We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky to find, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi to your Saves list
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tricky to find, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Large luggage is to be stored at reception at ¥200 per piece per 24 hours. The Asahi Plaza is a great big, reddish brick building that looks like a mall. Once you find the front entranc with a walkway and big glass doors, face them but go left rather than inside, and around the side of the building. The entrance to the hotel is there, opposite a vending machine and surf wear/music store. the staff are fantastic, especially the teeny woman, you may just about fall in love with her. Kawaii! The capsules are of a comfortable size, with everythingyou need. Of course it isn't the quietest accommodation, but an experience. My first onsen was here - be brave, it's very wothwhile! When we requested to leave out luggage in storage after check out to go and explore the city, they wouldn't accept further payment. Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
17
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The capsule hotels in Osaka are similarly priced - what sets this one apart is you can pay a tiny bit more and get a power outlet in your capsule for charging devices.

We stayed here as a novelty and it delivered. the staff speak good English and while they're a little gruffer than most Japanese hotels (perhaps as they are so busy), they're good enough.

Here's what's involved: check in, lock your shoes in the shoe lockers at reception. leave larger suitcases at reception for a couple of bucks (though they let me take my medium sized suitcase with me to my capsule).

Go to changing rooms where you put your clothes into a large locker. You'll change into a yakuta robe which EVERYONE wears, which we loved (which you can buy). Then you go into one of several large rooms full of capsules. I had an upper level capsule which was just fine. The floor of the capsule is your bed - think of it as a king single sized bed. I actually managed to haul my suitcase in with me.

There are several common areas - the usual communal bath area (not for the prudish, as with all in Japan) with hot onsen bath), a lounge area full of recliners and TVs (smoking is allowed, so be prepared) and a cafe floor. Plenty of vending machines around too.

The Japanese are so civil that noise isn't an issue. I got a good night's rest. I recommend this place - I could stay there another night. It's a little further than other hotels from the Dotonbori, though.

Room Tip: You can pick a room with a TV (my mate got that), one with a power outlet (which I did) - know your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed @ the capsule hotel, 2 nights love the sauna and the amenities honestly an experience you can't miss. The hotel has all u need, food, your "room" capsule. Is private and safe for women there are separated from man areas with cameras everywhere. It can be loud if ur neighbor snores a lot but u can put a few coins pick one of the 6 channels (2 adult) and sleep like u r Dracula. Capsule is spacious and comfortable. Give it a try, money well expended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tumon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

From the moment i stepped into this place, they were really rude. They asked us how many people we had and once we told them, they just put a hand in my face and said "hold on." when they were finally ready for us, my friend told them to hold on and they gave us a bad look. We just did to them what they did to us. From there, the first thing they told us was "pay now." we didn't even have time for a question. i thought maybe they treated foreigners this way, but as we watched, we noticed they were equally rude to everyone.

And once you pay for your stay, forget about any help at all. they figure there's no need to help once you've paid.

After we had checked out, we came back after the cleaning to use the spa facilities. we didn't know if we wanted 1 hour or 3 hours, so we asked if we could double check our flight time and status on their computer in the front of the hotel. From there, we would be able to decide how many hours we wanted. No one was in the building. They told us we have to first pay for a full hour in order to use the internet. we continued to tell them we needed it to find out if we were gonna give them more money. 3 minutes is all we needed. Still a big no, so we told them to they would never see our business again. instead, we paid double the price for a spa down the street with nicer employees.

i don't care how nice a place may be (it isn't all that), you should never treat customers the way they do. i will pay twice the price at another hotel out of spite for this one

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Compared to the other capsule hotel i tried, this one was better. Had cleaner facilities and it was quiet.
Located in a very lively area (america mura), had many restaurants and bars around.
it'll be better if you travel light, big suitcases are kept at the reception for a small charge.
this one accepts women, note that not all capsule hotels do that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel in order to: a) experience a capsule hotel, and b) see the sights of Osaka, particularly the Grand Sumo Tournament. We got what we wanted!

The capsule hotel was awesome. A short walk from the metro stop, we removed our shoes and put them in a locker when we arrived. Then we gave our locker key to the front desk when we checked in. We were able to book a private capsule room for the 4 of us (two couples), rather than split up and stay in the male/female dorms. We liked this because we still got the capsule experience, but were able to experience it together. Our luggage lockers were in our private room. (If we had stayed in the dorm, our luggage would be in a separate room while we slept in another, which would have been fine, just good to note.)

Our private room was bright & sunny with two big windows, and it even had a TV, couch, and mahjong table and 4 chairs in it (you could rent a mahjong set from the front desk). The capsule beds themselves were larger than I thought they would be. Enough room for just one person, but room enough to change positions. When laying on my back and sticking my arm up towards the ceiling of the capsule, I couldn't reach (I'm 5' 7") the ceiling. Inside the capsule is a mirror, radio, TV, clock, alarm clock and air vent. The bed's mattress was very thin, which made for a very firm night's sleep. Noise wasn't an issue, but I could see how sleeping in the dorm with many other people, could get loud with snoring, etc. So, earplugs may come in handy.

There was a unisex toilet on our floor (top floor) that we could use, but in the morning we took advantage of the traditional shared bath/onsen. This was my first time using a communal bath, and although it was a bit intimidating at first, I found it very enjoyable! The bath area is segregated (M/F). In the women's bath, you enter the lounge area, and then move into the next room where you disrobe and put your clothing/stuff in a locker. Then you go to the next room--the bath! There are plastic stools in front of mirrors--vanity style--and you sit on these stools while you shower yourself off with a hand-held shower-head. It is nice to shower sitting down! The goal is to scrub and scrub every inch of your body until you're perfectly clean and rinsed off. Then, you dip yourself into the hot bath! It was very refreshing. Connected to the bath area is a sauna, which I used to dry off! It was a very nice, relaxing experience!

The check in time was later in the day-- 2-3pm, and check out was early, around 9-10am. That was the only thing that was a little challenging, but it worked out fine!

This was a great place--great location, especially for the price!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed it. I recommend getting a capsule without a TV and invest in some ear plugs. The capsules are nice and bigger than I thought. Pretty comfy. I don't think it gets better than this for only 2900 yen a night! You can get a capsule with an outlet so you can charge your camera, ipod and whatever else you need. The bath is nice and the lounge area is good. They give you toothbrushes and everything you need to clean up. Will be going back someday. The location isn't too bad, I had to ride 2 subways to get to the station that is near it but it's only 470 yen from Osaka station.

Room Tip: Get a capsule without a TV unless you want to hear everyone around you playing the porn channel at 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Despegar.com so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.