We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi to your Saves list
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting experience, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have never stayed in a capsule hotel before and I heard it was a must do in Japan. This was one of the few mixed gender capsule hotels i could find in Osaka. The female area is very secure you have 2 keys one to enter the female area and another for your locker.

Location wise it's a great spot to walk to the shops in Dotonbori! The common room in capsule hotel smells like smoke but didn't spend much time there. Overall it's reasonably clean. You are supplied with PJ's, a small towel and a large towel. There are toothbrushes and razors in the bathrooms itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
17
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to Osaka for a concert held at Osaka Big Cat, just around the block from the hotel. It's very good located, less than 3 minutes walk to get. I stayed in a capsule in the female section. It's very clean and they provide bath towel, hand towel, sponge (it expends when wet, for body scrubbing at shower), toothbrush (with toothpaste) and PJ. Very comfortable mattress and spacious in the capsule. It doesn't cause any claustrophobia to me. I like their manga room where 10,000 man gas available for reading. The TV area is excellent, you can lounge in big sofa with small speakers on each side of your head, so that you can only hear the program you are watching without listening to others'. The bath is great, with several shower facilities where you can sit down and wash, a sauna and a reasonable sized Onsen tub. All very clean. The only thing I found inconvenient is the size of the private locker. It's thin and small.I think it's designed for business travellers who only carry small baggage. For backpackers or those with larger luggage, you will have to store the big items at the reception, 200yen for 24 hours. So every time I need stuff from my suitcase, I had to go upstairs, claimed it, get things out and cloaked it again. Regardless, I will say this is an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ok, so it's a bed, somewhere to sleep and thats it... That is unless you venture down to the baths on the 6th floor included in the price, I could have stayed there all night to just chill out. Many different baths at different temperatures, indoor and outdoor, 2 saunas (again depending on how hot you like it) a steam room and an ice room (yes it is pretty much a walk in freezer).

Stayed on the 10th floor where I have a slight issue with the smoking room being very close to the sleeping rooms. if it wasn't for this it would be a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well organized and equipped capsule hotel. Surprisingly unclostrophobic with the only down side being snoring from adjoining capsules (the capsules have blinds, not doors). A fantastic experience and one of the high points of a trip to Japan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to experience what a capsule hotel was like and this was achieved!
On some levels quite a grim experience many rules about storing of luggage, quite grim communal areas with many single Japanese busniess men clearing their throats or reading Manga in the Library. Porn played on a small TV as you entered the male capsule area.
The bathing area was nice with large bath and Jacuzzi. The actual capsule was ok with only a curtain to separate from others! Ear plugs good!
Glad i tried it for one night only!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Large luggage is to be stored at reception at ¥200 per piece per 24 hours. The Asahi Plaza is a great big, reddish brick building that looks like a mall. Once you find the front entranc with a walkway and big glass doors, face them but go left rather than inside, and around the side of the building. The entrance to the hotel is there, opposite a vending machine and surf wear/music store. the staff are fantastic, especially the teeny woman, you may just about fall in love with her. Kawaii! The capsules are of a comfortable size, with everythingyou need. Of course it isn't the quietest accommodation, but an experience. My first onsen was here - be brave, it's very wothwhile! When we requested to leave out luggage in storage after check out to go and explore the city, they wouldn't accept further payment. Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The capsule hotels in Osaka are similarly priced - what sets this one apart is you can pay a tiny bit more and get a power outlet in your capsule for charging devices.

We stayed here as a novelty and it delivered. the staff speak good English and while they're a little gruffer than most Japanese hotels (perhaps as they are so busy), they're good enough.

Here's what's involved: check in, lock your shoes in the shoe lockers at reception. leave larger suitcases at reception for a couple of bucks (though they let me take my medium sized suitcase with me to my capsule).

Go to changing rooms where you put your clothes into a large locker. You'll change into a yakuta robe which EVERYONE wears, which we loved (which you can buy). Then you go into one of several large rooms full of capsules. I had an upper level capsule which was just fine. The floor of the capsule is your bed - think of it as a king single sized bed. I actually managed to haul my suitcase in with me.

There are several common areas - the usual communal bath area (not for the prudish, as with all in Japan) with hot onsen bath), a lounge area full of recliners and TVs (smoking is allowed, so be prepared) and a cafe floor. Plenty of vending machines around too.

The Japanese are so civil that noise isn't an issue. I got a good night's rest. I recommend this place - I could stay there another night. It's a little further than other hotels from the Dotonbori, though.

Room Tip: You can pick a room with a TV (my mate got that), one with a power outlet (which I did) - know your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.