We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi to your Saves list
New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-10-36 Nishishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
¥6,000 (JPY)
Ranked #98 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was close to Shinsaibashi Station (from exit number 3, go behind Nikko Hotel and you just need to take about 3 min walk). The price was very good for us (about $62 for a semidouble room). The staff was friendly and some can speak English well. The room where I was staying was a Ladies' Room, the wall was painted in purple and pink, and amenities for Ladies were satisfactory. Size of the room was quite okay for Japanese hotels. There's no wi-fi in the room (only in the lobby), but you can rent a laptop for 1000yen/24 hours. There's no laundry room too, but there was a coin laundry near the hotel. Surroundings were good, with many convenience stores, restaurants and cafes around. Namba station and Dotonbori area were near, too, so i had a good time shopping there. I'll

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
18
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights and New Osaka Hotel (will call it "NOH" for short from now onwards), after checking out from nearby Nikko Hotel. The location of NOH is great, and the outdoor bar in front of the hotel is very nice, but that's all the good things I can say about it.

The rooms are small and not that comfortable, and the service staff is not very talented. But the worst thing is that we reserved a non-smoking room, but upon entering the room it reaked of old smokers. The walls and the lamp where yellow from old smoking habits, and we even found a burned hole in the curtain, that was clearly made by a cigarette. Even if the room (and the floor it was on) might've supposedly been non-smoking now, it clearly has been a 100% smoking room before for many many years. The stench was so off-putting that we immediately went to the lobby to mention about this.

They were reasonable enough to accommodate us in a new room in a different floor - still insisting that the previous room was indeed non-smoking and that they have to look into the matter because of that. However it was clear that the room was a smoked to death, and even in the corridor of that floor it smelled strongly of old world or smokers (in contrast to new osaka, what they call themselves).

The new room they gave us was better, there wasnt a strong smoking smell there. However you could still notice that this room also probably used to be a smoking room for a long time, evident from the yellowish lamp... The walls had been recarpeted and there was a smell of new paint or wall glue - might be that this was on purpose to hide the old smoking smell. However this room was indeed less irritating than the previous one, and it was quite possible to sleep here ok.

However the room itself, its poor ambience and stuffy (and paint/glue like smelling) air kept us from hanging out there except for sleeping at nights.

The room was kept clean well, but this is Japan, so that's no miracle. But other than this there was nothing special here. The bathroom and its amenities was ok, or maybe even good compared to rest of the hotel.

Seems that this new osaka hotel probably was built on top of some old smokey japan hotel and they're still in the midst of making it newer and better - the facade is better than the reality here.

Still for the cheap price we paid, its ok value - just dont except you get anything at all more than what you pay for (maybe even a bit less at times) and if you're sensitive for smells of tobacco and such, then better forget it.

For budget travellers its an ok place with a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the New Osaka Hotel in January 2013. Arriving at Osaka Kansai airport it is about a 45-60 minute train ride into Osaka and to the hotel depending on the time of day. From Kasai airport you will take the airport rail to the end of the line. Then connect to the subway red line and go one more stop to Shinsaibashi station, the hotel is a 3 minute walk from Shinsaibashi station. You can take a taxi however I did not and took the train system for $8 USD. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood with some restaurants and bars in the area. Reception was friendly during check in, I booked a single room, the price was very reasonable about $70 USD per night. The rooms are small, clean, and has your own bathroom. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby, signal cannot reach to the rooms. I was pleased with the the price I paid for what I received. The hotel is one subway stop from the Dotonbori and Namba area of Osaka which has the shopping, restaurants, and bars. If I come back to Osaka I would stay at the New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Block, null, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived mid-morning of Sept 28th from Auckland via KL. Taxi from Namba station. We found our room Japan-sized but quite adequate. The staff on the front desk were very helpful in telling us how to get to certain places , walking,,, and emailed our daughter teaching on Shikoku to let her know when to meet us at Shinsaibashi station ( as we have no japan-compatible cell phones). The breakfast was very satisfactory whether one favoured Japanese or western tastes.10 000Y or 165NZ$ was ok for one night and we had been told to expect high prices in Osaka but don't know how that compares.. Anyway--- would we stay there again? Yes-- no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown Osaka very close to the most upmarket area. Dior, Chanel, Louis Vitton, Armani and Osaka's answer to Harrods are all five minutes walk away. The surrounding streets buzz with vibrant little shops and bars - (try nearby `Slices` for the great international food and the extensive cocktail list... and the lovely the lovely Canadian owners). The area is very safe and close to transport links.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bed was incredible. The staff and managers are all lovely and couldn`t be more helpful and pleasant.

There is a lovely open cafe at the front of the hotel that sells great coffee and food with a spanish theme.

Prices are very reasonable compared to similar hotels of the same quality in the area. Beware, cheaper usually means smaller here and if you aren`t compact yourself the small rooms here can be a real squeeze.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is located not far (walking) to Amerikana and centeral Namba in Osaka. Helpful staff. A splendid rich breakfast. Spacious room (which is not common in japan's hotels).
So, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very close to shinsaibashi shopping street and mido-suji (about 3 mins on foot), very close to shinsaibashi station. Helpful staffs (they gave me a map before we went out for shopping), clean room, clean bathroom. Good place to stay in osaka. Will stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi

Address: 1-10-36 Nishishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located a 2-minute walk from Shinsaibashi Station in the middle of Americamura surrounded by delicious foods and shops. As it is close to the station, it is a convenient location for people whose purpose is a live concert, business as well as shopping. The terrace with a sense of the season and the artists' exhibits will greet you and guide you to a place that will soothe your daily exhaustion away. The terrace that transforms according to the season, the winery-themed venue hidden underground, the bustling shops and restaurants that stand all around, this is a place full of new meetings. Enjoy the space of the moment that can only be experienced at that moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Osaka Hotel Shinsaibashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.