We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Otani Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Otani Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel New Otani Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 604 Reviews
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much more than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel as somewhere cheap and close to a subway station. When we walked in I almost had a feeling of being under dressed, not that the staff seemed to notice. The room was large and not just by Japanese standards, I have stayed in much smaller rooms elsewhere.
The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful and even booked a restaurant for its in Tokyo which was our next stop.
The bathroom was functional with a shower over the bath tub.
Great bed.
Good views from the room overlooking osaka castle were nice.
The only minor criticism of this hotel is the price of food and drinks, there are plenty of options within a 2 minute walk, however we would like to have had a reasonably priced option in the hotel.
I will be looking to stay here again when next in Osaka.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    234
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
168
133
70
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last May. We got a coach from Osaka airport directly to the hotel (I think it cost around £10). The hotel is very smart, and the staff very helpful- I forgot to post some postcards and left them with them and they posted them for me. We stayed in a suit overlooking the castle, and it was luxury. It is only a few minutes walk from the train station and the castle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located between JR Osaka Castle Park station and subway Osaka Business Park station, just 5 minutes walk in each direction. The rooms are spacious by any standard. I booked a castle view room but could only see the castle at an angle. Most staffs speak very good English and very friendly. The concierge is particularly helpful and attentive. The Business Park is just across the road and parked with different kinds of restaurants making meals not a problem at all. Therefore, we did not try outlets in the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are already good enough although deluxe rooms are just a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkeys Knob, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have just returned home from our Christmas and New Year break. Due to the length of trip home we broke it up by staying in the New Osani Hotel in Osaka. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with the warmest welcome we could possibly wish for. By joining the hotels free club earlier, we were able to access our room on arrival, which made a huge difference after a long haul flight.
The room, overlooking the castle, was exactly what we expected. We had welcoming teas and ciffees brought to our room. After refeshing ourselves from the flight we went into town via the nearby underground rail system, which the hotel staff were only to happy to help us with.At night time we enjoyed the views of the castle lit up against the sky.
The breakfast the next morning was amazing. We chose the full buffet, which included Japanese, as well as, western foods to choose from. Be as adventurous as possible with the Japanese food as it was all fantastic.
Our flight wasn't till later in the evening, so we arranged at check in for a late check out. No extra charge, as members. We checked out at 3am and were greeted with the sane level of professionalism, as we were shown on check in.
My only piece of advice I would like to grant my fellow travellers would be to book the limo service provided by the hotel, as this will take away the hassle of getting there by train with heavy suitcases. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is a bit remote from the city center close to Osaka castle. But a subway station and the train is near.

Very big hotel, many rooms. Room size is like American or European Standard. Quite exceptional in Japan, where hotel rooms are normally too small.
Bathroom also big and nice.

Breakfast is incredible. A big western buffet and an Asian buffet. Enough space inside- no waiting lines.

Restaurants are very good but expensive.
Same as the bars. Very good view from the rooftop bar down on the city.

Hotel price can be negotiated.
Good Service. Internet by LAN and WLAN in the room - free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice trip in this hôtel.
Good location close to the Osaka castel and 2 subway stations.
The room and most generaly the hôtel is perfectly clean and well equiped.
The service is faultless and gave us precious informations concerning all the sites we have visited.
Concerning the room, only the bathroom could be a little bit modernised compared with the rest of the room and the hotel wich are beautifull.
Finaly, if you are looking for a confortable place from where you will appreciate a real traditional japanese style, this hôtel is the good one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A perfect example of discrete Japanese hospitality. Impeccable yet still with variety. Almost opposite Osaka Castle, it offers easy access to the overland metro as well.
Seamless welcome, and spacious rooms.
The upper restaurants offered Tepan, traditional and a sublime French restaurant, amongst others. Excellent shabu-shabu, but at ¥35,000 for two it should have been.
Another evening we tried the French restaurant which was extremely good too, but at ¥45,000 with only a modest wine, it's for the corporate client rather than tourist.
However, a quick train ride takes one into the heart of Osaka and gives access to fabulous, reasonably priced restaurants. Try Dotonbori. Just out of all European reality it's one eatery after another. And shops open until late at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Otani Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Osaka

Address: 1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#12 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tips for your enjoyable stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka!>>>Enjoy Osaka Castle views *Remember to reserve a castle view guaranteed room!>>>A morning stroll or jog around Osaka Castle Park.>>>Easy access to popular entertainment! ***Universal Studios Japan at the JR Universal City Station (22min)***Abeno Harukasu, Japan's tallest skyscraper (15 min.)***The Floating Garden Observatory, the Umeda Sky Building (approx. 20 Min.)***Kaiyukan Aquarium(40 min.)***Osaka Station(10min.) ***Shinsaibashi Station(10min.) ***Kyoto, Nara and Kobe(approx.30Min.)>>>Do not forget to take some time and relax in your comfortable room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New Otani Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Osaka
Osaka New Otani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Otani Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.