We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Osaka to your Saves list
The Westin Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-20 Oyodonaka, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 531-0076, Japan (Osaka Station / Umeda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before moving to St Regis hotel. It is placed right next to the floating garden building so you could tick that off the list . The hotel is located near central osaka station , the offer a free shuttle service to and from the train station . This is quite convenient given that osaka is a main train line for the JR ( handy if you had one of the many JR passes ). Rooms neat and tidy and like all places in Japan everyone delivered top notch service. Definitely recommend for a stay .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last vist to Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.
We are more than happy to hear about your overall satisfaction for our hotel.

We would try to improve our service and facilities consecutively then, your continued patronage would be very much appreciated.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the Westin Osaka again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    260
    91
    21
    12
See reviews for
158
143
69
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed for a business trip. You have to request wifi router at concierge if you want to use wifi in your room. Otherwise you have to go to the lobby for wifi connection. The hotel provide free shuttle bus to Osaka Station every 20 minutes that makes this hotel very convenience for guests. I hope for the next stay, hotel will provide free wifi acces in room without requesting for wifi router.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last visit to Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.
Regarding to the WiFi service, we are actually working on this matter and would start providing the WiFi service from the middle of July so, you could enjoy it when you would stay next time.

Thank you again for your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the Westin Osaka again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was in Osaka for work trip. For a Starwood hotel, it was quite a shock when I learned that their Internet service in rooms was down during the period when I was staying with them. They did not offer wifi in rooms but there was complimentary wifi at the hotel lobby.

The room was spacious. And the rate was reasonable. It was more affordable than some of the hotels which are closer to Osaka station and these hotels have smaller rooms - closet size. However, it is quite a walk from Westin to the station. It took me a 20 minutes walk to get to the station... and it was a hassle when I had dragged my luggage from hotel to get to station to get the train to the Kansai airport. There were flights of steps so it could be a bit of a haul up the steps.

On a whole, I guess the hotel does not really live up to the brand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last visit to Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.

We are now working on to equip WiFi in the guest rooms and the service would start from the middle of July.
We would apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your last stay.

Other than WiFi, we would try to improve our service and facilities consecutively then, your continued patronage to the Westin Osaka would be highly appreciated.

Thank you again for your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the Westin Osaka again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed at this property with a friend visiting from Germany. It was at the end of a 3 week stay for him we wanted a night on the town to remember and a great place to relax before his flight the next day. The Westin came through in shining colors. The spacious rooms adorned modern decor, a comfortable king sized bed and a spacious bathroom with the usual amenities and then some. We were on the 28th floor I believe. If you get the room just for the view, its a win-win situation. Check in was smooth, everything worked as expected in a 5 star hotel and the whole experience was memorable right down to the English newspaper. At just under $200 a night, it was a bit steeper than what I am used to, but well worth it for the special situation. Great for a couple wanting to get away for a night or two. You might consider checking their website though I booked through booking.com and got a sweet deal. One of the very cool things about this property... well two things. Airport limo picks up right at the hotel (though with limited service times) and there is a shuttle from the hotel to Umeda station that is FREE. This was very useful for us because my friend took the train to the airport. Awesome at so many levels. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last vist to Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.
We are more than happy to hear about your overall satisfaction.

We would try to improve our service and facilities consectively then, your continued patronage would be very much appreciated.

Thank you again and we are looking foward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the
Westin Osaka again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Close to Osaka station. Also, free shuttle bus to station is available, every 15 minutes.
Room is wide enough for comfortable stay but free WIFI is only available in lobby.
( Need to improve ) Staff are very friendly and accomodative.

Room Tip: I stayed in 4F and room is wide enough but could not control A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your staying at the Westin Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.

We are more than happy to hear about your overall satisfaction.
We would try to improve our service and facilities consecutively then, your continued patronage to the Westin Osaka would be highly appreciated.

Thank you again and we are lookng forwad to welcoming you back to the Westin Osaka again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have always preferred to stay in a hotel nearer to the JR Osaka station in previous trips to Osaka. However, I decided to stay in Westin Osaka this time because I wanted to try it out. To my surprise, contrary to what I thought, it was not too far from the Umeda area as it was linked by an underpass to the main shopping areas. Also, there was a free shuttle bus from the hotel to JR Osaka every 15-20 minutes so you could opt not to walk if you have too much luggage.

From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were greeted with excellent service. Check-in was swift and the staff who showed us to our room, Mr Yoshimoto, exhibited patience in explaining the room and services available to us. I must compliment Mr Yoshimoto in his exemplary service.

The rooms were huge by Japanese standards. The toilets were equally spacious and definitely something you would find in a standard Japanese hotel. Surprisingly, the rate for the room (I booked via the SPG website) was quite reasonable for such a big room.

We had breakfast in the hotel lobby restaurant and it had a wide selection of food, ranging from Western to Japanese. The concierge was also very obliging in helping us to book a restaurant.

My only complaint is that wifi is only free in the lobby, but not the room. However, this is probably standard in most, if not all, Westin hotels.

Overall, I was very impressed with the hotel, especially the service and the room. I will definitely recommend this hotel and come back again when I visit Osaka in the future.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room facing Osaka JR station. The night view from the room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last vist to Osaka.

Also, thank you for your valuable comment.
We are more than happy to hear about your overall satisfaction.

We would try to improve our service and facility consecutively then, your continued patronage would be very much appreciated.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the
Westin Osaka again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Comfy hotel overall. The building looks clean and new. Always happy with their heavenly bed. With shuttle bus is convenient to go anywhere. Just walk through the hotel to the famous okonomiyaki (japanese savoury noodle pancake).
Love the Osaka castle sightseeing. With hawker food along the street leaving the castle

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view but Osaka view is quite flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, Manager at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your choosing the Westin Osaka for your last visit to Osaka.

We are more than happy to hear about your overall satisfaction.
We would try to improve our service and facilities consecutively then, your continued patronage would be highly appreciated.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Osaka and the Westin Osaka again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Osaka

Address: 1-1-20 Oyodonaka, Kita-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 531-0076, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#15 Family Hotel in Osaka
#15 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#25 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Osaka Hotel Osaka
Westin Osaka
Osaka Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.