We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, cozy bed, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Nankai Osaka to your Saves list
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai
1 review
“Clean room, cozy bed, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, just above Nankai Rapid express to Kansai airport. Please take escalator from their lobby to Nankai express (2 level down). Bed is big (king size) considering you are in Japan. 5 minutes walk to Shinsaibashi or Dotonbori.
Subway just located on underground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind comment and that you have chosen Swissôtel Nankai as your hotel in Osaka. We are very happy to read, that you like our rooms with the cozy king size bed and hopefully you will be able to visit Japan and Swissôtel Nankai Osaka again in the hopefully not to distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    643
    118
    51
    20
See reviews for
653
491
121
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stay in the hotel for 2 nights during my birthday, really a big surprise from the hotel. Informed my birthday before arrival, and they upgraded my room to a much bigger one with wonderful scenery, and also have nice sweets and birthday card for me, that really give me a memorable trip this time! Staff are really nice & helpful, and they are good in English so that is welcome to non Japanese speaker like us. Would be my first choice if I need to stay in Osaka Next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and celebrating your birthday with us. We are very happy to hear, that you had a memorable stay with us and very much looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you have the opportunity visiting Osaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only stayed here one night, arriving late and leaving the next morning for Kyoto. We chose this hotel because of our late arrival time, and it is directly above the express train station. So all we had to do was exit the platform and go up the escalators into the hotel. However, the hotel has an air of calm and comfort. The service is definitely 5 star. The rooms are well decorated and quiet, except for the air-con, but the bathroom is smallish. It does have a seperate area for the vanity sink and mirror though, which compensates for the small bath area. We didn't hear any train noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai during your one night trip to Osaka. We are pleased to hear, that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you like our rooms as well our convenient location. Hopefully next time you will have more time to explore Osaka and will stay with Swissôtel Nankai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family of five have just returned from out holiday in Japan. We booked two rooms and stayed for six nights at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka. The rooms and service provided were of a high standard. We would highly recommend this hotel if visting Osaka. The hotel is well located to transport, shops and restaurants. Thank you to the staff for contributing to an enjoyable and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your wonderful review and that you have chosen Swissôtel Nankai as your home away from home in Osaka. We are very happy to hear, that you and your family had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us and that you like our services provided by our colleagues with Passion for Perfection. Hopefully you can return to Osaka one day again and we can provide you again with a memorable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We slept in a renovated room with a view on the Namba park on the 29th floor. Room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean, but for me it wasn't a 5 star bathroom. I slept in a lot 5 star hotels and I hadn't a 5 star feeling. Location is great, next to the station. Namba is a great district! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while visiting Osaka and we appreciate your kind review very much. We are happy to hear, that you like our newly renovated Swiss Advantage rooms and have taken note of your comment, that you don’t feel that our bathroom are not having a 5* feeling. Due to the building structure, we were unfortunately not able to make the bathroom bigger or add marble or any other luxury items. Thank you very much that you would like to stay with Swissôtel Nankai again and we are looking forward to your next visit to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Konmg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked via hotel.com. Out of my expectation, it is very easy to locate, clear signage. The service is efficient. Staff ate devoted, maybe it is the usual attitude of Japanese. I would highly recommend other to stay in Swissotel when one is coming to Osaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai during your visit in Osaka and very highly appreciate your review as well that you highly recommend our hotel to other travelers. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to returning to Osaka soon again and that we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room wasn't big (i stayed at advance room...i suppose) but it was adequate for two adults and clean and neat. location was the best; right next to the nankai airport express train and surrounded with department store and shopping malls, also less than ten minute walk to dotonbori.
I'll definitely choose Swissotel for my next trip to Osaka.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review and that you have chosen to stay with Swissôtel Nankai while visiting Osaka. We are happy to hear that you like our newly renovated Swiss Advantage room and looking very much forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you visit Osaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-60 Namba 5-chome, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Splendia, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Nankai Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.