We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Osaka to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #5 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 896 Reviews
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Located in Umeda area not far from Hilton. It is a typical classic ritz Carlton

Big room big bathroom with separated toilet , shower and a bath tub

Real luxury on a classic style environment

Nice view of the surroundings especially if you are on the river side


Breakfast has a buffet with a lot of choices from healthy to all the sweets (if you can afford it)

Definitely a good choice as a classic and luxury experiences

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsakaDirectorofRooms, Director of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Thierry M

Thank you for staying with us at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    237
    58
    24
    15
See reviews for
221
279
88
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

A classic design with exellent service. Just what you expect from a ritz hotel. The hotel is located close to osaka stasion which makes it good for a "star trip" in the kansai area. Dont forget to try the pastries they have in thier small store, for very reasonable prices.
As this is a ritz, almost everything is possible. We asked them with prior notice to arrange us a local pilatis instructor so we wont miss our training routine. This request was not a problem for them and they areanged a private trainer for a very reasonble price. Just as we asked. Surely, we will visit again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsakaDirectorofRooms, Director of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Ram_Preiss_Sitton

Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to create a memorable and enjoyable experience for you to remember. All of the Ladies and Gentlemen look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Warmest regards
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It is up to the standards of all the other Ritz-Carlton Hotels I've visited. The service here is excellent, as you'd imagine, but being in Japan, service is even a little better than you would receive in a Western country. The hotel has great views of the city on the higher floors. Compared to some of the other available higher end hotels in the area, this one was the best value. There is no tipping if the staff, but they add a small service charge to make up for it.

This is a great hotel and it is reasonably priced relative to some of the other options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsakaDirectorofRooms, Director of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear SuperSteve_13

Thank you for staying with us at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. We are encouraged to by your kind comments and all of the Ladies and Gentlemen are awaiting your next arrival.

Best regards
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

For a first step in Japan, Ritz Carlton Osaka delivered the promises. An impeccable service from the minute you step in. Unfortunately, I was checked in the wrong room and this created a slight discomfort despite the great recovery efforts by the front office team who came to apologize way too many times. Being there on business, rooms are perfectly appointed and the views are great on the city. The range and quality of outlets is great and selection of items at the bakery is fantastic.
Overall positive experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsakaDirectorofRooms, Director of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Hakunamaatata

Thank you for staying with us at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. We are encouraged to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to providing you with a smooth arrival experience upon your next stay with us.

Best regards
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Loved the fresh flowers, the attentive staff, gorgeous marble bathroom, and the view from our tastefully decorated room was spectacular. The female concierge was the most amazing and helpful individual ever, and spoke perfect English. She was of enormous help to us while we were making our sightseeing plans. The room could have smelled fresher, but because folks do smoke in this hotel, the air just gets contaminated. My one negative comment has to do with our last evening’s visit to the bar on the 5th floor. We had 3 really small and very weak drinks (maybe 4 sips at best/drink--nothing special). We left after 45 min with a $105.00 (US) bar tab. We encountered a cigar-smoking guy who sat close by and who was later approached by a young gal with a micro mini-skirt that was narrower than the eyeliner she had plastered on her face. The piano player could play but not sing. Glad that we missed most of his set. Why the Ritz Carlton needs to slap on a ‘cover’ charge for their guests to have an after-dinner drink is beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsakaDirectorofRooms, Director of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear K.Scooter

Thank you for staying with us at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka and for your kind words for our Concierge. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible genuine care and comfort. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Best regards
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

One of the best hotel I have been staying in. Oustanding services and location!
I made the reservation on-line and got everything I asked. Not only it was an amazing experience but food, room and all related services were of a perfect class.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed with family and booked two rooms.
But have stayed here 3-4 times before.

Hotel could not find me a connecting room.
The check in lady was what I call- professional friendly- artificial smile- but in the end of the day not very helpful in sorting out connecting rooms or even finding room in the same floor. Maybe treatment was sub par because I was using points for free nights.

Hotel itself is a grand dame.
Very fancy- wood panelling in the public areas. Faux European interior. Not my taste but some members of my family thought it was very nice.
Nice views. Clean. Good location very close to JR Osaka station.
Room is very comfortable. Not leading edge but automatic drap control etc.,
Non smoking room did smell of cigarettes.

Great hardware average software and service.
If this was not a Ritz Carlton the hotel would have earned four stars, but being a Ritz the bar is higher.
Next time I would like to try their competitors.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCOsaka, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Koreaninsingapore sama,

Thank you very much for returning to stay with us.
We truly appreciate your comments, which will assist to fine tune our services.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Your sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •Michelin Star awarded restaurant: La Baie •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.