We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Osaka to your Saves list
The St. Regis Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Service is unprecedented! A true 6 star hotel.
Quality of amenities, butler's service, everything.
Location is just right and above Hommachi subway.
Amenities in room, air conditioning, shower quality, pillow, mattress, all best. Would no doubt stay here again when in Osaka.

Room Tip: Don't need one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear LDLDLD,

We are truly appreciate your kind comment regarding your last stay at the St. Regis Osaka.
More than anything, we are happy that we are able to support your precious family trip.
Please come visit us again on your next visit in Osaka. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    155
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
158
249
60
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not having any idea on Osaka, we just causally picked the St Regis which happened to be in one of the best locations. First we took the airport bus to downtown and then switched to taxi to the hotel for only about 1000 yen. The room they gave us was big - walk in closet and two washing basins. Breakfast was included in our rate which was good. Drinks were a bit expensive in the lounge. Hotel location is great close to the shopping area all within walking distance. What we loved was the three storey golf shop opposite to the hotel. Hotel is above a subway station and needless to say one can go anywhere from there. Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Edward H,

Thank you for sparing your precious to post on Tripadvisor regarding your last at The St. Regis Osaka.
We are glad that you chose us for your trip in Osaka. Our hotel, as you mentioned in your kind comment, is conveniently located, very close to subway station, next to Midosuji street, main street in Osaka, and walking distance to the shopping area. We are pleased to hear that we were able to be a part of your trip. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in Osaka.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

What can we say, but this is one classy and luxurious hotel. We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer than our three nights - although our wallets would not have agreed.

The staff were very helpful from the moment we arrived to the time we left - a bonus was that they spoke really good English.

We loved our room - it was big with a northern city view. The shower was excellent, especially the extra four jet spray and the toiletries were of the highest quality. The walk in wardrobe was also a nice touch.

Breakfast offered two choices - Japanese or buffet/continental. The continental spread was very good but some of the food was a little lukewarm by the time we got to it. The coffee was excellent.

We didn't use the butler service and in hindsight it would have been good for the butler to hook in with us on a daily basis rather than wait for us to contact them. Our loss I guess.

We had a few drinks in the bar but we mostly ate each night around Dotonbori where there are so many choices.

There is no pool so if this is a requirement you will need to look elsewhere.

The hotel is a 15 minute undercover walk from the main area of Shinsaibashi, Dotonbori and Amerika-Mura or one train stop away if you wanted to catch public transport.

We actually used the train quite a bit as Hommachi is quite a good hub to get to key sites. Daily tickets were Y800 and ticket machines had an English button which made it easy. You can also buy single tickets, the easiest thing to do is look at the station of where you are going on the map above the ticket machines and the fare you have to pay.

This is one of the best hotels in the world and we can see why it's rated number one in Osaka. If you are visiting Osaka you must stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear chunkyoz ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka.It is much appreciated.

We are indeed receiving excellent comments about how convenient your now preferred hotel in Osaka is located. The team are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay and that you were able to enjoy the hotel and Osaka.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The St Regis Osaka is without any doubt the best hotel in Osaka. The location is really convenient, at the crossing of two metro lines. The room was very spatious, comfortable, gorgeous and offered a breath taking view on the concrete jungle of downtown Osaka. The personnel was extremely attentive and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a 5 star hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Osaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Anhangabau,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last at The St. Regis Osaka. We are truly honored and delighted to receive your comment.

In order to keep being your best hotel in Osaka, all the team members will be aiming higher as one team, to exceed your expectation.

Thank you again for your kind comment, and we all are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St. Regis Osaka.


Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very good location. You will see St Regis Osaka once you get to Exit 7 of Honmachi Metro Station.

Very helpful concierge. Check-in is on 12/F. Very efficient. Late check-out request accepted although i haven’t earned any SPG elite status yet at that time. The lobby looks grand and luxurious, with a stylish garden nearby. Our room is on 20/F, overlooking Shinsaibashi and Tennoji areas - spectacular view! Recommended to stay inside the room to watch the sunset. After entering the room, within several minutes, the butler offered us summer drinks and snacks. We come from HK - the hotel nicely arranged for a butler who come from HK and is able to speak Cantonese to introduce the in-room amenities and services to us.

One of the best rooms I’ve ever stayed in - whether in terms of design or cleanliness. Very spacious and luxurious. Very large and comfortable St Regis Bed, much better than Heavenly and Sweet Sleeper. All buttons are on the electronic panel located near the bed. Bathroom very spacious too. Double washing basins. 5 shower heads - very nice shower. REMEDE toiletries provided, but they contain mint oils. After the staff learnt that I am allergic to mint oils, they promptly gave me another set of toiletries which do not contain mint oils - from TSUBAKI and SOTHYS - both are very nice!

Breakfast at Rue d’or. The breakfast experience was marvellous. Good selections of pastries, salads and fruits at the buffet tables. One egg item from a la carte for each person. Egg benedict is very delicious. Staff offered me a discount of 40% off the breakfast cost if i bought the breakfast coupon at check-in - highly recommended to try if at 2,600 yen per head! Alternatively, you can have breakfast at the cafe area outside Rue d’or - they serve a much less expensive breakfast set at 800-900 yen for a (pre-packed) sandwich and a hot drink.

Excellent services everywhere inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Get high floor & Tennoji-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear ACPY12345,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last stay here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is such a pleasure for us to receive detailed comments regarding our location, facilities and service.

