We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Plaza Osaka

Save Saved
You added City Plaza Osaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Plaza Osaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-31 Hommachibashi Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 540-0029, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great value :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is a great location, walking distance from many things and easy to spot.
The decor and light are very pleasant, modern and bright. The room was nice, large enough (for Japanese standards), well maintained; the staff was very kind and even cheerful and friendly.
Extremely good standards and value for a very reasonable price, we really liked it and we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    80
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
27
27
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location . Lots of night-life around . Rooms were comfortable and clean . The Donkey shop ( for cheap buys ) around the corner is open all through the night . Breakfast was average - alot of chinese food and basic other food especially for vegetarian .

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed the night in Osaka and were looking for convenient hotel after staying 3 nights in a row in Ryokans. We had rather low expectations of this hotel due to the price. However, arriving there we were rather surprised finding a very modern and new hotel. Although they do not have WIFI in every room, the hotel will provide you which a router you can setup yourself (takes less than 2 minutes). The rooms and bathroom are big for japanese hotel. I will stay there again next time I will be in Osaka

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was told by other members that fee applied for Onsen but it was not the case. Indeed, Onsen is free but you need to pay for the swimming pool.

Hotel was good and size was not too small.

A big hint is too book the hotel via its only internet and you will get better deal that MOST hotel booking websites. However, make sure you know the area as it is not major tourist area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed our last 2 nights in Japan here. It is a big hotel with lots of spacious rooms.
Beds are great, bathroom also spacious and its really quiet.

The breakfast is complimentary, and too much you can handle! Japanese and western style. Everything was perfect.

You really should go to the onsen at the top floor of the hotel, its just soo relaxing!

I would really recommend people to stay here. I would if I would travel again through Osaka.

Room Tip: Double and single B rooms are both spacious and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I make 2 business trips to Osaka every month and City Plaza Osaka has become one of my favorite hotels when my business trip has leeway in terms of time. As soon as I check in, I usually go straight to Onsen located on the top floor. Onsen on the top floor is a facility of a sports club. I found 4pm to 5pm less crowded with less hotel customers so you get to mingle with local old folks. Unlike some other hotels, you have unlimited access. I usually sneak in 3 trip to Onsen at check in, after dinner and before breakfast.

As Starbucks is only 4 blocks away, I usually don't get the deal including breakfast. Around 6pm, the bakery in the lobby starts 20% discounts on the left overs so I sometimes buy few for the next morning if I am in a rush the following day.

The windows are wider than standard Japanese hotel and the overall settings make the room seem bigger than the actual size. The halls on each floor is spacious compared to other hotels.The biggest issue for me is not being close to Osaka Umeda area. If you can stand 2 stops (5 minutes) then it shouldn't be a issue.

Room Tip: Get the room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is some kind of funky wedding hotel in Osaka. There is a chapel and everything.
As always this is about expectations: we were expecting better than a 3 star hotel...

Pros:
-Nice clean rooms
-Nice lobby
-Friendly enough staff

Cons:
-Plastic bathrooms found in much cheaper hotels also found here
-View of the freeway
-Breakfast....ouch... dirty tables and very limited (western) selection. Cold water was empty both days we ate there (it´s not that hard to check it...)
-No Wifi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Plaza Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Plaza Osaka

Address: 2-31 Hommachibashi Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 540-0029, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 247 Hotels in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Plaza Osaka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Plaza Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Plaza Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.