We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Warming Ramen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinryuramen

Kinryuramen
Dotonbori, Chuoku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6211-6202
Improve this listing
Ranked #462 of 8,728 Restaurants in Osaka
3.5 of 5 stars 51 Reviews
Price range: $7 - $8
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simple Warming Ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Kinryu serves a very simple ramen.It's not your typical tonkotsu or shoyu but a light broth. We still really enjoyed it because we shared it together at 10:30pm after 2hours of shopping along shinsaibashi suji. It was also the start of winter which is perfect ramen weather. I liked that they didn't provide spoons so you had to pick up the bowl and slurp away. Really warms you up! We visited the Kinryu that only had outdoor seating so we enjoyed watching al the tourists walk about through the streets of Dotonbori. To find it: they have 3 locations. Giant green dragon symbol, often near a crab restaurant. This particular one was a few doors down from Mizuno

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
642 reviews 642 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Bad ramen...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Kinryuramen is a chain in Osaka. I was enticed because of the huge dragon structure protruding from its stand. The ramen is cheap... but alas, it really sucks...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Iconic but average ramen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As a ramen fan, I had to try Kinryu ramen, this ultra-famous ramen restaurant easily recognizable by its large dragon sign. The most famous restaurant of this chain is probably this one in Dotomburi, where you can eat on raised tatami platforms. Choice is reduced to the essentials: tonkotsu ramen, with or without added chashu. You can add toppings such as garlic or kimchi (the place’s owner is of Korean descent). Well, the broth was thin and not unpleasant, but lacking the rich, savory taste of authentic Hakata-places (ramen experts will tell you it’s closer to champon or Chinese ramen, and the lightness of the broth is supposed to compensate for the richness of the kimchi you're supposed to add; not convinced). Noodles were a bit too soft to my taste, and chashu so unremarkable that I cannot even remember eating it. So all in all, although I think that you have to try it once as it epitomizes Osakan spirit of cheap food in one of its busiest street, I would not go back there unless there was no other better choice around (they are open 24 hours).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Order through a ticket machine (only 2 type - chasu ramen & normal ramen with lesser chasu). My brother and I try both. Give the ticket to staff, they will arrange you seat (by giving number if the shop is full). The service is very fast, quite a big bowl of ramen and we're ready to walk. There are few branches in Namba alone. You can find it by looking at its signature green dragon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Must eat in Osaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very basic shop, have several branches, some have seating tables while other are counter tops. We were initially put off by the very basic set up where you have to buy a ticket from a vending machine and stand and eat, nevertheless absolutely worth it. The best ramen we have eaten, the broth is superb as are the noodles. There are 3 large communal bowls of Kimchi, Green Onion and Garlic that you can add to your noodles. Absolutely fantastic, we went back three times thereafter. A must eat in Osaka.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinryuramen also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Kinryuramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinryuramen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.