We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and filling meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ippudo

Ippudo
Kakudacho, Kitaku, Osaka 530-0017, Osaka Prefecture
+81 6-6363-3777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 15,911 Restaurants in Osaka
Price range: $7 - $8
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty and filling meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Despite relatively small place, our waiting queue was moving fast. It was my first Japanese Ramen. Initially I was not impresses by the pictures and amount of fat in it; however, I quite enjoyed it (not to mention my other half who loved it!). Gyoza was awesome, the best I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent quality for a low price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This gem is located just north of the Dotonobori. It is a very small Ramen house by western standards, as it seats around 15 people max. The burnt miso Ramen is heavenly but not as spicy as their house ramen. The noodles are a plentiful in the bowl and they are thin in diameter so they are not gummy at all. Ippudo offers lots of toppings on your table so you can customize your heat and flavors. Excpect to pay 30 dollars per couple with a a bowl and a beer each. We ate at quite a few other ramen houses across Japan and this was our fave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ippudo Umeda Locals can't go wrong with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having Checked in I asked the local hotel staff where is a good place to eat noodles.
I made it all the way to the HEP 5 store the one with the whale inside and got lost. Fortunately, I found a nice guard who pointed the way.

The Que was long but it just meant the food must be good. All you need to do is point and they will serve your order later. I watched the locals how they ate and mannerisms which is good so you don't standout too much.

The atmosphere was cozy and peacefull. In Japan if you love the soup base drink it all!

These noodles are from a special region and bit thinner than I am used to. However, the flavours and textures were very nice.

A diffinate place to go and visit. I went to the one at Kakudacho 6-7, Kakudacho Building 1F. [across street from Navio Hankyu] They Open from 11am-3am daily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I tried the one in Singapore, was sorely disappointed and didn't think I'd bother with it again. But when I saw Japanese queuing for ramen (although forming lines seems to be a national past-time) I decided I had to give it a second chance. And boy am I glad I did!

Yum.

If you can take a little spice, try the karaka-men with all the additional toppings. The tamago is a little bite of heaven too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been to Ippudo in Singapore and I felt that the ramen is average. We thought that maybe Ippudo in Osaka will serve better ramen, therefore we decided to visit the restaurant. The ramen is still average.

I prefer the ramen in Ichiran and Kyushu Jangara.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippudo also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Ippudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ippudo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.