We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hostels with Japanese hospitality and rooms are rare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Tennoji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Tennoji to your Saves list
Guesthouse Tennoji
9-18 Kitakawahoricho Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0053, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 75 Specialty lodging in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 18 Reviews
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable hostels with Japanese hospitality and rooms are rare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hostel to come home to. It's close to the station, yet in a quiet neighborhood. The owner and his assistant were super nice - just the right blend of engagement versus letting the guests be.

Japanese-style accommodations are so much more relaxing than the bunk bed dorms. It's hard to get a Japanese experience (with tatami that still has that new-tatami smell) at a hostel for a low price. This was it.

I wouldn't recommend staying here if your intent is to booze and party at the hostel. I'm sure there are plenty of other generic hostels for that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had the best time at this little guest house. I stayed here for 9 nights and it really felt like home. The staff is great, the place is clean and cozy and it has everything you need (good laundry machines, hairdryers, modern air conditioning, free wi-fi and public computers, etc) The location is also great...in the center of Osaka, two stations away from Namba, but still in a quiet corner if you like to sleep until late morning.
The owner was great, super nice and talkative...even gave me a little present before I left :D
I definitely reccomend this guest house if you want to have a great time in Osaka!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrible night at this guesthouse. First, we booked a 4-bed mixed dorm but when we arrived the host gave us the 6-bed dorm and said it was his mistake and the room was ours only.

Then on our second night around 9 pm. he asked angrily if another 2 guests could stay in our room.
We were so stunned then he said that we only paid for 4 beds so the other two beds were his rights.

So we decided to check out at the moment. He paid the refund and said to us 'Get out now'

Such a horrible stay! No way I would come back here again ever!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great little place that's very reasonably priced. We stayed for just a night, but really liked the service and facility. If you've gotta catch an early morning flight or want a quiet, peaceful place to stay in Osaka, go here!

Good:
- Traditional Japanese rooms (tatami mats, futon, sliding doors)
- Owner was super nice and spoke great English
- Cheap for the quality and location (I've easily paid double for a cramped capsule hotel deeper in the city)
- Great heater that kept us cozy instead of freezing
- Kitchen area where you can cook and store some food
- Decent WiFi and public computer
- No curfew

"Bad":
- We had to walk through another room whenever we wanted to leave our own room. This was only bad because we woke up early for a flight, and had to sneak past the people in the adjacent room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Tennoji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Tennoji

Address: 9-18 Kitakawahoricho Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2011! Guesthouse Tennoji is located in the central of osaka. Here is the perfect place to discover the real Osaka,which you can feel an intimate atmosphere of local shops and people. Here you can enjoy a warm welcome,friendly service and comfort!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Tennoji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Tennoji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.