We are very glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hubby and I were there for 2 nights. I did have high expectations after reading other reviews on the hotel on Tripadvisor. Overall, St. Regis lived up on my expectation but didn't surpass it.
The day of arrival: we arrived early in the morning. I know the room won't be ready for check in until 3pm so requested to borrow the bath room or spa to freshen up. Concierge pointed me to the bathroom on 12F. There is nothing wrong with it. However, I had similar situations in other 5 star hotels where they would point me to their gym/spa with shower facility. We then left our luggages with hotel and went out.
Check in: staff is very friendly. When we went back to the hotel to check in, we were told the luggages are already delivered to our room. That's very sweet. We changed to one bed room from a twin bed room at check-in. That requires the luggage to be delivered to our new room and that took an hour! Separately, when I requested to accumulate points to my SPG card at check in, the first answer is that since the booking was under my hubby's name, I can't claim points. Then she looked into this further and gave me the right answer, as the trip was under an airline package, it's not eligible for SPG points. I am OK with the answer but was not impressed with the first answer she gave me without looking into the details. After we get into our room, the butler came to introduce the room facilities and sent us welcome drink. That was nice.
Room: Room is spacious and comfortable. Most impressed by the large size bath room with two sinks.
Breakfast: By far the best buffet breakfast I have ever had, the delicacy, variety... You can even choose to have a Japanese style breakfast.
Location: It's right next to a major shopping arcade in Osaka and close to major train stations
Gym: Small, with some basic equipment. Never been to other hotels in Japan. So not sure whether this is big by Japanese standard.
TV channels: There are only one or two english channels!! Guess you are not supposed to stay in hotel room and watch TV when you are at Osaka. The treadmill in gym has no English channel. Yeah, you should really focus on your training, do not watch TV.

Don't get me wrong if you think the tone of this review isn't positive. Overall, this is one of the best hotels I have ever been. Just want to highlight some areas that were not covered by previous reviews. I will check into St. Regis again when I next visit Osaka. In fact, I can't think of a better choice.

One tip to other travellers: Taxi drivers in Japan do not speak English (or the English English)! We took the Rapid line from Kansai Airport to Namba station then took a taxi to St. Regis. We had problem telling the driver where we want to go. It's only when I called the St. Regis reception and passed the phone to the taxi driver (the 3rd one we approached), we finally got into the taxi. I tried to show the previous two drivers the hotel website, the english address. All failed... So the first thing after we reached St. Regis is to ask the Concierge for a brochure with hotel address in Japanese.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Scenic_27,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment and advice posted on Tripadvisor, following your last at The St. Regis Osaka, it is much apprecaited.

The team are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the hotel and Osaka such as breakfast and rooms.
And we take all feedbacks very seriously to ensure and prevent shortcomings like this in the future because we can only improve and learn by responding to constructive feedbacks such as yours.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guest and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We have just stayed there for 6 nights and wish we could stay longer. This hotel is perfect all the way!

Location:
-It's located right on top of Hommachi subway station (Misudoji Line).
-It's located on the commercial end of Shin sai Bashi (which is a long street which stretches for miles which brings you to Namba station). This famous street is just to the right of the hotel.There's so much to see along the way, you wouldn't notice that it's a long walk
!
-Midosuji line is a very popular and a line which gives you access to all major areas. Hotel sits on the best subway line!

Transportation to hotel:
-If you catch a train from the airport, it will bring you directly to Namba station. You can then change to the subway line easily.
-Alternatively, you can catch the Airport Limousine bus (bus 11) from the arrival hall of KIX terminal and it will bring you to OCAT (Osaka City Airport Terminal) in around 50mins subject to traffic for a small fee per adult and children are free. Once you are at OCAT, you can hop on a taxi (or subway) if you have lots of luggages and the hotel is just 5mins ride away. Fare wise, it's pretty much the same as the airport limo fare.

Hotel Services:
-Lobby is on the 12th floor and rooms starts from the 13th floor up.
-A pure luxurious hotel. They don't have a grand lobby but it doesn't matter. The current setup is very warm and welcoming.
-The rooms are just oversized! Lots of space to run around for the little one. Hard to find in hotels in Japan. We had stayed in shoe box sized rooms in Japan so the size at St Regis is just great!
-It's good to see hotel pays special attention to details. They have a kid's size slippers in the room for my son on arrival.
-The views from the 2x floor were just fantastic! The big windows give you a spectacular views overlooking the city skyline.
-Love the little walk in closet!

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. It's location is a real plus as there many shops and small eateries just around the hotel. The only small negative I have would be:
-Not a great selection of TV channels (mainly all Japanses channels). This hotel may be a business hotel but I saw quite a few families with little children, so a cartoon channel would be great.
-The electronic blinds and sheer are great. However, the gap which the track leaves behind making lights able to seep through making the room not fully light blocked out. Sun rises at 5am during summer so it's quite annoying if you try to sleep in.

Well done to the entire team and keep up with the excellent work. Look out.....I'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay for a better room if you can as it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisOsaka0726, 広報担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Agape10,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last at The St. Regis Osaka.
We are delighted to read that you and your family had a lovely stay. Thank you also for your recommendation which is much appreciated.

And we take all feedbacks very seriously to ensure and prevent shortcomingsin the future.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you and your family visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.