We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Osaka to your Saves list
The St. Regis Osaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
South London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great rooms, location and staff - although not all have a understanding of English.
Service was amazing, and down to the smallest details everything was perfect.
Bonus of smoking rooms still avail, and lovely views from the panoramic windows.
Really really recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    155
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
158
249
60
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'm not sure I've ever stayed in such a well-located hotel. It's right above a subway station (even has its own exit), and on multiple lines that take you right to the city's top sites. It's within walking distance of high-end shopping on Mido-suji and the amazing Shinsaibashi food & shopping arcade, as well as the dining and nightlife of Dotonbori on the riverfront. We'd also considered the Ritz-Carlton, but having now seen their comparative locations I'm so happy we went with the St. Regis. In the room, the multi-head shower was fabulous, as was the walk-in closet. Major props to the front desk staff, which did everything from making restaurant reservations for us to giving my husband cold medicine when he was ill and the drug stores hadn't opened yet. Just a few minor gripes: $24 for internet is silly, and having to switch elevators at the 12th floor is kind of a pain. Otherwise a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I'm not much of St. Regis guy in general as I think i'm probably more of a W or La Meridien guy, but this St. Regis was really spot on. The room was excellent and service was exemplary. I'd say my only qualm was that I wish I could have stayed more than 2 nights.

Definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The St. Regis is a beautiful property in a good location with very nice rooms. The challenge here is one of communication: the butlers don't speak very good English, the TV channels are not available in English and the lack of a dedicated concierge means you're on your own a bit in terms of local help.

Our room, on a high floor with a great view of Osaka, was a technological marvel. But it was also very pretty and we greatly enjoyed being in the space and utilizing the luxurious bathroom and unique amenities in the room (including a comfortable chaise and a Nespresso coffee machine).

We had reservations at one restaurant and tried to change them to another night to ensure we could try both on-site restaurants during our stay. Despite the presence of a butler at the other end of the phone line, changing the reservation became a two-day effort. Once we finally secured reservations, we found both restaurants to be delicious and the service (particularly in the ground floor French cafe) was very good.

This is a very good hotel, and it certainly looks like a luxurious property befitting the St. Regis name, but the service and language challenges keep it from being a top choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We found the general look of the hotel and the room to be excellent. Stayed only one night so I can't say too much about the overall service.

However I can say that they need some serious improvements on their room service menu and food quality, as well as their entertainment system.

There are about 15 items total on the room service menu, appetizers, soups, main, desert combined. So not much to choose from. I can't imagine what it would be like to have to stay at the hotel for business for a week, come to your hotel tired looking for some good food in your room and ending up with this menu. The food we ate was not very good either. Panini and breads seemed to be microwaved or re-heated, and the food was mediocre at best. Certainly not what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

The tv seemed to have maybe 10 channels non-paid, all in Japanese, with no English news channels. I don't expect HBO, but they could at least have CNN or BBC. Maybe they were there and I somehow missed them.

I am still giving a 4 star, because this is a new, nicely built hotel with excellent rooms. Very comfortable with a nice view of Osaka. I hope they improve and make it a better location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in Osaka for 3 nights, and this hotel was the highlight of the trip, exceeding our expectations in every way. The St. Regis Osaka is a spectacular property, in a great location in Osaka. The room was well-sized, the bathroom luxurious, and the butler service outstanding.

The hotel is expensive, but worth every yen. One nice touch was unexpected - we were there during the annular solar eclipse on May 21. A group of various guests gathered early in the morning on the 12th floor terrace to watch the eclipse, and a hotel staffer took it upon himself to bring everyone coffee and tea. Totally unasked for, totally unexpected, but very much appreciated.

If you can swing the cost, I highly recommend this hotel, and I will definitely be returning there the next time I'm in Osaka.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good location that you can go across the street to have a cup of Starbucks and the Family Mart in front of the hotel. Really nice staffs; they will greet you every time they see you and offer help nicely. So polite compare every hotel I have visited. Breakfast is fabulous with good quality with good service. The hotel located up stairs of the subway, go anyway you like easily. I visited twice and I would love to go again if I go Osaka. The grand deluxe room was nice with spacious with elegance feeling. Nice lobby!!

Room Tip: Grand deluxe room with high floor good enough for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0053, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Osaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.