We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Universal Studios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keihan Universal Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keihan Universal Tower to your Saves list
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-2-45 Shimaya, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0024, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #69 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 496 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for Universal Studios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We (2A+2C)stayed in a triple room and found it quite spacious for Japanese hotel standards. The hotel is next to the JR train station and next to the Universal walk and shops. Universal studios is located about 600m away. What's more there is a convenience stall just below the hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, Front Desk Clerk at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Thank You for staying here at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.
We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. We designed our rooms here to fit the taste of both foreign and local guests. We glad to serve you again on your next stay. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.
Thank you for taking a time to write a review.

Marlon C. Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    237
    74
    36
    13
See reviews for
310
75
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Fantastic hotel, wish we'd stayed here for our whole holiday. I was a little concerned about it being out of the city centre but the trains are excellent so it was very easy to get around, and the hotel is literally right next to Universal City Station (turn left on exiting and the entrance is right there, go up the escalator to find the reception desk). It is on Universal Walk so plenty of places to eat and a great little convenience store right outside (I recommend Lawsons for cheap sushi).
We were delighted with our room. We were on the 15th floor (half way up), with a huge window overlooking the river, we could even see some of Universal Studios including the Starlight Parade in the distance). The room was spacious by Japanese standards and very clean. The bathroom was typical Japanese style, with a separate toilet, bath/shower area, and wash hand basin - perfect for family living. Everything you could need was supplied (including toothpaste and little sponges in the shape of animals for the children) and replenished daily. The beds were very firm so took some getting used to. Despite being so close to Universal Studios, the hotel was surprisingly quiet so we could sleep very well (once we got used to the firm beds).
You can buy tickets for Universal at the reception (staff do not speak much English but we managed with our very basic Japanese).
I definitely recommend this hotel for a family stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, Front Desk at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you for staying here at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.
We are glad to hear that you had a delightful stay in our facility. Please consider staying with us again on your next vacation. We would also appreciate if you can invite your family and friends to stay with us. We hope to see you and hear from you again in the near future. Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

Marlon C.Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We spent the very last night of our holiday in Japan here, travelling by train from Kyoto to Universal City, and found it to be a real treat. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and offered a great view of our destination for the following day - Universal Studios Japan.

The staff at Universal Tower were very helpful. After leaving our luggage stored securely at the hotel upon check out, we spent the next day at Universal Studios before taking the 3.30 pm shuttle bus from nearby Kintetsu Hotel to the International Airport for our 8.00 pm flight back to Australia.

It cut our day at Universal Studios a bit short but we found it long enough to experience the main attractions, especially as it was easy to get to the park right at opening time as it was only a five minute walk from the hotel.

We found our stay at Universal Tower, and visit to Universal Studios, to be a fun way to spend our last night and day in Japan. If we decide to go to Universal Studios again in the future we will again book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. Whenever you plan to visit Univer Studios Japan or plan any Osaka City tour in the future, feel free to stay at our Hotel. We hope that you could extend your stay next time. If you Have any other inquiries, please don't hesitate to contact us any time.
Thank you for taking a time to write a review.

Marlon C. Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Currently staying in this hotel but looking at other hotels even thought it will be an unnecessary cost. Hard beds, sheets that have ruined my skin even though I've never had an allergic reaction and untidy/ unkept rooms. Very unhappy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed for a night in this hotel.Nothing better than to be greeted with warmness of japanese hospitality. The hotel is located very near to the Universal Studio Japan and Universal Walk.It is also located next to the Universal City Station.There is a mart a groundfloor, and Starbucks too,if you need that warm hot cocoa in this winter weather.There is also a delicious sushi restaurant in front of the hotel.The price is very reasonable.
Room wise,I would say it is pretty standard for Japan,but there are still space for your bags.Free WiFi and there is a vending machine for drinks (costs you around 120 yen +/-).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked the rooms in June for my trip in Dec and I must say I got them at a very very good price from Agoda. Do get the breakfast option and the SUPERIOR room. It was very spacious with a huge bathroom (separate bath, shower and toilet area -- 37 sqm). We had 2 rooms on the 22th floor -- magnificent view of the Osaka Bay Area for one room and the Universal Studio view for the other room.

We stayed at the Universal City hotel (character room) on our previous trip and Universal Tower proved to be much much better.

The Lawson supermarket is pretty decent and well-stocked with foodstuff you can buy to fill tummies -- I quite like their sushi sets, fried chicken and pieces of "Yong tau foo" in soup (don't know what they call them in Japan! :) -- Good idea to buy back and enjoy in your (spacious) room if you want to avoid queuing outside restaurants or if you want to eat on a budget.

Getting there is super easy -- it's literally outside the JR Universal Station. Take the lift to the 4th floor where the hotel lobby is.

True, the reception didn't speak too much English -- but we weren't too bothered by that.

We bought the USJ tickets at the hotel in the morning -- no trouble at all -- and remember to use the "Guest card" to enjoy 10% discount at the F&B outlets in USJ.



Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, Front Desk Clerk at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying here at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.

We are glad to know that you had a delightful stay in our hotel. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again during your next vacation here in Osaka. We are working on improving our business more to attend better on the guest needs. Feel free to invite your friends and family to stay here and experience the same warm and hospitable service that we offer.
Thank you for taking a time to write a review.

Marlon C. Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We made very bad choice to pick up this hotel for our stay in the Osaka.
Let me start with one little thing.Staff doesn't speak any English!!! However they know how to charge a credit card twice.Information were handle in Japanese as we clearly said we don't speak a word.Room very basic for 2 people.Free wifi that never work.expensive breakfast, however there is a Starbucks and many restaurant for a lunch (TGI fridays, burger king, all kind of japanese, thai, indian etc.)I guess it worth it for a family to stay day or two to visit Universal studio.However for exploring the Osaka city is very bad choice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keihan Universal Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Universal Tower

Address: 6-2-45 Shimaya, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0024, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Universal Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 641
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Keihan Universal Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keihan Universal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.