We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-70 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 532-0003, Japan (Shin Osaka / North Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 246 hotels in Osaka
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's a little costly but for the price you get a huge room (at least compared to my experience of Japanese hotels). The location is also great, being next to a major station giving easy access to the metro, Kansai airport and Kyoto.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    73
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
14
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed recently in business, hotel was clean and room was a bit dated but ok and clean

Like many hotels in Japan Internet is not wireless- only cable LAN in rooms

Staff have little grasp of English but just about passable

Restaurant over priced >€5 for a coffee

Quality of breakfast very poor- it is the only place I have been where an American breakfast comes with crinkle cut oven chips, and a side salad

Not really a hotel for international travellers, but is comfortable and in a good location

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at hotel Laforet for its proximity to the rail station (an easy walk). The reception area and staff were very nice, and check in was quite easy. I was a bit disappointed to learn that there was no wi-fi (only plug in), so I wasn’t able to use my iPad at the hotel. Also, you are given a very large metal key with your room number stamped on it (no plastic cards), which you must carry around with you during the day. The room was smaller than I would have expected (even by Japanese standards), but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I only had breakfast in the hotel while I was there. I had ordered a fried egg, but received a scrambled egg, a slice of Canadian bacon, McDonald French fries, and a salad. All very good, just a bit odd… In short, a good value for the money, and a good location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salatiga, Indonesia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, it was my first time here.
It takes only 3 mnts from this hotel to Shin Osaka station. Very clean bedroom>
Shiseido Bathfoam and Shampoo are available for free

No WIFI in this hotel. Only internet cable is available
The hotel has only 2 kind of Breakfast : Japanese and American. Not all you can eat. A bit boring.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled from Tokyo on the Shinkansen and stayed here for two days. Walking distance to the Shin Osaka train station which in turn is inter connected to the various train lines. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Walk toward McDonald entrance and make a right. The hotel is just down the bridge.
They have a great massage chair. From our room in the 17th floor, I would watch the Shinkansens' arriving and leaving. Well appointed. There is a computer downstairs where you can check email for 100Yen/15minutes. This served my purpose. I never figured out how to use the ironing board. I asked the front desk how to switch on the thermostat. They sent in somebody within 2 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that overlook the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is ideally located near the Midosuji Subway Station exits as well as the Shinkansen exits in Shin-Osaka Station. Typically I stay at this hotel the night before a full day of business throughout Osaka before going back to the hotel to retrieve my bags and hoping on the Shinkansen to Tokyo.

Booking through the hotel website nets great rates, and most rates on their website will waive the JPY500 internet fee.

Rooms are larger than standard Japanese hotels, the lobby might be a little dated, but does the job. Front desk staff is nice and helpful. Have stayed twice here in last year; this review based on most recent trip.

Room Tip: Have always notice better rates through hotel website than other travel sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Laforet is located right next to the Shin-Osaka. The hotel itself is quite nice with spacious rooms compared to many of the other nearby places, though rooms are a little on the higher side. Check-in was smooth. There is a 7-11 nearby. Internet connection is available, though it costs 500Yen which i think is unnecessary as almost all hotels in Japan provide internet free. Also with the highway right next to the hotel, its quite noisy, especially if you have a room facing the highway and on a lower floor. All in all a decent place to stay for a night, though would not come back as there are cheaper and better places on the other side of the station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka

Address: 1-2-70 Miyahara, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 532-0003, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#34 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laforet Shin Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laforet Shin-Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.