router upon request.

The hotel is across the road to Daimaru Shinsaibashi North Building, it is connected with the subway Shinsaibashi station at level B2 of the hotel elevator. You can reach many places on foot through the station with many restaurants & shops around.

Location is excellent for hanging around Osaka by subway, or shinsaibashi, namba and nearby, but less preferable to travel by JR, Hankyu line or to Kansai. I travelled from Shijo Kyoto to this hotel and the hankyu line terminal is at Umeda, I have to transit here to take the subway with my suitcase.

I was most unsatisfy with the airport limousine schedule of the hotel, I wonder how can such a 30 storeys hotel with so many visitors got only 3 scheduled airport bus per day? and the schedule is limited and inflexible, 07xx, 1025, 1505, that's it. The most annoy is hotel nikko is the first stop, then the bus would spend at least half an hour to the sheraton miyako hotel where they have hourly departure airport bus, then to the airport. Sheraton Miyako has such frequent hourly departure airport bus why the only 3 buses from Hotel Nikko has to spent half an hour more to goto this hotel to pick up 4 pax then make it spent total 1.5 hrs from hotel nikko to kansai airport?

I used to stay in hotels in umeda whenever I visit Osaka but I chose hotel nikko in Shinsaibashi this time because of its positive comments but it's obviously a wrong decision. Nothing wrong with the hotel itself but mostly the transportation doesn't fit my trip. I often stay in Hotel new hankyu Umeda and their airport bus departs every half an hour and I didn't expect there's only 3 buses per day from hotel nikko. This is the first time I regret I didn't choose hotel new hankyu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    687
    185
    33
    15
See reviews for
262
243
239
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite of the limitation of the staff in speaking English, they are sincerely try to help you with all your needs.

Location is perfect! Walking distance to Namba and 1 minute walk from Shinsaibashi subway.
Airport Bus Limousine just downstairs.

try their breakfast - two options, western on 2nd floor and Japanese on 3rd floor. I tried both - food quality was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel Nikko is situated in Shinsaibashi area, atop a subway station. There is easy access to important traffic hubs such as Namba and Umeda stations.

The hotel itself is an example of Japanese quality with excellent service and well-maintained property. Japanese style, hotel restaurants were on the expensive side as measured with Western four-star scale. The room I stayed displayed Japanese understated quality - immediate highlights were absent, but over time, a lots of small details of quality in detail could be noticed. Hotel room was not large but not terribly cramped either, and provided a comfortable accommodation for my stay. Typical to a dense arrangement of rooms, sound-proofing between rooms was modest.

There were only a couple of things that might have been better: there was no separate concierge desk - instead one had to ask for directions from other members of staff whose expertise in this area varied a bit.

There were signs of soot having come out of the ventilation in the main lobby, but rooms had air cleaning units and I did not experience any breathing difficulties in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are very decent, clean and modern. (They have those great futuristic toilets too.)

Location is right next to the station, and you can access it without even having to go outside, as it's connected in the basement. The hotel is also right next to Shinsaibashi the main town, so it is really convenient.

Internet is limited to LAN Cable, however you can get one of those Wifi Boxes to convert it.

Can't really fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: I wasn't to picky about the rooms, and got a semi-double bed, which was surprisingly large enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you have a chance to return to Osaka we look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Thank you again.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I travel to Japan for business frequently. While finding hotels in Tokyo is pretty easy, Osaka has been challenging since I need: Good access to the subway, good internet, reasonable price, good location overall. The Hotel Nikko meets all of these needs. Nothing too fancy, the room size is typical for Japan. While the internet is wired, if you ask at the desk they will provide a room wireless unit at no charge that allows you to run PCs, smart phones, etc. I have been very happy with the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff (although great service is standard in Japan!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So pleased to choose this hotel. It is a pleasant hotel with good food and very helpful staff. Next to all the shops and going to Umeda is so easy just 2 stops by subway. Too late to book Harvest Hill, strawberry picking. Next time must book in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our Hotel and look forward to your return trip to Osaka.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As per mentioned on the title, very good location for shopping. Over the Shinsaibashi station. Have direct access to the hotel from the subway Midosuji Line.

Citibank Shinsaibashi only five minutes walk. And also Tokyo Mitsubishi UFJ.

The hotel service and the front really nice. Quick response to any inquiries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Address: 1-3-3 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.