We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“proficient english will make it perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Osaka to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“proficient english will make it perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

i stayed with my friend back this january. the hotel is close to osaka station (about 5-10 minutes walk) and limousine bus (herbis osaka stop), which is very convinient if you travel on foot

the room itself is very clean and big enough for you to walk around arranging your luggages. toilet is very clean as well. the bed is comfortable and big enough that it can fit two lean people

the only setback i had during my stayed is that front desk personnel understand simple english and i had to actually ask the help of my japanese friend to translate to them about putting my crab in the freezer because front desk did not understand my explanation. otherwise everything would be perfect

nevertheless, service is marvelous. the hotel put my frozen crabs in their freezer until the morning i asked for them to be delivered to my room for me to take back home. and when you asked to be delivered at 6:30am, means 6:30am on time (to my surprise) and i really appreciate the perfect timing

i would come back to stay whenever i'm in osaka :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    261
    66
    28
    17
See reviews for
246
311
94
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you're looking for a great (actually a perfect) hotel in Osaka, this one is for you, amazing room, great food (taste the patisserie), very refined service and convenient location, but if you want to feel in Japan you might feel little bit lost here, a bit of local taste more would have added a lot to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel has the old ritz carton country club decor, but the rooms are spacious and very clean. The location near the train station is excellent. Service is great. They did a great job arranging tours, restaurant reservations and transport. Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed over the New Year Holiday & pleasantly surprised on the following. What makes an hotel stay memorable? For me, a clean, service oriented stay that can inform, assist each guest to where, what, they want, etc. On these counts Ritz Carlton Osaka succeeded!

The concierge was excellent!! Each step of the way, they checked with me on things I wanted to get, eat, do... now, that is premium service! For me, the concierge is key to any hotel experience and I worked with them well in advance, with many things & each one gave me all the info, assistance I could ask for, so many thanks to Shoko-san & Momoko-san! Exceptional!

I've been to many R.Carlton's and this one's most definitely lived up to the old-school traditional decor of R.C. classic. The welcome drink was a classic gesture- especially considering it's the holidays. The greeting from Front-desk, Asst. Front Desk Manager was very nice- set the tone for the welcome. Also, both Momoko and Shoko also came to say "hello" how welcoming we felt- home-away-from-home. Impressed us greatly.

The room is one of the most spacious in Japan, besides maybe the Park Hyatt in Tokyo- it's really large- which is rare in Japan. I enjoyed the double sinks as convenient for couple and spacious bathroom.

We were so fortunate, as everything went smoothly and warm hospitable service that R.C. is known for. Also, we were so impressed with the hotel arranging special event for New Year for guests to enjoy! They had a lion dance, traditional sake breaking, and other festivities---this made the trip so memorable! This is something that I crave on a trip to experience traditions only that can be seen in Osaka Ritz Carlton! That was wonderful!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use other restaurants, etc. at hotel because of our short stay- but we hope to next time.

Thank you to R.C. Osaka for such a memorable experience! Your efforts made all the difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Osaka for 3 nights mid December. Arriving late at night, we took the Airport Limousine Bus no. 5 from Kansai Airport, which dropped us in front of Herbis Osaka a short 40 minutes later. Locating the hotel courtesy phone upon alighting the bus, a transfer car was sent to us within 5 minutes.

The lobby of the Ritz Carlton is beautiful, classy and extremely elegant. Check in was easy and efficient, 10 minutes later we were ensconced in our high floor room which overlooked the Umeda train station. The room was large by Japan standards, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and shower had good water pressure. Separate sinks was an added bonus. Bed was extremely comfortable and afforded a very good nights' sleep. Amenities provided included Nespresso coffee machine and selection of capsules, water kettle and selection of tea bags. Bottles of water were provided daily, and replenished at turn down. Room was quiet despite full occupancy, we were given our request for a room away from the elevators.

Location wise, it's a stones throw from the Osaka/Umeda train stations. Extremely convenient to get around. There is a direct connection from the hotel to the underground passageway which leads directly to the Stations, where eateries, restaurants and shopping options fairly boggle the mind. For that reason, there was no necessity and hence did not have breakfast at the hotel.

Service was indeed top notch, in particular the concierge. I was in constant communication with the concierge weeks before our arrival, arranging for restaurant bookings and bookings for various activities in Osaka, including a visit to the Yamasaki distillery. Emails were answered within the hour, and always with very useful alternatives or options. Reservations for popular restaurants were made effortlessly. Upon our arrival at the hotel, the concierge had an envelope with all confirmed bookings and relevant information, ready and waiting for us.

The professionalism and service standards of the Ritz Carlton clearly shines through and provided us with a smooth and trouble-free visit to Osaka. We will return when our travels take us to Osaka again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Osaka in October, paid for a club level suite, the views were incredible, but that's where everything ends... so, let's start with a few things.

