We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 556-0017, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Cairns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Quite a nice hotel, with beautiful decor. The floors start from the 22nd floor - so you're guaranteed a good view if you book a city view room. The staff were noticeabley not as polite as anywhere and everywhere else we had stayed, visited, eaten, shopped etc. in Japan. The service was still of standard but when you have been given such great and warm service which I think is quite common in Japan, it was a bit surprising. Location was good- close to a couple of subway stations and JR Namba. 5 mins walk to Dotonbori. Cheap bus approx 1000 yen to international airport from the bus station located next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    539
    114
    22
    13
See reviews for
359
330
119
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The welcome was warm and service was fast. Had a chance to see a guest made complaint to receptionist but not sure what it was all about. Still, when we entered our rooms (we had 2 rooms), we wonder whether the complaint was same as the findings we saw. There were much small particles spreading in the air, till I got tempted so much to vacuum both carpets and bed covers. AC did not work well so the rooms were warm.

Room Tip: With that price, I suggest to choose other hotel. The hotel is strategically located and no surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We wanted a good hotel for our last Night in Japan, and we wanted to live close to the jr namba train station in order to get to the kansai airport easy.
We booked this hotel because of the location, the price and to get a room with a view.
Everything was great. The room had a good size and livstid on the 26th floor we got the perfect view over the City at night.
I would recommend this for all who have to visit osaka, as this is right next to the station and the center of the City.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love the location, it's just above Namba train station, Takashimaya Dept Store, and Supermarkets. Walking distance to Daiso, bus station and a lot of restaurants around the hotel.

The hotel rooms are decent for Japanese standard hotel room and they have the options for 3 beds or 2 beds. The room itself is cozy. The staff are helpful and friendly too.

To go to the Kansai airport, there is a bus that go direct to the airport and it's just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanikai, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

rooms are small. location is great with Namba Walk below hotel, two blocks to Dotonburi (food heaven) via the street or Namba Walk to stay out of the rain/elements,
two blocks to Shinsaibashi Shopping Street and next door to OCAT. Front desk and bell service was exceptional. Maid would not accept a tip.

Room Tip: room are small. Location great with Namba Walk below hotet, two blocks to Dotonburi and Shinsaibash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, June 30 - 3rd July. The hotel is very easy to locate from the namba jr station. Some people may find it a bit of a hassle to have to change trains from the main Osaka city circle, but it was ok for us. There was a great supermarket at the bottom of the hotel near the station. We found it excellent for breakfast and lunch supplies! The room was fairly spacious and had a nice view of the city. I found the service to be excellent. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 3rd time at the hotel which is my first choice since I change from Umeda area to Nanba 3 years ago. A bit disappointing this time. Spend a week in Sapporo before flying in to Osaka. Check in late afternoon. Counter staff service was rather cold and room given was quite small. Getting in/out of the bed was a problem with one side of the bed facing the wall. Location wise is still good near to shopping and the bus terminal. May need to look for alternative for next year trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 556-0017, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.