We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 Reviews
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overall good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In terms of size and amenities the Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is pretty comparable to what you get in the United States for the same price (whereas in Tokyo rooms tend to be much smaller -- which is true of hotels in similar metropolises, such as NYC and London).

Everything was very clean, the view was amazing (the hotel starts on the 22nd floor), and the internet speeds were predictably excellent.

Location: while there is a subway stop nearby, the hotel is a bit off of the main shopping drag -- about a 10 minute walk. And getting to Osaka Castle, for example, takes about 40 minutes via subway. This is by no means a deal breaker, but a heads up.

If you're coming in/out of Osaka via the the Shinkansen, note that the train station is in the northern part of the city. If I recall correctly, the taxi ride cost about $30. If you don't have a lot of bags you could take the subway to/from the hotel, but I would avoid rush hour.

If you're going to/from Kyoto, the Keihan Main Line connects the two cities, and in Osaka you switch to the Midsosuji Subway Line that stops a few blocks from the hotel. The whole thing takes 1:15 hours and costs less than $6. I did this on my way out of the city to Kyoto and even with luggage it was a breeze.

And if you're going to stay at one of the temples at Mt. Koya, the train you take there leaves from a station about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel.

I'd recommend the Monterey, but if I go back to Osaka I will try a different location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    541
    114
    22
    14
See reviews for
361
331
119
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fantastic location!!!. Steps away from the limo bus and massive subway station, yet very quiet. The hotel lobby is on the 22nd floor and the rooms are above that. I didn't hear any "city" noise and the views were great.

The room was nicely appointed. Had everything I needed. Restaurants and shopping are very close by (subway station). Friendly, helpful English speaking staff.
I stayed at here for one night at the start of our trip and three nights at the ritz Carlton in umeda later on in the week. Huge price difference. For the value and convenience of location, I will most likely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Quite a nice hotel, with beautiful decor. The floors start from the 22nd floor - so you're guaranteed a good view if you book a city view room. The staff were noticeabley not as polite as anywhere and everywhere else we had stayed, visited, eaten, shopped etc. in Japan. The service was still of standard but when you have been given such great and warm service which I think is quite common in Japan, it was a bit surprising. Location was good- close to a couple of subway stations and JR Namba. 5 mins walk to Dotonbori. Cheap bus approx 1000 yen to international airport from the bus station located next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The welcome was warm and service was fast. Had a chance to see a guest made complaint to receptionist but not sure what it was all about. Still, when we entered our rooms (we had 2 rooms), we wonder whether the complaint was same as the findings we saw. There were much small particles spreading in the air, till I got tempted so much to vacuum both carpets and bed covers. AC did not work well so the rooms were warm.

Room Tip: With that price, I suggest to choose other hotel. The hotel is strategically located and no surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We wanted a good hotel for our last Night in Japan, and we wanted to live close to the jr namba train station in order to get to the kansai airport easy.
We booked this hotel because of the location, the price and to get a room with a view.
Everything was great. The room had a good size and livstid on the 26th floor we got the perfect view over the City at night.
I would recommend this for all who have to visit osaka, as this is right next to the station and the center of the City.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love the location, it's just above Namba train station, Takashimaya Dept Store, and Supermarkets. Walking distance to Daiso, bus station and a lot of restaurants around the hotel.

The hotel rooms are decent for Japanese standard hotel room and they have the options for 3 beds or 2 beds. The room itself is cozy. The staff are helpful and friendly too.

To go to the Kansai airport, there is a bus that go direct to the airport and it's just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanikai, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

rooms are small. location is great with Namba Walk below hotel, two blocks to Dotonburi (food heaven) via the street or Namba Walk to stay out of the rain/elements,
two blocks to Shinsaibashi Shopping Street and next door to OCAT. Front desk and bell service was exceptional. Maid would not accept a tip.

Room Tip: room are small. Location great with Namba Walk below hotet, two blocks to Dotonburi and Shinsaibash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.