We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, cheap, close to subway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Business Hotel Mikado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Business Hotel Mikado to your Saves list
Business Hotel Mikado
1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture (Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 268 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Small, cheap, close to subway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you think you couldn't find any private room for 2000Yen/night in Osaka, please rethink! I stayed there for 2 nights and have to say that it was over my expectation though the room was small (but hey, you only need a place to sleep, right?). My Japanese-style room was well equipped with TV, small fridge, towels, night gown, blanket, comfortable mattress - wow, everything was as in a hotel. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. Staff was helpful too. And its location? Perfect! Just few minutes from subway and train station that you could travel around Osaka conveniently.

Room Tip: If you are non-smoker and have time to book for 3-4 weeks in advance, great, you'll definitely g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
9
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We got a really good deal on Agoda which was much lower than the published rate on Hotel Mikado's website so me and my friends got a single Japanese-style room each. The room is as big as three tatami mats - so it's very cosy - but if you are mostly going to be at the hotel for a good night's rest, it is good enough. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear people walking in the corridors and stuff but the great thing is that they have a large public bath (or spa) area downstairs where a specific timing is allocated for both genders. Free tidbits are also available at the dining area at the lobby. The staff are very accommodating. We checked out at the specified time but as our flight was much later, the staff kindly kept our luggage and even allowed us to use their towels for a shower/bath if we wanted to freshen up before we left.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the end. I had a room very close to the toilets and could hear people brushin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spend only 1 night in this hostel. I think it's a good place to stop just for 1 or 2 nights. It's very cheap, our room was clean and almost confortable. We were on the 5th floor, and it was a bit noisy. Avoid this place if you are looking for relaxation.
Toilets and common baths were not so clean but not dirty yet. Showers were ok.

Staff is very kind and available for any question.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good option if you look for an affordable place in Osaka. The staff is very freindly and helpful, the room is small but good enough for a sleep and at the entrace there are many computers for free. The kitchen is avarage in quality but enough for a budget traveler needs.

Finally, the best is the location as it is located 2 minutes walking distance from Dobutsuen mae metro stration (a few stations to the main places of Osaka like Umeda and Shinsaibashi and 5 minutes from a JR station, Shinimamiya. A negative point would be something that the police officer told me when I arrived during late night, that this place was "dangerous". But honestly, the most dangerous place is Japan is much much safer than the safest places in most of countries in the world. I have walked during late night out there and was fine. There were a substantial number of homeless people and stuff like that in this area (poorer than the avarage), but in Japan, this is not a big issue. I definetely recomend this place for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are very technological (as everywhere in japan) . The kitchen has everything you need and the reception is very usefull ( they can also give free copies of shonen jump). The worse side is the housekeeping , which make you wish to change the room...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Location:
1 Minute walk from Dobutsuen metro station.

Room:
Although we booked for 2 we were assigned a room for 3-4 people so cannot comment on size.
Free wifi, a fridge, in our case a choice of beds, a stool, 2 air cons, a table, robes, towels and toothbrushes/paste.
A bit rough around the edges and dated but fully functional.

Facilities:
A communal toilet on each floor
Showers on the ground floor and even a Japanese style spa which was available at different times of the day depending on your sex.
Ironing boards were available on request.

Nearby:
Many FamilyMarts but be aware that the nearest ATM that accepts international cards is Tenoji station.
Local Zoo, Osaka Tower and Spa World are within walking distance.

Other:
The surrounding area did not feel particularly safe but we never got any hassle.
Check out the Kansai day passes (approx £14) which can be purchased from any station in cash and which grants you free travel all day and free entry to most of Osaka's main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yongin, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staffs are nice, you can hire hairdryers and there's all you can use... But it's really small. I mean it. Really small. And if you are a girl alone, and a smoker, I'll recommend you to pay some more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Business Hotel Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Mikado

Address: 1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#9 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Business Hotel Mikado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Business Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Business Hotel Mikado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.