We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed this hotel ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Osaka to your Saves list
The St. Regis Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed this hotel ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's hard to find any faults at all with the St. Regis Osaka, and really I only have one quibble (which I'll mention later). We stayed here for 3 nights recently and it is easily among the nicest hotels I've every visited, including a half dozen ridiculously overpriced 5-star establishments in Central London where I've stayed on business. Everything about this hotel is absolutely top quality, from the furniture, bedding, in-room control systems, lobby, Zen garden in outside the lobby, and yes even the service, though some other reviewers seem to have had issues in that regard. Our experience with the service was fantastic although there is some truth to the complaints of language-barrier issues, but that seems only to be certain staff. Most were well fluent enough in English that we had no problems.

The location is wonderful as well - just above a subway station as has been noted, and very easy to find. It's also at the north-end of a pretty vibrant arcade shopping area, which gets more and more vibrant the further south you go. It ends in the Namba area (or maybe goes further?), which is full of restaurants and pubs and a fun place to wander around at night.

The one issue which really bothered me was no free wifi in the lobby or bar area; that smacks to me of pure greed. It's bad enough that high-end hotels charge for internet access when 95% of 2- and 3-star hotels offer it free as an enticement, but I understand somewhat the motiviation since a large percentage of the clientele at a top-end hotel is likely business travellers for whom the added expense isn't an issue. But as a holiday traveller who just wants to check email once a day or maybe search for a restaurant or pub, not offering free wifi in public areas is a big dis-incentive for me, even moreso when I know how little it would cost the hotel. This is a policy the St. Regis would do well to change.

One more note, to management if you happen to respond: can you please Please PLEASE tell me the brand name of the pillows? I absolutely LOVED them and forgot to sneak a peek at the tags before we left. Even if they're a Japanese brand, I loved them so much I'd be willing to try to purchase them from overseas! Feel free to send me a private message if that's more appropriate than posting it. I would be very appreciative either way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear p_sf

Thank you very much for your wonderful review that posted on Trip Advisor.

It's a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and it is thanks to your positive comment that we are able to maintain and further improve on our product as well as service standards.

We would like to inform you that we are offering free WIFII at our cafe 'Le Rue D'Or" located at first floor of the hotel and open from 6.30 am untill 10.00 pm, and please accept our apologies if our team didn’t inform you.

In closing, I will contact you directly regarding our St Regis Pillow and thank you for choosing The St. Regis Osaka. We hope that we will see you again in the near future!

With best regards,

Giuseppe Fornillo Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    155
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
158
249
60
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The ST REgis is a nice refuge in the busy city of Osaka. It is on the 12th floor and has limitted access whcih makes it nice and quiet.

Only ate breakfast here and it was very nice. Service was good, though I think the butlers are not well versed on the good retaurants in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear mdbasile
Greetings from The St. Regis Osaka.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience on your recent stay with us.

It is really pleasing and motivating for us to receive such compliment from our valued guests and we are glad that you are satisfied with almost every effort that we make here at The St. Regis Osaka

We will share your comment with our Chief Butler, regarding a better preparationwith complete list of trustful restaurants to reccomend


We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The St. Regis Osaka and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards,

Giuseppe Fornillo Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love the size of the rooms and the excellent service. A little out of the way from major shopping spots but Osaka is highly accessible by the subway system. In fact we walked up and down Shinsaibashi and even all the way to Takashimaya in Namba. With all the kobe beef that we've been eating, I would say it's a good way to burn up all the calories. I can't thank the concierge enough for recommending a local restaurant specializing in A5 beef called WAGYUURYOURIKANAME (Kaname for short, and please refer to my review on the restaurant on what best to order) which is about 8 minutes walk from the hotel.
This hotel is not cheap by any standards but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear littlesycogirl

Warmest greetings from The St. Regis Osaka

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us

Your compliments are highly appreciated. It's always a great pleasure reading a positive review from our valuable guest such as yours, especially your comment to our concierge /butler team and their reccomandation of one of best beef restaurant

On the behalf of the team, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the near future.

With Best Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so my wife and I have stayed in some nice hotels but this one is our new #1 hotel experience ever!

Yes, it is expensive, Yes, it is a long way from home but Yes we will stay here anytime we are in Osaka! Wow! From the moment you pull up to the cookies and refreshments on arrival In your room, to the elegance of even walking the halls. Wow! Lighting is perfect, ambiance is amazing and then there is the room! Wow! We had a city view on the 26th floor. Holy cow it was amazing. We walk in and the automatic curtains open revealing the city below... The lights adjust to the ideal setting for the room automatically. Everything is run from a console at the bed. Wow!

Form and function in the bathroom was amazing. If you've been to Japan you know the Toto toilets are nice but heated seats, shower heads everywhere and the biggest fluffy towels and robes I've ever had. All we can say is Wow!

