We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi to your Saves list
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0086, Japan (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 75 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Cairo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

if you want to really try the japanese experience then have to check out this hotelit is very clean everything is very systematic people are very welcoming the location is absolutely amazing the only con would be the quality of food and minimal variety of fruit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
16
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This capsule hotel advertises being a backpackers place. It’s not. As it’s not really a hotel. It’s a SPA. The SPA areas are well developed and are open to everyone paying an entrance fee. You have relaxing rooms and massive saunas and hot pools as shown on the pictures of the follow travellers.
What you should know is that the beds are quite hard as they are Japanese style 5cm / 2 inch mattresses. To close your capsule you only have a shade so it’s not sound proof and you hear everybody snoring on your floor. The showers are communal (but gender separated) so you shouldn’t mind to shower in the morning with 20 naked Japanese.
But what made me giving two out of five points was that my “room” was dirty as it had to big black hears in the capsule and they charge for storing your luggage on the day of arrival and departure. Further they charge you to store your back pack if it doesn’t fit to your tiny locker which has airplane hand luggage size. Additionally you have to empty your capsule even when staying one more night between 10 am and 2 pm (so you can’t leave your backpack in your capsule). And as a plus the staff barely speaks English and is not really welcoming.
Many call capsule hotels a must do experience while being in Japan. I agree but recommend choosing another place. I cancelled my second stay booked at this “hotel”.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is certainly a great way to experience how crazy the Japanese are. It is a weird combination of a space capsule and a hostel. The common area is home to some strange types of people. Yet also business men and even families check in.

The spa area is great. Different pools: hot, hotter and hotst.

This is the only capsule hotel where women can check in. The downside is that couples can't sleep together. Women and men are seperated.

All and all this is a must do!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I arrived in Osaka it was about 6.30pm but it took me an age to find this place. I asked for directions via email several times but only really got a reply that said “it is about 10 minutes on foot from Shinsaibashi station” and “Please get from JR Kyoto Station to Osaka Station.
Please go down at Shinsaibashi Station on subway Midosuji Line (Umeda Station) at Osaka Station.”

This was hardly helpful, considering stations have more than one exit and depending on which exit you come out from, it obviously affects which way you head! Having not been able to rent a Japanese mobile from the airport previously (because it had closed by the time I had arrived), I didn’t have any internet to guide me. I got pointed into the wrong direction, then after going in circle for about 30 mins, I got really annoyed and ended up getting a taxi. Even the taxi got lost!! He drove in circles and attempted to tell me he found the place, when really he hadn’t, then he drove around again and eventually found it. He didn’t charge me the full displayed rate, because he got lost though. So beware, it is not really that easy to find!!

Anyway, enough of the gripe about their lack of advice re how to find them. Here is an easy way to find them should you wish to stay here. Get off at Shinsaibshi station and take Exit 7. Once you’re at exit 7, (take the lift if you have heavy suitcases – initially I thought it would take you into a shopping centre) so after lugging my suitcases up the stairs, I found it takes you to street level …outside! Anyway, once you get to street level, turn left (on your right you will see a building with the “white avenue” on it). Walk down this road, keeping to the left side. You will come to a cross road, cross it and keep going straight. Along the way you will see a shop called “Loose House” on your right. At this point, there is a road veering to your left. Turn left and go down this road. Continue down this road for three blocks. The capsule hotel is on your right.
Once you step into to the building you will be asked by a sign to remove your shoes. If you don’t the attendants bark at you to remove them.

Check in was OK, I was in a pretty intense bad mood by the time I arrived, having got lost from their ‘directions’ – not that it fazed them in the slightest when I told them this. You are told to place your shoes in a shoe locker by the reception area. You then take the key and hand it over to the attendant. You hand over your passport whilst they ready your keys and paperwork. You’re given a little key capsule and since I’m female, this capsule hotel is split into male and female dormitories. All the females are in a separate area – where you enter via key. The rooms are in the basement. I didn’t use the facilities much here, other than to sleep. But I believe they offer food services and maybe massages? Not sure, I saw the food advertised for sure though. The place here is super busy. Probably because of its super reasonable rates. But you do get a feeling they are just churning people in and out. There is no real sense of customer satisfaction here.

