We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located on top of JR-Namba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Conveniently located on top of JR-Namba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from Nov 8-14. The hotel is located just right on top of JR-Namba station. It is conveniently located a few blocks away from the Dotonbori-Shinsaibashi area, Kuromon Market, and Den-den town. The reception staff will give you a walking tour map with a train lines map right behind it. If you find the aforementioned areas too far though, there is a supermarket right underneath the hotel, and also the OCAT shopping mall. If you want more choices, Namba Walk is just a few minutes away as well.

If you intend to explore the rest of the Kansai area, this hotel is a great home base. It is about an hour away from both Nara and Kyoto. Nara can be reached directly through the JR Yamatoji Line. If you're going to Kyoto you may need to transfer a bit, but this shouldn't take too long.

The staff is helpful but as always, they have a hard time communicating in English. It is much easier to understand directions if you ask in Japanese. If you have an address or certain location you want to go to, you may be better off writing it down or getting a brochure or something, pointing it to one of the staff and perhaps asking them to draw the directions.

Our room was a bit small, but big enough I guess to fit three beds. I had a good night's sleep, and you can ask for extra pillows if you need them. Pajamas area also provided. There is no gym nor spa, but perhaps the walk around shopping and sightseeing would be enough exercise? ;) If you did not get the buffet breakfast package with your room (we didn't), you can always just go to Namba Walk or the convenience stores nearby for breakfast.

I'm giving this hotel four stars just because it is a bit small relative to the other hotel we stayed in Tokyo, even though the price on that one was just only a bit higher than Grasmere. I think I expected more. But this is good enough anyway. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    600
    126
    26
    15
See reviews for
408
359
121
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Monterey Grasmere, Osaka is conveniently located a few steps away from the subway. If you're commuting to kansai international airport, it's a few minutes away from the namba station which will pass through tennoji station where the trains going to the airport are. It has a huge grocery situated at the basement. Spacious rooms and the staffs can provide you with directions to go around, all you have to do is inquire. My only concern is that the lighting of the entire hotel is a tad dark, gives a bit of an eerie feeling. But then perhaps it's just me. :)

Other than that, I'll definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Will defiinitely stay in this hotel again! Centrally located yet affordable. Thumbs up when it comes to value for money. There's a grocery situated at the basement of the hotel which makes it easier for me to buy some stuff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It very well located. You can reach the hotel by taking the OCAT bus, sign number 11, As you exit, turn to your right and buy the tickets at the vending machines, it costs 1000 yen. The trip will take 50 min approximately. The bus has only one stop at OCAT Namba . Once you arrive take the stairs one floor u, and find the real tree store , go through that hallway till you exit the building turn right and the hotel building is a 1 minute walk from there. The reception is on the 22nd floor of the building.

The receptionists were very kind at check in and check out.We stayed on the 31st floor, we reserved a standard twin room , the room size was bigger than I expected considering it is a Japanese hotel, everything was very clean, the room had nice views. You have to pay upfront the reservation at check in.

The Namba walk is right out in front of the hotel. It is an underground passageway with different exits to Namba and Dotombori,Kuromon market, the kintetsu Nara Line, and subway.

The Namba Station is just a 15 walk from the hotel, and the JR Namba is just turning left as you exit the hotel.

it is a good, practical place to stay, specially if you are traveling with children.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked 7 nights through Expedia and check in/ checkout was seamless. A little tricky from the bus limousine service to the hotel- exit down the escalator and go right. Make the first left, pass by several shops and head out the glass doors. Bear right towards the building, enter and look to the right for the name of the hotel. Walk down the hallway and take the elevator to the 22nd floor- lobby of the hotel.
Very convenient to the JR Namba station. We made use of our 7 day rail pass and made day trips to Hiroshima, Kyoto, Nara, and Kobe. JR staff was very helpful with providing information. Tons of shops, places to eat within the train station. There is also a drug store and a full sized supermarket.
The hotel was clean. Not much closet space. Small room as expected but manageable for two adults. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear franthecat2013,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.
Thank you also for your compliments.
We are very pleased to hear that you made use of our prime location to the fullest.

For your information, on our own hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.
Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms are decently spacious, everything was clean, it is a nice touch to offer pyjamas for the duration of your stay. It is a very short walk to Dotonbori, and the closest underground station entrance is just outside the hotel. There are also supermarkets and bakeries nearby for any provisions required. The staff were friendly and able to accommodate our requests even with our limited Japanese-speaking ability.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in October 13. The hotel is located in a very good location, very close to JR Namba and airport bus terminal (OCAT). There is a supermarket nearby and it's closed at midnight. Dontomburi are 10 mins walk. If
you have big luggage, take airport limousine from the airport to OCAT is easier than the train, 45 mins and only a short walk.

Room Tip: No lotion and shower cap provided, pls prepare your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.