We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi to your Saves list
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-8 Awajimachi, Chuo-ku | (Former Mystays Inn Sakaisuji-Honmach), Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0047, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel is located in between two train stations, Kitahama to the north and Sakaisujihonmachi to the south. Distance to both the stations are about the same, however, if one is coming back to the hotel, its best to stop at Kitahama, as it would be easier to walk downhill to the hotel's direction, and it would seem nearer. Walking distance from both stations are around 10-15 minutes.

On our arrival was greeted by the reception, and as we were 2-3 hrs early we asked to be checked in early, in which they allowed us to.
As for the room, we booked a smoking room, as there weren't any other non smoking rooms available. The strong smell of tobacco was a bit of a turn off once entering the room.
However, we opened the windows before we headed out, and on return it was fine.

Size of the room is ok for two person. Bathroom amenities are good.(As of all Mystays, I do love thier bath foam, shampoo, conditioner) Daily room cleaning available, and free use of washer machine and dryer at the common area near the reception. However, you would have to pay 100 yen for the detergent . There is a microwave machine in the room as well as a vending machine.
The hotel has a Japanese restaurant connected at its ground floor, but didn't manage to try it. There weren't any brochures nor promotions for hotel guests to dine in the restaurant.

There is quite a number of eateries around the hotel, nice area.

Would definitely be one my list of hotels to stay once in Osaka next time!

Room Tip: Go for non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Mr.James L

Thank you for staying with us.
We're happy to hear you satisfied with our hotel.

We're proud of being one your list of hotels to stay once in Osaka next time.
We're looking forward to meeting you again.
Thank you.

Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honamchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
34
50
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unlike it's counterpart in Kyoto, this branch has cramped rooms especially when you open the door. The rooms are comparatively small but other than that, the place is ok. Clean, friendly staff and near the subway/convenient stores.

Laundry and microwave room is also located in a small, enclosed room which makes it very hot inside with all the heat from the machines.

It's a bit far though on shopping areas so we might try hotels near Dotonbori next time we visit Osaka.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Mr.Aldrin E

Thank you for staying with us.
Our hotel was built five years ago, so it's new.
Laundry room is a bit hot to wait until the cleaning finish, so the visiters are waiting in the lobby or their rooms.
Thank you for your comment.

Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Located within a 5 minutes walk from both Kitahama and Sakaisujihonmachi metro station, quite place at night. 2-3 stops by metro to main shopping area in Osaka.

The room is neat and tidy. As Japan's business rooms are normally tiny in space, this is the one make me feel satisfy with 15 square feet for a semi-double room.

Daily consumables are supplied in the lobby - women pack, shaver pack, moisture cleansing, baby cream etc.

There is a Japanese restaurant on the ground floor next to the hotel entrance. Full of Japanese businessmen on lunch time and the lobby is noisy and crowded at that time!

Room Tip: Try to book through JapanIcan.com or rakuten.jp, you may find a valuable stay plan or package!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Mr/Ms. g0ssie

Thank you for staying with us.
We're happy to hear that you felt "warm&care" during your stay.
Our hotel is easy to access to the main cities in Osaka.

If you have any opportunity to visit Japan , please visit us.
We're looking forward to see you again.
Thank you.

Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The room is clean and comfortable. Although at first the hotel is not that easy to find, after knowing the precise position the access is not far from sakaisuji hommachi station. Great service from the hotel's staffs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Mr/Ms. m0nD89

Thank you for staying with us.
We're very happy to hear that you satisfied with our hotel.
If you have an opportunity to visit Japan, please stay here.
We're looking forward to meeting you again.

Best regards,
Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took train from the airport to the nearest train station of the hotel. It took us some time to look for the hotel as it is located on a quiet street & a little bit far from the train station. The room is small but clean. We were upset that we were unable to turn on the air conditioner. We felt hot in the room so the hotel staff asked us to open the window instead. Wifi only available at lobby but there were limited seats provided. This hotel is not recommended for family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Mon_0624

Thank you for staying with us.
It takes 7 minuites from the nearest stations, Sakaisuji Honmachi and Kitahama.
I'm sorry that you felt hot because of the air conditioner.
From this spring, the Wifi is available in all rooms.

Thank you.

Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

On my second trip to Osaka, I chose to stay in this hotel. We got it at a very cheap price yet my Japanese friend assured me that this is okay because she knows this is a business hotel. Yes, I saw many people checking in wearing suites. We arrived around 1am Japanese time, and the staffs are very friendly and accommodating. The place is clean but some rooms are for smoking immediately or you can just turn on the vacuum inside the room. Toiletries are available at the lobby, you can refill it by yourself everyday. I accidentally left my iphone charger, by any chance, I asked them if they have. Yes! And they just handed it over to me without letting me sign any logbook. Japanese people don't have trust issues. I should really praise the hospitality and willing to help attitude of them. Despite of the language barrier, which eventually shows how they love their language, they will really make sure that they were able to answer your question and help you throughout.

Cheers to Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, it is recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Ms.JLing2014

Thank you for staying with us.
We're happy to hear you enjoed your staying.
As you said, on the weekdays, many businessmen are staying.
On this summer, many tourists from overseas has come because of the new attraction of the Harry Potter in the USJ.
If you have an oppotunity to come Osaka, please come here again.
We're happy to welcome you.

Thank you.

Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The location is ok at the middle of two subway sttions. Hotel staffs are helpful. The healty breakfast which included in the room charges is good to make us through te day. However the romm is smaller than we expected but it's a standard for Japanese hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Mr/Ms. Thanawat p

Thank you for staying with us.
We're glad to hear that you had a good time in our hotel.
The restaurant you ate the breakfast opens at dinner time as a izakaya.

We're looking forward to meeting you again.

Thank you very much.

Kanae Nishiyama
Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi

Address: 1-4-8 Awajimachi, Chuo-ku | (Former Mystays Inn Sakaisuji-Honmach), Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0047, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystays Inn Sakaisuji-Honmachi Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.