We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique-y, charming, and ideally located!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arietta Hotel Osaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arietta Hotel Osaka to your Saves list
Arietta Hotel Osaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-2-6 Azuchimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0052, Osaka Prefecture (Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 235 Reviews
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Boutique-y, charming, and ideally located!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This charming hotel Arietta Hotel emanates a boutique-like air, and is nestled off of the major avenue, Midosuji, that cuts through the center of Osaka. From Shin-Osaka (the subway station when arriving by train), take the Midosuji line to Hommachi station, and head out the #1 exit. (From the Kansai airport, take the train to Namba station, and then transfer to the Midosuji line from there.) Once you get outside from the Hommachi station at exit #1, you are on the small street where the hotel is situated. Simply turn left, pass the ‘Mini Stop’ convenience store, and about a block and a half down on the right side you will see a 14 story red brick building, with the name ‘Arietta’ printed high up on the building itself and across the orange awning in front.
It’s typically Japanese: rooms are small, beds are hard, pillows are firm, which might take a bit of getting used to. We had a double bed, which I would equate to be about the size of a full. The bathroom is larger than the norm, and the amenities do not disappoint. Baskets on the bed contain neatly wrapped kimonos, a toothbrush/toothpaste, washcloth, hand towel and bath towel, and a razor with shaving gel. There are large bottles of good quality shampoo, conditioner and bath soap on a wall shelf. The air conditioning system is effective and consistent, and the rooms are quiet and immaculately clean. No closet, but there are several hangers on two wall hooks. A small refrigerator ensconced below the TV nicely cooled a $6. surprisingly decent Chilean Sauvignon Blanc purchased at the aforementioned Mini Stop down the street. Internet access is by LAN, not wireless, and a cable is provided (just remember if you have a Mac you probably need to bring a USB/LAN adapter.) Reception is helpful, albeit occasionally staffed with people with slightly limited English. On three of the floors there are vending machines with Kirin beer and several soft drinks, along with a self-service washer and dryer. The dryer doesn’t seem to vent well, so after 3 rounds we simply hung the still-slightly-damp clothes around the room, and the a/c worked well to get them dry.
Continental breakfast is from 6:30 – 9:30, with crispy little croissants and mini apple strudels or cinnamon rolls (that can be crisped up even more in the toaster oven alongside), yogurt, several juices, and a basic cup of coffee (If you like good, strong coffee, one of the ubiquitous Doutor gourmet coffee places is right next store to the hotel, and a Starbucks 1 block sdown Midosuji Ave. also has free wireless, but you need to set it up ahead of time, as in all Starbucks in Japan. (Just go to www.starbucks.wi2.co.jp/ and set up the account from one of the computers in the Arietta lobby before you walk over there).
Checkout time is noon, and they charge 1.000 yen an hour for late checkout up until 3pm. As our flight left at 9pm, it was well-worth it for us.
It’s a wonderful little hotel if you’re able to keep your western expectations in check!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
81
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Colujmbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently spent two nights in this hotel returning from a conference in Kobe and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff were helpful. The room was small by North American standards, but large by Japanese standards and the bathroom was quite spacious (unlike in other Japanese hotels).

The hotel is close to Hommachi subway station. This is a fairly quiet area, but it provides easy access to both the Umeda and train station and is within easy walking distance of many of the major sights and tourist areas.

Some other reviews had mentioned that the hotel was difficult to find. I had trouble at first, but it's quite simple once you know the way. I would exit Honmachi subway station from exit number 3; turn as you exit (going north on Mido-Suji) and then take an immediate right (going east on an unnamed street). The hotel is 2.5 blocks on the right hand side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Arietta for one night as we were passing through Osaka. The hotel was down a cute little side street and only about a 2 minute walk from a subway stop. The staff was very nice and spoke english well. The room was clean but was definitely the smallest during our stay in Japan. It had a terrible view which just looked into an office building but we didn't really care. There were also several floors with coin-op laundry which was useful.

The location was great for walking access to Osaka touristy stuff like Dotombori which was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. There was also a free breakfast buffet in the morning that was tasty for a quick (free) meal.

A note we did find strange was that you had to give your key back to the receptionist when leaving to go out, it wasn't a big deal but it just threw us for a loop the first time we tried to go out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've been there quite long ago (in 2010) but still have a great memory of this place. I went there with my mother for a round-trip of Japan. We stayed there for 2 nights in total.

It's VERY hard to find. It's hidden in a side-street perpendicular to a big main road. The sign is discreet, so it took us quite some time to find.The place is pretty, and has a slightly italian architecture style and decoration inside.

The room is rather big for Japanese standards. What striked me the most was the HUGE bathroom with groovy red-white chessboard walls. I've never seen such a huge design bathroom anywhere else in Japan, but I heard there are hotels that offer that kind of service. The rooms are perfectly clean. Maybe a tiny bit dated, but the bed was comfortable.

From what I remember, the service was very nice and could speak english. The only problem was the breakfast. Their choice wasn't interesting, even though the price was high. I got one small croissant, and a tiny coffee, that's all. We had to sit on very low chairs. I could have eaten fish and rice for breakfast, but was a bit too exotic for the European tourist I am... Calling this a breakfast buffet is overrated.

All in all, we had a very good experience there.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, rather choose one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband chose this hotel solely for the spacious room and bathroom :-) We took the twin as we are used to sleeping on a king sized bed which is uncommon in Japan unless you stay in a luxury hotel. The room was huge (by Japan standards). The front desk gave us great suggestions for places to eat as well. Ask for an udon restaurant. The namecard is in Japanese only so I don't have the name. Best udon EVER! We ate there a few times and we still miss it ;-P We tried all kinds of udon - duck, curry, cream (!)... there were all good! It's a very fancy place but not expensive at all. The only thing is they don't really speak English but the food is great! It's a must go (and must eat) if you're in the are :-)

The only not so great thing is that it's hard to find... I had to call them to ask for directions. But it's worth it!

Room Tip: Get a twin room if you need more bed space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The location is central and convenient for most Osaka tourist and business activities, only 5 minutes walk from Honmachi subway.
The rooms are absolutely standard business hotel rooms: tiny but spotlessly clean, functional (internet, well-appointed bathroom) but characterless, and no-frills (no coffee in room, no mini-bar etc). The only point to note is that the mattress is on the hard side of firm.
The public areas look somewhat better than usual in such hotels.
Breakfast consists of: coffee, orange juice, yoghurt, banana, croissant.
All in all, a fair deal, though nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of my trip around Osaka/ Kyoto and Nara. It was a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly, and everything was very clean and tidy. It was a straight walk into the heart of the food and shopping district. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating going to Osaka.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arietta Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arietta Hotel Osaka

Address: 3-2-6 Azuchimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0052, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#20 Family Hotel in Osaka
#22 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#28 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arietta Hotel Osaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Arietta Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arietta Hotel Osteria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arietta Hotel Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.