We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel to your Saves list
Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-12-2 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0011, Osaka Prefecture (Shin Osaka / North Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 126 Reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for five days in March. As it was my partner's first time out of Australia, we wanted somewhere that had staff who spoke English, and close enough to the city and transport without needing taxis. This hotel was perfect. The staff were friendly, and even replied to an email I sent in advance due to a late arrival.
As we were coming from an Australian summer, we were concerned about how warm the room would be, and had read reviews that told us the hotel was cold. What we found was the exact opposite. Walking in from 8 degree temperatures, we were peeling off layers of clothing while we signed forms in the lobby!
On our first day, the staff pointed us in the direction of the train station, and a convenience store where my partner could get cigarettes. They also assisted us with using the computers, so we could contact family back home, and with restaurants in the area.
The rooms were kept clean, the beds were made immaculately every day, but we saw a cleaner once our entire stay (we practiced our very poor Japanese on her) so it was very unobtrusive.
Throughout our entire trip, which included stays in Tokyo and Melbourne, this was by far the best hotel we stayed in. It's a hotel I have already recommended to friends and family, and will be trying to stay at for our next trip back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    75
    32
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
24
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a friendly district near the station. However it is hard to find initially as there is no English signage outside, lucky the helpful locals with help you if lost. The room was a good size and well maintained, it did smell of smoke though. Breakfast was well worth the money.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a good option if the plan is not to spend much time in the hotel, the rooms are among the smallest I have seen in Japan. Clean and confortable beds and more or less well communicated by underground (around 10 minutes walk from the hotel)

Free internet in the lobby and one restaurant, hotel staff were friendly and polite however their level of english was really poor, eventually we've managed to understand each other.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

During my recent stay in Japan I planned to spend a few autumn days in Kyoto but hotels there were all but full. Accordingly I opted for Osaka and finally selected what turned out to be a perfect business-hotel located close to Shin-Osaka station.

The subway-station is just around the corner, and it's even just 10 minutes by foot from Shin-Osaka - however as a first time traveler you'll never be able to get there unless you know exactly where you're heading to (and you won't, believe me!) - so take the subway (only 1 station) or a taxi. Once you know the layouts of Shin-Osaka station you can also walk there of course (provided your luggage ain't too heavy).

The hotel itself offers all you would expect from a good Japanese business-hotel and the price is all but affordable. I stayed there on an early-booking plan which offered even lower prices!

Also: a bunch of reasonably priced restaurants and bars are located within easy walking range, as a are a few convenience stores.

3.8 out of 5 - a solid 'thumbs up" from me!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel

Address: 4-12-2 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.