There is a common area, which males and females can mingle, and also a reading area and lounge bed area. They’re usually blocked off by people though – leaving their bags there so you cannot sit or charge up your phones. Note, the capsules do NOT have power sockets for you to charge cameras and phones. They do however have a charger locker station up on reception – which is chargeable of course. I cannot remember how much it was, perhaps 300 yen, I never used it because it was always full. There are spots dotted around the common area which you can use to charge up – dependent on whether or not other people are using them though. In the sleep area, there are some horizontal capsules that have sockets – but there is a sign on there saying you cannot use and some other sockets for vacuum cleaners I guess, that have the same signs. Do what you will, but people used them regardless. The capsules themselves are very roomy, but I must say, if you’re looking for a reasonable amount of sleep, this might not be the place for you. Though, you cannot predict the type of guests you’ll be near and their sense of respect for others, you could be in for a rough night’s sleep. My stay here was extended to two nights unexpectedly, the first night was OK, but the next night, I had a bunch of Japanese people talking and banging and generally making a heck of a racket up until about 1am. They weren’t even whispering (though I don’t know what’s more annoying, them not whispering, because that can be annoying in itself; or the fact they weren’t even trying to be quiet!).

The hotel is a smoking hotel, so the common area was just a cloud of smoke. It is very basic here.

You get your own locker, but this is located away from the sleep area. There are two locker room areas. Here’s hoping you get a locker in the more spacious room. Unlike me, I got one in the bigger locker room (but it had more lockers in and less room to move about) as the lockers where lined in rows). It is impossible at times, you’re trying to put in your stuff, when you have other people of all places, getting changed or undressed in such a small space. The locker room is NOT the place to dress/undress. They have a powder room, which you can dry your hair and brush your teeth and fix your makeup etc. They also have a separate area to sit and lounge about, which is conjoined with the toilet and shower area.

Note the shower room is Japanese style. So if you’re not comfortable with this, do not stay here.
The hotel is located in a buzz area, so there is lots going on in terms of places to eat and nightlife. Yet, the taxi didn’t know where it was!

I did email them prior to arriving asking them if they had wifi. They replied with yes they offered complimentary wifi. What they failed to mention was it was only available in the common area. So depending on how long you wanted to be suffocated with secondary hand smoke, you could surf, but once in the capsule area, no wifi – although, I was initially told at check in wifi was throughout the building.
There are positives and negatives about this place. Some of the negatives in all truthfulness, was beyond the hotel’s control (noisy guests). Positive – the price. The capsule was clean though.

I cannot stay I would stay here again. It all depends on what you’re looking to get out of your stay in Osaka…a cheap place to stay so you can spend money on other things (food, sight seeing etc), or a capsule experience. If it is the latter, I’d stay skip it. This is my second stay at a capsule hotel, I much preferred the place in Kyoto. It set the bar and this one unfortunately, came nowhere close to nipping at its heels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lived in Japan for 7 years, came back to visit with my fiance. He's a foodie so we HAD to visit Osaka (Dontonbori Street is a wicked place to restaurant / iizakaya hop). I learned about this hotel from a group of ex-pats and we booked it, unsure of what to expect. The staff was wonderfully kind, and in the event your Japanese is not up to par, there are signs explaining everything in English. Staff speaks good English, too. Very safe, especially for female guests. Just bring your earplugs (we had one guest who decided to rearrange all her plastic bags at 3 in the morning!!!).....
Would stay again and this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was in "Room" 348, toward the end of the hall, so my capsule was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

of course the concept is super amazing, but not strange for Japan.

The hotel is very clean, sleeping in the capsule was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Many many free facilities, bath sauna, wifi, toothbrush even the pajamas they offer you the japanese official 'pajama'

loved the experience, very systematic.

Although it made me feel like serving in the army at some points of time because of pay day by day system and their 10 am rule. but overall i loved the hotel and would go their again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As always in Japan: print a good map, or use a navigation-device, to find the hotel! As I am used to small hotels and was rather exhausted at arrival, it took a little while before I found my way around the impressing big place. But then I started to like it very much. There are separate women and men sleeping departments, to which you get your own key. About the capsule itself: I had to choose between having a TV or having Internet. Outside the locked gender-separated capsule-departments there are very large, nice decorated and well kept common areas. There are good resting chairs, massage chairs, TV's, vending machines and micro-oven, and also a big room with its walls covered in Japanese Manga-books ("Japanese cartoons"). Inside womans sleep quarters there are a very big and well equipped "powder-room" with wash-basins, mirrors and chairs. Also shower-room, toilets and cloth-washing- machine/dryer are inside the sleeping-department. In the washing-machine-rooom there are very comfortable resting chairs. (I guess it is the same at men's department, but as I am a woman I have no report from mens room!) The on-site restaurant one stair up from the lobby is not that very much, but you only need to step outside to find all kinds of restaurants and food-shops with the world-famous Osaka cuisine

Room Tip: The capsules are in to rows, so if you like me are not so good climbing ladders, i suggest you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0086, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.