We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Osaka to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0001, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #4 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here after coming from Tokyo where I stayed at the peninsula Ginza.

Check in was ok. Staff were polite as most Japanese people would.

The room were good not spacious but very clean and modern.

The view of Osaka from my room was amazing though. I mean really amazing. Think New York .. Mandarin oriental comes into my mind.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Dean G,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the breath taking views at our hotel as well as your future recommendations. We hope to see you back soon,

Remus Palimaru
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    219
    55
    21
    14
See reviews for
204
268
85
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ok , it's a Ritz Carlton so you pay for and expect five star treatment . But as we all know that is not always the case .However the Ritz in Osaka goes the extra mile to make sure you know you're in a five star hotel and get what you paid for . The numerous staff are at your beck and call to make sure your stay lacks nothing in the way of service . They go beyond the norm to help in all matters .The breakfast is first class and although the Italian restaurant and lounge offer good fare you are spoilt by the amount of restaurants within a short walk outside . The rooms are plenty big and comfy . The lobby is always dominated by great fresh flower displays . Stay here once and I'm sure you will be back if you return to Osaka .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear John N,

Your feedback means a lot to us. I have shared it with our Ladies and Gentlemen, and we look very much forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Remus Palimaru
Executive Assistant Manager,
Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Brought my 10-year-old son on a business trip. First time in Osaka and I needed help to balance my work goals with the safety and entertainment of my son. The concierge staff at the Ritz-Carlton Osaka stepped in and did such a great job that I cannot praise them enough. Three different professionals combined to plan a great tour guide, capable day care and made us feel like we were the only guests staying at the hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet (slow-closing doors prevent slamming and the sound-proofing is very effective). Every question we had for the concierge staff was answered with respect and beyond our expectations. They recommended the right shopping area for us; best restaurants and even got tickets to a concert. They helped us with the subway and train to Kyoto and they were always asking what else they can do to help. Even for a Ritz-Carlton, the service at this hotel stands out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear David L,

I believe we briefly greeted each other, as I saw you at our Concierge desk with your son. I am so pleased to read this wonderful feedback, which I immediately shared with our talented Concierge team.
As we continously see our international guest percentage on the rise, we understand the importance of our team's ability to deliver beyond simple expectations. Your comment means a lot to us. Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Remus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our first visit to the Ritz Carlton Osaka. Well connected to both the rail and subway lines, which are about a 10-15 walk away. Beautiful, classic decor coupled with excellent customer service! The staff are genuinely helpful and super friendly. This is truly the famed Ritz Carlton experience! One could not ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear JLoh22,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We have shared this with our Ladies and Gentlemen.
We hope to see you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I celebrated my 60th birthday at the Ritz Carlton Osaka. What a great choice!! From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. Special desserts, a small gift, and everyone in the entire hotel seemed to wish me happy birthday!! This Ritz-Carlton is a very special place and is tied with Kuala Lumpur as my favorite! The staff is almost all Japanese, but their English is darn near perfect. If there is any drawback at all, it was that the t.v. only had Japanese channels. I was told however, that this will soon change. It didn't really matter to us though, as we spent our time in the club (AWESOME STAFF!!) or out in Osaka. Five stars for this hotel!!

Room Tip: A suite at this hotel is less than a room at other Ritz-Carltons' and is definetly worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear TheBusboy,

Thank you for your kind and thorough feedback of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. We have shared this with our Ladies and Gentlemen. The TV channels selection will be addressed in an upcoming technology upgrade of the hotel. Youf feedback is valuable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Osaka anytime!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in the Ritz-Carlton Osaka for 5 nights from the 20th May 2014. Our room was a Skyview Superior and was on Level 35, one from the top floor. We had a fantastic view across to Osaka Station and the Umeda Sky Building. The view at night was wonderful. Room was very large with a great bathroom (twin vanities) and separate toilet. Big TV and free Wi-Fi and a very comfortable king-size bed. Location is very good, 5-10 minutes walk to Osaka Train Station. Osaka Train Station is not where the Shinkansen (bullet train) arrives – we came from Hiroshima. We were a bit lost when we got off at SHIN-Osaka Station and couldn’t find the hotel. My map app showed it was a taxi trip away. It’s not feasible to walk from Shin-Osaka Station to The Ritz-Carlton. Behind the hotel are restaurants galore. For those homesick for a big thick juicy steak (which we were after 3 weeks in Japan), there is an Outback Steakhouse just around the corner. Hotel is very swish with very well dressed clientele and is popular with well-off Osakians for high-tea. The staff were always friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Overall it is a lovely hotel in a great location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear slyboy54,

Your thorough review means a lot to us. We are delighted to hear the positive feedback, and look very much forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my third and last visit to this hotel and each time it has become more disappointing.

Firstly, when you stay in this hotel it doesn't seem like you're in Japan. The décor is more English than England. Opulent yes, Japanese - definitely not.

Secondly, many of the staff don't appear to be Japanese - especially management. They lack the fine Japanese helpful manner.

Thirdly is the absence of the lovely Japanese hospitality.

Yes, the rooms are spacious and well appointed but there's an air of arrogance about the staff which I've never encountered anywhere in Japan. And then there was the amply manned concierge desk - none of whom knew where a famous national art gallery was. Not all the concierges are like that, some are very competent. The hotel is very popular with American tourist groups and they seem to cater for them. Breakfast was a feeding frenzy - so many people demanding attention - the atmosphere was frantic. It was nice food but we left agitated.

So whilst this once was a sedate 5 star hotel albeit English style, it is now a nondescript place catering for tourist groups in a hurry.

Not for the visitor looking for authentic Japanese hospitality (the Hyatt and Imperial brand supplies this), or an enjoyable stay.

Not recommended unless you're in a hurry or in a tour group.

Room Tip: Get the highest room you can. The views are good but don't expect Japanese hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCOsaka, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Ms. Canberra_Traveller,

Thank you very much for returning to The Ritz-Carlton Osaka and for taking the time to share your comments.
I am sorry for the negative impressions and experience you had.
For sure, we will use your comments to rectify and improve our services and trainings.
In particular for the knowledge of local attractions and in regards to the breakfast operation.
Although the majority of our guests are Japanese, we do have a few foreign managers, as expected in an international luxury hotel.
Over the years, our hotel has held its standing as one of the top luxury hotels in Osaka, and its classic European design and intimate atmosphere is one of the contributors.
I am also happy to recommend our latest hotels in Japan, The Ritz-Carlton Kyoto and The Ritz-Carlton Okinawa, both have Japanese designs, atmosphere and feel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Ritz-Carlton hotels in Japan.
Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 530-0001, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •Michelin Star awarded restaurant: La Baie •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.