We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1 Fushimimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0044, Japan (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 246 hotels in Osaka
Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a perfectly good hotel. It didn't do anything particularly special, but what it did do was solid. Room was a reasonable size for a Japanese hotel and there are quite a few restaurants near by. The breakfast wasn't so good - main problem was that there wasn't much choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    100
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
30
79
41
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was comfortable, the rooms a little small but had free wifi in the room (a bonus in Japanese hotels), close to the subway station, maybe not all that convenient to the sights but overall a reasonable location. It was nice and clean, seemed quite new with a nice modern bathroom. They are not helpful with touristy info but they are a business hotel so I guess you can't expect much - they don't have english maps, so get one at the tourist info wherever you arrive in Osaka which we stupidly didn't do.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are bigger I think and are basically 2 beds together
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We couple spend three days there, the room has big space, enough for two people (compare other hotels in Japan). The room is new and clean, staff are friendly and polite. Really a good choice for business or holiday in Osaka.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited Japan for 16 days and stayed at 5 hotels and this is the most modern one we've been at. We booked a double room: it was at ok size for Japan, not too small, not big but good for 2 people. LOVE the bathroom, especially the separate shower (very rare to find). Very nice room and comfy PJ's provided. Free Wi-Fi and water bottles everyday (very convenient!). They have a safe in the room as well. Very quiet and I slept well. The only inconvenience is there was no coffee (only tea) and the JR station was far from the hotel. There is a subway 1 min from the hotel but we had a JR pass and wanted to use it since we paid so much for it. Good price for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Brighton City Kitahama is a swish modern hotel with some extras like Shisedo cosmetics in the bathroom, an in-room safe, pants presser, some interesting design features, such as lights that come on when the door opens and screened glass viewing between the bath and the rest of the room. And some cons, like getting the side of the bed that has no access to the room (other than climbing over one's companion) and the breakfast buffet.

it's less than 50m from Kitahama subway station (Sakaisuji line), though we found getting around Osaka on the train/subway network was a little more taxing than other cities, with the attractions spread in every direction. It was often a better option just to take a cab.

It also (happily) withstood the earthquake we had whilst in Osaka without a blink (5.8 apparently, tho' it felt smaller, even with the sway of the top floor). "What's that?" "It's an earthquake, but just a small one, it's ok."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week and it was a great experience. The rooms are clean, modern and stylish and have everything you would expect in a business hotel. The bathroom was well appointed with a fairly large shower. The room was comfortable overall. There was a safe in the drawer of the table which came in handy as it has a power point inside it. The only downside was when we first arrived the staff were a little abrupt, however it wasn't a big problem and may have just been a miscommunication. For the rest of the time the staff were respectful, helpful and pleasant. Will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Super location with easy subway access to the centre for trains,shops etc.
My room is SUPERB I love the decor.the security,the quietness and the wonderful bathroom.I even have CNN on TV.I spent ages the first night just playing with the lights.There is a 7 11 across the road for getting your own breakfast.free internet access and 2 laptops available in the reception for use.
Now the bathroom!The tub is designed with smaller people in mind but the showers are wonderful,one normal and one rainfall.Of course a heated toilet seat that noone warned me about! and free slippers everyday to take home with you and a clean nightshirt everyday too.
I have not found the radio yet but sure its there somewhere and I would like a teaspoon for my morning coffee.Of course free hairbrush.razor,shampoo,conditioner and body soap.

Room Tip: Mine is a superior on the ninth and I cannot complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama

Address: 1-1 Fushimimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 541-0044, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 246 hotels in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.