Don't miss this once in a lifetime experience if you are ever in Osaka!

I would have rated it a 7 out of 5 if it would have let me.

Wow!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jeremy R

I really appreciate the time you took to write a review of your recent stay here at St Regis Osaka. We sincerely value all comments and we are grateful to be your # 1 hotel ever.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our, facilities and services. Your feedback is definitely an important aspect in our self assessment as it helps us to know that we are providing the best services to our guests, the most important aspect of our operation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Osaka .

With Kind Regards,
Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East of England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed one night on an SPG award, while transferring between two cities. Very good impression from the start, and it is worth saying that, unlike some other top hotels, both check-in and check-out were friendly and efficient. The room was impeccable and comfortable, with enough space for in-room dining. Spacious, top of the range bathroom and amenities. The room offers a "butler service", not that we have used it that much, but it's certainly convenient when you want to make sure to have a table at the (small, but very good) bar. The hotel is non-smoking, there are smoking spaces in the zen garden outside the bar.
The only lowlight is arranging travel to the Airport: there is no direct coach/limo connection (which is almost standard in Tokyo) so you're off to a combination of taxi and train. But staff were a bit confused (and, as a consequence, potentially confusing) and seemed to be unaware that there are domestic flights from KIX as well, almost recommending us the wrong airport. There is definitely room for improvement there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear MC

Greetings from The St. Regis Osaka.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We also appreciate your comments in regards our concierge and sharing your experience with the team we concur that definitely there is room for improvement .

In closing, may I thank you, once again, and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to St Regis Osaka in the future

Giuseppe Fornillo Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1000 Islands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 10 nights during a business trip while also enjoying the many sights of Japan. We decided to stay in one hotel as our base camp and do day trips exploring other areas. Most of our travel experience has been for vacation and not very much business travel. This hotel is geared for professional business travel as you would expect in a large city such as Osaka, but at the same time we still found the staff very friendly and helpful. We did not find a language barrier as some other reviewers, especially compared to other places we visited. Service is "white-glove" all the way and we were very impressed with the Japanese culture. Everywhere we went we found high levels of service, and staff extremely well mannered and respectful. So refreshing although we Canadians must seem rather barbaric in comparison! You get the picture.

The rooms are clean and quite spacious, especially the bathroom. If you need anything there is a butler available at all times. There is a well stocked mini-bar but a little pricey. We picked up items at the market store 2 blocks away. TV was great and we had free wireless because of our extended stay package. The restaurants in the hotel looked very nice but we did not try them. There are lots or restaurants nearby with so many amazing and unique foods to try. Also a huge shopping district that has everything from pastry shops to designer labels. The coffee is amazing and there are quite a few coffee shops to choose from. It was interesting to find egg salad sandwiches in the coffee shops, so comforting if you're missing food from home!

This hotel is very well situated to many sights, including the Osaka Castle, canals and rose garden, etc. Subway is right at the corner and travel by subway, bus or train takes you everywhere you want to go. Do your homework or ask for help as the network of subway/train lines can be confusing, especially with limited english. Also some of the stations (Osaka) have huge underground shopping malls which are a maze to navigate. This was one of our best adventures and likened the experience to "Amazing Race"!

We researched many hotels in the area and read all of the reviews which we found most helpful and must say that this was the best choice for location, service and overall value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear 1000 Islands

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Regis Osaka
I appreciate the time that you have taken to write a review about our Hotel and the city of Osaka and hope that this will be useful for future guests

An important part of our self-assessment in knowing we are providing the best services to our guests is from receiving feedback.

The entire team and I looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at St Regis Osaka in the near future

With Kind Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis Osaka property first using points for four days and returned again for three days after a visit to Hiroshima.

First of all, everyone was very welcoming and wanted to be very helpful. For Americans more accustomed to leaving and returning to a hotel each day without being noticed, this was a bit awkward at first but we eventually grew accustomed to this unique aspect of Japanese service. We are casual travelers and felt at "home" even though we didn't necessarily match some of the other business travelers and might typically stay at other SPG properties such as the Westin. That said, the St. Regis is in a great location between Umeda and Nanba whether on foot or along the subway. We felt the hotel was a perfect base as we explored Osaka and the Kansai area.

Our room was very comfortable with a fantastic closet to keep all of our stuff put away and a even better bathroom. After we returned to the St Regis after a few days away, we both were ready to return!

The hotel offers a brunch each morning and although it isn't quite as expansive as options in Europe or North America, we recommend it highly since it offers a solid start to a long day of exploring Japan.

I read all of the reviews on TripAdvisor and we side with all of the "excellent" votes - definitely a place we would return to without hesitation as the hotel offered extensive value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Kaimada

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Regis Osaka .
I appreciate the time that you have taken to write a review on trip Advisor and hope that this will be useful for future guests.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at your home away from home in Osaka .
With Warm Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#1 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.