We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Otani Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Otani Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel New Otani Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Polite and helpful staff
Room was large, immaculately cleaned every morning and the bed was very comfortable
The hotel is located in a quiet area and is only a 5 Minute walk to the nearest JR station
Breakfast was great as you have a choice of a western or Japanese breakfast.
Great View of Osaka Castle

Note that if you are a fitness junkie like me you can run around Osaka castle as their is a great trail there where the locals also run :p

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel New Otani Osaka.

I am glad to know that you were so pleased with you stay. Your positive comments regarding our service and facilities encourage our staff to always keep the comfort and satisfaction of our guests as our highest priority.

Yes, it is located in a convenient area! I am also glad to know you enjoyed the running around Osaka Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel New Otani Osaka again in the future.

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    254
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
185
146
75
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What about 40 min to checkin when you are the only 1 in queue ?
What about being charged USD 50 per person to use swimming pool, but it closes 6 PM in Summer ?
What about your son being blocked to use indoor pool since he is not 18 ?
What about pay extra to get a Castle View and have to swing over the window to see 5% of it ?

This is just an idea about the type of hotel you will get.

For me does not deserve ratings. Will not stay here anymore nor recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, Manager at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Hotel New Otani Osaka.

We were very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay and apologise for inconveniences caused when you checked in. We regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the view of Osaka Castle from the room.

The closing time of swimming pool has been set at 6PM for safety reasons as well as due to the opening time of The Terrace poolside restaurant. As for the indoor swimming pool in the Fitness Club, there are some special days for the center to be opened for children, in particular, on some dates during holiday seasons, but normally, entrance is not permitted to those below 18 years of age.

Once again, we are sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one. Thank you for taking time to communicate your ideas. We will keep them in mind in our continuous efforts to improve our hotel and our service.

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed one night at the New Otani on my way to Osaka airport. I got in fairly late and left before breakfast but the service from arrival to leaving was of the highest order. Situated in a haven of green in Osaka, I will certainly be returning the next time business leads me to Osaka.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel New Otani Osaka.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us even the time was short! We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again. For the next time, please take some time to relax at the hotel.

Management, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've been away from Japan for too long and this is the place every time I return to Osaka for my business. Many of those travelled to Japan found out that room is clean and tidy, shower always has hot water and good pressure, but room is way too small!

You don't have to worry about this if you choose to stay here. Room is large enough and so the bathroom is!

Lobby is also large and you will never struggle in communicating in English.
Also breakfast is perfect!

Only small cons is a bit far off from the city centre, but sitting just next to Osaka Castle!


Cheers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka and for taking time to leave the review on the site.

We are pleased to know that you choose to stay with us every time you return to Osaka! Also, I would like to thank you for recommending the size of our rooms, our communication in English and our breakfast buffet.

You might feel the location is a bit outside of the city center, but we are delighted that you enjoy our location beside Osaka Castle. We will continue our efforts to improve our property and service in order to live up to your recommendation to others.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again!

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A nice hotel in Osaka, about 2800 yen taxi ride from the main train station. Service is as would be expected in an upper tier Japanese hotel - quick check in and check out, prompt room service, great attention to details.

The hotel is very clean and quiet, rooms are nicely sized, my only concern (and it is only a concern, not the end of the world) is that the décor in the rooms is a bit dated. It feels a bit 1980's Euro with pinkish tiles and a stand-up shower tub and the desk only has one electrical outlet.

Despite the room décor, I would definitely stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka and also for taking time to fill the comment here.

Please know that we value your opinions and are in agreement with you regarding the decor in the rooms. Since it is not possible to redo all the rooms at once, you may be glad to know that we have been gradually redecorating the rooms for some time now. As the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, we are grateful for your suggestions especially about the bathrooms and will keep them in mind in our continuous efforts for improving our property.

We thank you again and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel New Otani upon your next visit to Osaka.

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Everything was handled very smoothly and professionally. Spacious rooms and great view(esp. at night). Fantastic location for those who would like to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Really quiet and serene. A bit out of town, but Osaka Koh-Jo-en station is only 3 minutes' walk. Breakfast was not very impressive, but ok. Overall, very recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel New Otani Osaka and for taking time to fill out the comment of recommendation.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our rooms, castle view and service during your stay and appreciate your mentioning our quiet, relaxing location and easy access around utilizing the trains.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel New Otani Osaka again!

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for four days. The hotel is situated in a quite area, and nice surrounding. If you are a type of person that prefer relaxing atmosphere rather than entertainment, than this is the place. The services were great, the staffs were helpful and always ready to be at your service.
A little problem though, on our 3rd day, when we found out that our room has not been cleaned after we got back from the city around 1.30 pm. I guess they haven't reach our room yet as they go on their rounds, but still I think they should do it earlier. They managed to clean the room an hour after that. Other than that, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, Manager at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka and for taking time to leave the review on the trip advisor site.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and gratified to hear your kind words regarding our facilities and service.

Regarding the cleaning of your room, please accept our apologies that your room was not cleaned when you came back from the city on that day. I am sorry that you were thus inconvenienced and do appreciate your indulgence for that miss.

We do hope that we can welcome you again to our hotel the next time you are in Osaka.

Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Otani Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Osaka

Address: 1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#14 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tips for your enjoyable stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka!>>>Enjoy Osaka Castle views *Remember to reserve a castle view guaranteed room!>>>A morning stroll or jog around Osaka Castle Park.>>>Easy access to popular entertainment! ***Universal Studios Japan at the JR Universal City Station (22min)***Abeno Harukasu, Japan's tallest skyscraper (15 min.)***The Floating Garden Observatory, the Umeda Sky Building (approx. 20 Min.)***Kaiyukan Aquarium(40 min.)***Osaka Station(10min.) ***Shinsaibashi Station(10min.) ***Kyoto, Nara and Kobe(approx.30Min.)>>>Do not forget to take some time and relax in your comfortable room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel New Otani Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Osaka
Osaka New Otani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Otani Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.