We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, no frills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae to your Saves list
APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-11 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Convenient location, no frills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I chose APA tennoji ekimae for its proximity to Namba while being away from the hustle and bustle. The location is really the main selling point being just a 2minute walk from Tennoji station which is very connected with major Osaka attractions. I flew in from Tokyo and the Itami Airport bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The rooms are small but nothing atypical for Japan. We were given the smoking room as the non-smoking floors were all full but it did not smell too bad. The hotel feels very clean and I had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
11
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stay here during a recent trip around the Osaka region in Japan. The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to JR Tennoji Station. We needed to catch Airport Rapid train to Kansai International the next day and it was great to be so close. The location is good as it's just across the road from shopping and restaurants if you want to venture out. The only negative I could find was the size of the room but that's pretty standard across all hotel rooms in Japan.

If you need a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location in Tennoji, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the zoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, which included the new years eve. Wouldve stayed in a more central area (Namba or Shinsaibashi) if it all the hotels werent fully booked. We booked the semi-double room (that was the only room available), and it was very small. The two of us shared the semi-double bed (which in my dictionary: a single bed). Room is a little noisy from the trains downstairs.

However, we had a comfortable stay there. The room was clean and new, and the service was good (receptionist and attendants were always happy to assist us).

Location was good. Its just 2 minutes walk from one of the exits of the Tennoji subway station, which by the way, linked to the Tennoji JR rail station, which could take you to Kansai airport (about 40 minutes express), or to Kyoto (about 60-70 minutes). To Namba/Shinsaibashi is just 3-4 stops away. Its very convenient.

Room Tip: probably not the ones facing the trains, as it could get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in december, had a great time with there. Stayed in 3 different hotels during my time in Japan, and have to say that the rooms here are the smallest of the bunch. room was a little stuffy during the 1st night though, not sure why. was ok the 2nd night.

what made the experience awesome was the excellent service staff. I was often at the lobby area of the hotel as they provide wifi there. also, at the same time i was facing domestic issues and the staff were friendly and accommodating towards me, even to the extent of helping me with certain tasks.

overall, excellent place with good location too, close to tennoji station (walking distance). only gripes are the inaccessibility after sleeping hours as the entrance is locked and a receptionist would have to notice you to let you in. this only applied for my 1st day though as i arrived late and couldn't get in without the card. rooms also a little small and a little pricey comparing to my other hotel choices. great place (:

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae

Address: 1-4-11 Abenosuji, Abeno-ku, Osaka 545-0052, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Tennoji Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.