We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Nankai Osaka to your Saves list
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASONAL SAVER - 20% OFF
Ranked #4 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is perfect as mentioned in other review, and remember, they can assist your luggage to arrive directly at the PLATFORM when you are planning to leave for airport, just raise the request and they will arrange the luggage for you.

However, however, however, I encountered 2 issues that ruin my holiday:

1.) We stayed for 7 days 6 nights, and our room has changed at least 7 door cards. Keep in mind that the cards are kept properly in our bags, with the paper envelop provided by them, and no mobile phone is turned on in one of our bag. Having stayed in many hotels worldwide, that is the first time I encountered such frequent failure of door cards. Instead of just keeping on apologizing, wonder why don't they plan to check our lock of the door after my request of card change for the 3rd time?

2.) I have sent them email regarding if I can order a cake (which need to keep refrigerated) directly to the hotel way before my stay, the email was replied only after I sent message to their Facebook page to remind them on the email. On the first night of arrival, they said (including an assistant manager and one staff) they have checked and no cake under my name is noted, however, when I checked for the delivery record online, it should have been arrived. The following night I asked the bell captain (using exactly the same wording as in previous night), and she helped to DISCOVER the cake in their fridge.

Hmmm, though countless verbal apologies are received during my stay( may be that means a lot to Japanese, but not to me sadly), this is not the first time I visit Osaka, provided there are so many nice and comfortable hotels with similar price and standard around, I doubt if I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation. We are committed to providing our guests with the most pleasant stay through the highest quality of services and products. Therefore, we sincerely regret that we were not able to do so during your stay at our hotel. Your experiences are certainly not the result from many efforts that our Team Members are making daily to serve our guests with "our Passion for Perfection" and our engagement in providing a positive memorable experience to our valuable guests. We will surely reinforce the trainings of our employees in order to provide our guests with an efficient, attentive and helpful service at all times.

We sincerely apologize to you for any disappointment and inconvenience caused. We do hope that should your travels bring you back to Osaka, you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the service you would expect from our hotel and let us another chance to regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    563
    104
    37
    18
See reviews for
530
430
111
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm conflicted about this hotel. The location is great, central to transport, close to the Dotenbori, and right on top of the Nankai train to KIX. The staff is very helpful, especially the concierge desk. The rooms are very comfortable: ours was on the 30th floor, non-smoking with a nice view. However, there is no relaxing bar to take a drink and take in the view (only a non-hospitable looking Sports Bar on the 10th floor). The top floor, which has a great view, is occupied by a Italian-style restaurant. There is a bar there, but it requires reservations which were not available during our visit. The lobby floor (on the 6th floor of the building) is a bit of a zoo. This was perhaps due to the holiday (Halloween!) weekend and the fact that the lobby was set up for what looked like a big wedding.

To me, this accentuates the point that in Osaka, you need to reserve everything in advance, particularly if you want to go to one of the many excellent restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are very pleased to read that you found our services very helpful and that the room you stayed and our convenient location provided a comfortable stay.
As for your feedback regarding the bar, we have the Swiss Executive Club Lounge where we complimentarily serve alcohols from 17:30 until 19:30 in a quieter environment. The access to the Swiss Executive Club lounge is provided for guests who stay at Executive rooms and Suite rooms. Please kindly consider these room types for your next stay to enhance your staying satisfaction. Thank you very much once again for your valuable feedback and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was a solid stay. Service everywhere in Japan is amazing, and this hotel didn't disappoint. The location has direct access to Namba station, which is huge. You can walk underground all the way to Dotonbori, which will take about 10 minutes. There are express trains directly from KIX airport to the Namba station which is super convenient if arriving or departing from KIX.

Room Tip: Choose a city view room, that has a view of the Namba park. Very pretty at night time, when they lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing positive review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that our services and convenient location made your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We would like to express our great appreciation once again for your comment and we are indeed looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Helpful and warm service provided by the hotel team. The facility upkeep should be improved ( eg. Proper function of the sanitary fitment). Also, other common services (eg. free wifi, etc) and value added services should be provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you think services from our hotel team members are helpful and warm.
In addition, we have taken note of your highlight regarding our internet service. Please kindly be advised that we offer various room categories; all our Swiss Advantage, Executive and Suite rooms have internet included in the room rate and our guests can enjoy the complimentary Wireless Access in the entire hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay and we will make sure to recommend you a room type including a complimentary Wi-Fi high speed internet access. Thank you very much once again for your valuable comment and we are hoping to welcome you in a not too distant future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything is easily accessible from the hotel-food, shopping, train station,tourist attractions. All the staff are so helpful and kind. Room is spacious and clean. The nespresso machine is a big plus!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are happy to hear that you found our team members helpful and kind. Since guest satisfaction is always our priority, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you think our hotel is the best place to stay in Osaka. Thank you very much once again for your kind comment and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain/Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel on the 23rd floor.

Best bit was the room itself which was modern, spacious and clean. The location is also brilliant!

Currently a 9/10!

To be a 10, I think the breakfast could be improved by offering more variety,perhaps more hot dishes, not necessarily of the typical breakfast type. Many hotels these days have noodle, curry, hot vegetable dishes in their breakfast buffet. It also took quite a bit of time to be seated.

Also, I think they could be a bit more generous with towels in the room. We had one each, but if you take a shower in the evening before you go out and want to take a shower when you get back, your towel is still very damp. Lastly, it would have been nice to have a greater selection of teabags (maybe offer some chamomile or caffeine free ones).

Although, I have mentioned these points, I do just want to say that this hotel is top notch, and I would stay here again if we ever come back to Osaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that the room you stayed and our convenient location provided you with an almost perfect stay. Also, we have taken notes of your highlights regarding room products and breakfast offerings. Your feedback was immediately shared with our management for future reference. Thank you very much once again and we are hoping you will have a chance to visit Osaka soon again so we can welcome you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The doors opened and ...wow! in the foyer were the guest washroom and the large cloakroom. The executive suite is a pleasant welcome to my trip here. It came with ample lighting in each and every part of the suite. The suite offers the large unobstructed view of the southeastern part of the city from the 2 large windows in the living and dining rooms on the 34th floor. These two rooms were happily wedded to each other letting you relax watching TV or having food bought from the Takashimaya department store directly underneath the hotel. Having a get-together with buddies in the early evening and enjoying the view is an absolute delight.

The bedroom had 2 double beds giving us the best sleep, and with a large bathroom and vanity area on the side. The separate shower stall (from the jacuzzi) was the one I used and the complimentary amenities were standard. the cloakroom next to the vanity stored the clothes and had a safe deposit box fitting my MacBookAir, which is so cool. On quieter nights I could work on my Mac while taking a break watching TV on an adjustable platform - the same in the bedroom! If I should pick on the suite, I would say more channels could be available (more Japanese channels) compared with those in other hotels. The breakfast in the Executive Lounge was a welcome mix of western and Japanese cuisines.

SImply put, pay more for the extra comfort...it's like returning home.

Room Tip: the executive suite ...if you need extra space for meeting friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and sharing with us your kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that our hotel facilities and the room you stayed provided you with a pleasant staying experience. Also, we appreciate your highlight regarding our TV channel selections and please feel assured that it has been shared with our management for our future reference. Once again, your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Nankai Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.