We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems, excellent location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamatoya Honten

Save Saved
You added Yamatoya Honten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yamatoya Honten
3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0082, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 19 Osaka B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No problems, excellent location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Used this ryokan for a few nights at the end of two weeks in Japan. Eight mat room is spacious by Japanese standards and quite comfortable. However there were no seat backs for the floor cushions which is usually supplied in ryokan rooms. Location is excellent next to Nihonbashi at the end of Doutonburi Street. A subway train station is only a few minutes away and major station Namba perhaps 15 - 20 minutes walk away. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, even going out in the rain to get us a taxi when we checked out. We would recommend this ryokan for a short stay in Osaka.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section, may be better standard than older rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, General Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us!

We look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
21
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Yamatoya Honten for 2 nights.

Pros:
- Pleasant reception staff
- Very centrally located. Close to Dotonbori street.
- Rooms were nice and comfortable. Futons were brought out for us by hotel staff in the evening and put away in the morning
- Breakfast was amazing - a must do during your stay.

Cons:
- Internet was only available in the hotel lobby and not in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Front Office Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us!

We look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

DO NOT STAY at this hotel! We made a reservation at this hotel about 2 months in advance, and we also confirmed our stay by e-mail (as requested). We arrived at the hotel at around 11 o'clock in the morning, and the staff told us that they could not check-us in before 15:00. We left our baggage at the hotel, and we returned to the hotel at around 16:00. When we tried to check-in, one of the staff members told us that they had just given our room to somebody else! She said that she was very sorry but that they had to give our room to somebody else because a larger than expected group had just come before us?! I asked her what was the point of having a reservation if they had a first-come first-served policy. She said that she was very very sorry?! :) After arguing for some time, they told us that they would pay for our room in a three star hotel next door. At the end, as it was around 17:00 and as it was raining outside, we did not have any choice but to go to that different hotel. All in all, we did not manage to stay at a ryokan, which was our desire in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, General Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are very sorry..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The worst hotel we have stayed so far. The interior of the hotel is very old, carpet is very dirty and filty, wall has stained. Our ryoken room is smelly all the time. Toilet and bathroom separated. Toilet stink of wee the whole time. I will only go if I have no choice. We don't mind basic but dirty and smelly? We were quite impressed with other 3 stars hotel in Japan, be it Kyoto and Tokyo. But this one is really beyond disappointed.

We have the housekeeping put our bed back to the cupboard and bring it out every evening. At the 3rd day, my younger son developed rashes on his right side but I never suspect is the bedding. Then when we come home, the rashes had gone and I realise it was their mattress and bedding.

Though they will give you 2 packets of Japanese snacks and refill the teabags and hot water in the flasks.

you have to check out at 10am on the dot or else the phone will ring. if you have anything in the fridge please take it out at the night before as it will be locked on the day you checked out.

if you have the choice, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: maybe an usual hotel room in this hotel is better than Ryoken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Front Office Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for bringing it to my attention and comment .

I will remedy a problem.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is about ten minutes' walk from the subway station. Getting there is really easy. It is directly opposite Dotonburi so this makes eating and shopping really easy. One can just go opposite to eat and shop. There are just so many things to do at Dotonburi and Shinsaibashi! It is quite interesting to see the host club boys standing around the bridge.

As for the hotel, it has a nice and comfy lobby. But many smokers smoke there so it's uncomfortable for non-smokers. The receptionists are really polite, courteous, friendly and helpful. The service was top-notch and definitely impresses me. Certain staff of the hotel speak really good English. Do try the breakfast if you have the chance because it's really delicious!

The room was big and elegantly decorated. Slippers, towels(face and body), toiletries, toiletry bag, yukata, tea and snacks were provided. Sleeping on the futon was an interesting experience and surprisingly comfortable. I slept very well. The bathroom and the toilet are separated so the toilet and bathroom are really clean. The cleaning staff are so nice and organised and will help us to organise our messy toiletries. The room's really clean.

I really enjoy the hot public bath. Do give it a go when you stay here!

A big minus point for this place is that one needs to go to the lobby in order to access the wifi.

All in all, a great experience despite the slightly steeper price!

P.S. There are no fitness centre and swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Front Office Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.
and good coments!!

We are looking forward to seeing you next time!

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

this place is very close to the subway, lot of stuff to do around the hotel, the hotel was perfect, bed madrass a bit thin but I got used to it. they didn't have a room with shower when I first checked in so I had to use the onsen in the basement, which was a unusual experience :)
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Front Office Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and good coments.

We are looking forward to seeing you again as well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived we loved this place. We stayed in a room overlooking the river and had a room with a bath. The room we had did have two western beds, but we requested futons for all three of us (self, husband and daughter). Our beds were ready for us by about 7pm each night. Hot Japanese tea was always available and there is a 'public bath' for use in the basement area (men and women are separate) for anyone who wants to enjoy an onsen experience. The location was great, close by to the subway and the shops. We didn't have breakfast at the Ryokan, but there are lots of places to eat for lunch or dinner. For breakfast we ended up buying food from the nearby Family Mart, but on reflection probably should have had at least one breakfast there on the first morning until we got our bearings.
I would definitely recommend this Ryokan for location, hospitality and service and for the experience of staying in a ryokan. It turns out that one of my work colleagues saw my status updates on FB and commented that she also had stayed there and loved it. All the staff are sweet and as with all our experiences with the Japanese people, they are all so helpful and polite.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor, overlooking the river. We had no problems with noise. Our room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are really glad to hear that. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yamatoya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamatoya Honten

Address: 2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0082, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yamatoya Honten 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamatoya Honten is right near "Dotombri" the place that represents Osaka, also easy to go to Shinsaibashi (shopping area) and Den-Den-Town (electronics retailing area). It has Japanese style rooms and baths and there is the traditional Japanese atmosphere. We serve you the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Yamatoya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatoya Honten Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamatoya Honten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.