Failure #1. I'm in the hotel business, so when I arrived I gave my card to the front desk and also asked for the contact information for the General Manager, and asked the front desk to have him/her contact me. I think when spending a lot of money per night you should be able to communicate with a General Manager directly, and when you ask for them to contact you, they should contact you. This isn't a large hotel by any means, let's keep that in mind.

Failures number 2 through number 25. This hotel is DIRTY. Where do I begin?
* The carpeting is clean in the middle of the rooms, but the edges are so disgustingly dirty and unsanitary that they're black. This is an indication that the foam pad underneath the carpet in the entire room is also very dirty, and probably has black mold growing in it.
* There's a tissue box next to the bed - this is an absolutely unacceptable place for a tissue box in a hotel - men usually like this because they can reach over (I won't say why). The tissue box had two different bodily fluids on it... and was never cleaned the three nights/four days that we were in the room.
* I always check glassware, and rarely use it. Being in the business, I know that housekeepers usually clean the tub/shower, then the toilet, then the sink, then the counters and glassware. Even if they use different brushes, they never change their gloves. However, this was more shameful and disgusting. There was lipstick residue still on two of the water glasses, showing that they were barely cleaned, perhaps only rinsed out. So, I went around the room and used my own lip balm and put a pearl-sized dot under every glass, every coffee cup, every tea cup, on the "on" button for the remote control for the TV, on the "on" button for the phone, and on the pen. Not once were these pearl-size pieces of lip balm discovered or cleaned. This should be a violation of local sanitation laws, and is disrespectful to my health.
* There was hair in my shower... not just one small hair but three hairs from 10cm to 20cm in length. I left them in place, and they were never removed from the shower over three nights and four days of our stay at the hotel.
* Service however was excellent... especially with the club level access. However, the food on the club level does not even come close to meeting expectations. Some seems like it came from a 7-Eleven, and some looks very beautiful, but I really expected a lot more, especially since this is Japan. The seating on the club level needs to be reconfigured... there are windows with fantastic views, but they're blocked by large tables with only 4 seats. I would place a lot of small 2-seat tables near the windows and the larger tables away from the windows. This would result in more people feeling happy because they get to enjoy the view. The people who need 4 seats probably keep themselves occupied with conversation with 4 people instead of looking at the view.

I continued to ask for the General Manager, and for the 3 nights and 4 days that we were at the Ritz Carlton Osaka, was never provided with his/her contact information, and was never contacted by him/her. Not once. For Japan, this is incredibly disrespectful and shameful. While our room was "cleaned" and turned down twice per day, not once did the dirty items get cleaned. Not the blood or semen on the tissue box by the bed. Not the telephone. Not the remote control. Not the glassware. Not the hair in the shower. And I wasn't once rude about it... I was asking in a polite manner, very friendly.

The first thing about service with a very, very expensive hotel room in a small hotel is that you should be able to contact the General Manager to get problems resolved. Two months later, I have not been contacted... and have sent several emails to the hotel. However, when staying in a hotel run by a giant corporation, they make it impossible to directly contact someone. Impossible. On the hotel's website, you should have direct contact information for important staff members.

So, I ended up disputing only half of my charges... I know I used the hotel room, so I thought I'd dispute half the charges as this would be appropriate compensation for my experience. When I disputed half of the charges, and gave my reasoning, I still never received contact from the hotel, but the hotel fought my dispute, and won, so I ended up paying for 100% of my charges.

It will now be interesting to see how the hotel responds to this review... will they finally take a moment out of their day to address this review? If they do, this will be an indication that they're more interested in maintaining their image so that they can make money than actually taking care of a guest during - and after - their visit.

I understand that not everything can be perfect all the time, but we are talking about sanitation and health in this situation. With sanitation and health, everything should be perfect and should be corrected immediately. I should never have to point out hair, blood, semen, or unwashed glasses that I put my lips and mouth on, or phones, or remote controls.

I rarely give anyone a 1-star review for anything - but this was just a combination of a lack of concern or respect for my health - and a lack of communication when I probably asked to communicate with the General Manager three to four times per day during my stay. That is unacceptable, it is disrespectful to me, and very shameful. When spending this much money, everything should be perfect.

Room Tip: Inspect your room very carefully for cleanliness. All of the rooms have a great view. Don't sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Osaka, it's easy to reach it fr kansai, just take bus 5 to herbis Osaka and call them to pick you up from the tel at the bus stop, otherwise it's only a short walk to the hotel, room is spacious and well appointed, service is good, staff is responsive to queries and requests, a good place to stay in Osaka. Location is good, only a short distance from Osaka station.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •Michelin Star awarded restaurant: La Baie •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.