We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service and good location hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Nankai Osaka to your Saves list
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 269 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Macao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good service and good location hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel has excellent location, you can travel from here to anywhere you want, arround this hotel , many restaurants , shopping mall and can go directly to 戎橋筋, 心齋橋, 黑門巿場。 Very great for family travel to Osaka.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to learn that our service as well as hotel location were suitable for your stay and that you enjoyed your time in Osaka.
Please be assured that we will continuously make our best efforts for further guests' satisfaction.
Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    732
    131
    55
    26
See reviews for
810
555
129
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel is very well presented with helpful and polite staff. Best bit is the location - above Nankai Namba station with great shops and top-end department store below. Just around the corner from Dotombori (best place in Osaka for foodies) and Shinseibashi (best for shopping). The quality of the hotel decor and facilities is great.
Nankai Namba is an excellent location if you are going to Koyasan - we caught a train from here to Koyasan for an overnight stay. We left excess luggage at the hotel and picked up the next day on our way back before heading off to Kyoto. It was very nice of the hotel to keep our luggage an extra night after we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and writing such a positive feedback on Trip Advisor.
Along with our hotel location, we are pleased to read that our hotel facilities and décor were able to meet your preference and needs.
Also we are glad to know that our service to keep your luggage after checkout was able to keep your travel convenient.
Since guests' comfort is very important to us, we will keep striving for further enhancement in both service and products.
Once again, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Location: in the heart of Osaka with the main shopping district on the doorstep and endless choices of restaurants. Easy access to the rest of the city with a metro station located beneath the hotel.
Service: professional and friendly service from check-in to check-out. All staff seemed to speak very good English.
Room: we had an upgraded room on a high floor with access to the club lounge. The room was a good size with 2 large beds although the bathroom was quite small. The room was clean and well maintained but quite dated in style, particularly the bathroom. The view across the Osaka skyline from our room was great. We used the club lounge for breakfast and for evening drinks and snacks. The lounge would sometimes be busy during breakfast but we never had a problem getting a table or having to queue for food. The choice was good with a range of Japanese, European and American breakfast items.
Restaurants / bar: we had dinner in the sports bar and the Teppanyaki restaurant. Both were good but obviously very different. The sports bar had the usual American sports bar food and beers and very good value. The food in the Teppanyaki restaurant was simply amazing - we tried the wagyu steak which was quite unforgettable (but so was the price).

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading room for access to higher floors and club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and writing such an exquisite review on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to read that you had a positive impression on our hotel after experiencing our services, the guest room and restaurants.
As for the room, please kindly be informed that we have just renovated twelve Junior Suite rooms and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in these upgraded facilities.

In order to provide our valuable guests with unforgettable experience, we will keep our best efforts for enhancing guests' satisfaction at our hotel.
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the Receptionist to the Restaurant Manager, everyone gave their best service to us. We love staying in our suite room with the full access to the hotel's facilities. All day snacks available at Executive Club Lounge, champagne and wine anytime you want. Highly recommended to stay here in you plan to stay in Osaka. My 4days stayed has been wonderful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and writing such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to learn that you found the service from our team members excellent and that you had a pleasant staying experience at our hotel.
We sincerely hope you had a relaxing time at our Executive Club Lounge with all snacks and beverage offerings.
Please rest assured that we will continuously strive for enhancement of guests' satisfaction in many ways.
We greatly appreciate your excellent feedback and sincerely look forward to serving you for another pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

good place to stay in Osaka.
we've stayed in a Japanese suite with 2 kids and 2 adults - there was a deal hotel was running where you'd have access to the pool & spa and business centre with afternoon and morning snacks if staying in the Japanese suite.
this was great for all as we've had to stay in Osaka for an extra day due to the flights being cancelled from typhoon so could take advantage of all the facilities.
staff have been very helpful with good English and we've taken their advice on places to eat outside of the hotel which were very good suggestions.
located in a convenient central place with good connections everywhere.
highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting such an excellent feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to read that our hotel facilities as well as our services were able to meet your needs and you had a pleasant staying experience at our hotel.
Since guests' comfort is very important to us, we will indeed keep on making our best efforts for further enhancement in guests' experience.
Thank you very much once again for your outstanding feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We made the right choice for choosing this hotel as part of our anniversary experience. It was a grand hotel stationed just above Namba station, one of a major station hub in Osaka. Easy access from the airport as the trains stop exactly at this station. The only mishaps was we requested a king bed but we got a room with twin bed. Lucky for us, we got a room with wonderful view of Osaka. Apart from that, other details put up by the staff was amazing. We love the macaroons as welcome gift and the room breakfast was delicious as well. Overall, a lovely anniversary experience in Osaka. Will choose this hotel if we went to Osaka again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms means you have a nicer view of the beautiful Osaka city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and sharing your pleasant staying experience on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to learn that you had a positive impression on our team members for their service provided and our "macaron" celebration for your anniversary was satisfactory to you.
On the other hand, we feel sorry about not being able to honor your bed preference this time and will certainly take an extra care of room assignment for your next stay.
Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am hilton gold member for more than 6 years and of course i wanted to book my room on hilton osaka but the hotel was not available at that time so i found swissotel. This hotel has everything that i wanted. it looks like whole package for me. Location, services, conditions of it's quality to breakky. Amazing hotel i found on my trip to Japan. Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and writing such an excellent review on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to read that you became satisfied with our services, offerings and qualities and that you had a pleasant staying experience at our hotel.
As guests' satisfaction is always our top priority, please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels and will continue striving for further improvements.
We greatly appreciate your amazing feedback and sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#8 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#2 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Vista Grande Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Nankai Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.